Human Rights Watch accuse Facebook de censure envers le contenu pro-palestinien

Ils les appellent à enquêter

by

Ce n’est pas la première fois que Facebook est accusé de shadow-banning. Les utilisateurs en ont accusé la plate-forme de réseaux sociaux il y a quelques mois à peine. À présent, Human Rights Watch demande une enquête sur les actions de la plateforme, en particulier en mai dernier, lors des attaques sur la Palestine.

L’organisation a publié un rapport retraçant les exhactions de l’entreprise. “Facebook a supprimé du contenu publié par les Palestiniens et ceux qui les soutenaient, s’exprimant sur les problèmes des droits humains en Israël et en Palestine”, déclare Deborah Brown, chercheuse principale en droits numériques et avocate à Human Rights Watch. “ Ces plaidoyers sont menacés dans de nombreuses régions du monde, la censure de Facebook menace de restreindre une plate-forme cruciale pour l’apprentissage et l’engagement sur ces questions.”

Human Rights Watch is claiming to have documented the social media platform remove posts on Instagram that showcased pro-Palestinian conflict, including those by mainstream news organizations, like the New York Times. 

Human Rights Watch dit avoir la preuve de la suppression des publications Instagram qui présentaient le conflit pro-palestinien par la plate-forme de réseaux sociaux, y compris celles publiées par les principaux organes de presse, comme le New York Times.

Les publications ont été supprimées sous couvert qu’elle contenaient “des discours ou des symboles haineux” selon Instagram. Des exemples documentés montrent le contraire. « C’est une photo de l’immeuble de ma famille avant qu’il ne soit frappé par des missiles israéliens le samedi 15 mai 2021 », lit-on en légende d’une photo qui montrait un bâtiment et ​​qui a été supprimée par Instagram.

Les publications supprimées étaient accompagnées d’utilisateurs signalant que leurs comptes étaient restreints, une réduction de leur engagement et de leur visibilité ainsi qu’une multitude de hashtags bloqués auxquels ils ne pouvaient plus accéder.

Partagez cet article

Human Rights Watch Accuses Facebook of Censoring Pro-Palestinian Content

They’re calling for an investigation

by

It’s not the first time Facebook would be accused of shadow-banning. Users called the social media platform of doing just that months ago upon showcasing support for months now. Now, Human Rights Watch is calling for an investigation into the platform’s actions, particularly in May as Palestine was under attack. 

The organization has released a report trailing the company’s wrongdoings. “Facebook has suppressed content posted by Palestinians and their supporters speaking out about human rights issues in Israel and Palestine,” said Deborah Brown, senior digital rights researcher and advocate at Human Rights Watch. “With the space for such advocacy under threat in many parts of the world, Facebook censorship threatens to restrict a critical platform for learning and engaging on these issues.”

Human Rights Watch is claiming to have documented the social media platform remove posts on Instagram that showcased pro-Palestinian conflict, including those by mainstream news organizations, like the New York Times. 

The posts were removed for ‘containing hate speech or symbols’ according to Instagram. Documented examples show otherwise. “This is a photo of my family’s building before it was struck by Israeli missiles on Saturday May 15, 2021” read the caption of a photo that showcased a building—which was ultimately removed by Instagram. 

The deleted posts came at a time when users also reported having their accounts restricted, a reduction in their engagement and visibility as well as a slew of blocked hashtags they could no longer access. 

For that reason, Human Rights Watch is calling on Instagram’s parent company, Facebook, to commission an independent investigation into what occurred and for the report to be published. 

Share this article