5 أفلام لمخرجات نساء عليكم مشاهدتها

انسوا نيتفلكس

by

منذ إطلاق جوائز الأوسكار في عام 1929 لم تفُز سوى سيدة واحدة فقط بجائزة أفضل مخرجة (وهي كاثرين بيغالو عن فيلم The Hurt Locker) في حين لم يتم ترشيح أي مخرجةٍ من ذوات البشرة الملونة أبداً لهذه الجائزة. 

صحيح أن عدد الأفلام التي قامت نساء بإخراجها قد ازداد (حيث كان هناك 12 مخرجة من أصل 113 مخرجاً في قائمة أفضل 100 فيلم لعام 2019)، ولكن الرجال ما يزالون مسيطرين على هذه الصناعة في هوليوود مما يجعل اكتشاف الأفلام التي لم يقم رجالٌ من أصحاب البشرة البيضاء بإخراجها أمراً صعباً. 

هناك عدد لا يحصى من المخرجات النساء الواتي يستحقين الإعجاب والتقدير. وهنا نعرفكم بأهم 5 أفلامٍ أخرجتها نساء.

Queen & Slim

Queen & Slimرغم أنه صدر للتو إلا أن فيلم Queen & Slim حصد قاعدة جماهيرية واسعة. الفيلم من إخراج ميلينا ماتسوكاس (التي أخرجت في السابق أغاني مصورة لسنوب دوغ وبيونسيه وريهانا) ومن كتابة الكاتبة الحائزة على جائزة إيمي لينا وايث (التي اشتهرت بدور صديقة عزيز أنصاري في فيلم Master of None). يروي الفيلم قصة حب في شخصين يلتقيان في موعدٍ غرامي من تطبيق Tinder ولكن يبوء الموعد بالفشل ويجدا أنفسهما هاربين من أمرٍ خطير. الشخصيات معقدة ومتعددة الأوجه وقوية. الفيلم غني بالأفكار الرومانسية والكوميدية وحتى السياسية ويذكرنا بأن الحب دائماً موجود حتى في أحلك الأوقات.

The Wolfpack

The Wolfpackهذا الفيلم الوثائقي المرشح لجائزة أوسكار هو من إخراج كريستال موزيل وفيه تروي قصة 6 أشقاء يتلقون تعليمهم في المنزل ويعيشون حالةً من “الحجر المنزلي”لأن والدهم يتّبع عقيدة “هاري كريشنا” التي لا تعترف بنمط الحياة المعاصر وتشكك به. وقد يبدو الأمر مخيفاً ولكن الفيلم يبثّ رسالةَ مليئة بالتفاؤل وهو تكريم للحب والعائلة والنضج. ولقد نجحت موزيل في رصد مشاعر الأشقاء بشكلٍ عفوي وصادق وهم يتحدثون عن شخصيات هوليوود المفضلة لديهم. ولكن الغريب في الأمر أن الحجر المنزلي الذي يعيشونه هو واقعنا في جميع أنحاء العالم اليوم.  

Divines

Divinesيعتبر هذا الفيلم أول تجربة للمخرجة الفرنسية المغربية هدى بن يمينة وفازت عنه بجائزة “كاميرا دور” في مهرجان كان السينمائي لعام 2016. يتحدث الفيلم عن قصة حب بين مراهقتين تحلمان في الخروج من الضواحي الباريسية وبناء ثروةٍ كبيرة. تجري معظم أحداث الفيلم في الأحياء الباريسية البرجوازية التي يعيش فيها أصحاب البشرة البيضاء ويقدم نظرة مركبة وخيالية عن العاصمة الفرنسية. وكما فعل المخرج كاسوفيتز في فيلمه “الكره” قبل 20 عاماً، تقدم بن يمينة دراما صادقة وحقيقية تعكس واقع المجتمع الباريسي المعاصر.  

Little Miss Sunshine

Little Miss Sunshineيروي الفيلم قصة عائلةٍ تقوم برحلة في حافلةٍ قديمة ويقدم الكثير من المواقف المضحكة والعاطفية مع أفراد هذه العائلة المختلفين تماماً عن بعضهم البعض ورغم ذلك يحاولون اكتشاف أنفسهم معاً. أليس هذا ما نحاول جميعاً فعله اليوم؟

Citizenfour

Citizenfourيقدم هذا الفيلم الوثائقي الحائز على جائزة أوسكار من إخراج لورا بيوتراس نظرةً حصرية من داخل غرفة الفندق الذي يقيم فيه إدوارد سنودن في هونغ كونغ، حيث قام بإفشاء أسرارٍ رسمية كثيرة عن مراقبة الحكومة للناس والصحافة. إنه فيلم لا يفوّت لكل مناصري حرية الصحافة.

شارك هذا المقال

5 Iconic Female-Directed Films You Need to Watch

Forget Netflix, this is how to quarantine

by

Ever since the first Academy Awards—which happened in 1929— only one woman (Kathryn Bigelow for “The Hurt Locker”) has won the award for best director. While literally no woman of colour has even been nominated for the prestigious award. 

Although there’s been surge in films made by women (12 of the 113 directors on 2019’s top 100 movies were female), men still dominate in Hollywood; which makes it even harder to discover movies that are outside the prism of the white male gaze.

There are countless female directors that deserve your attention, so use this down time to watch five cult female-directed films.

Queen & Slim

Queen & Slim“Queen & Slim” might have only just come out, but it is already cult. Directed by Melina Matsoukas (famed for directing music videos for Snoop Dogg, Beyoncé and Rihanna) and written by Emmy-winner Lena Whaithe (best known for her role as Aziz Ansari’s best friend in “Master of None”), “Queen & Slim” is the only love story you should watch this month. The characters—who go on the run together after a Tinder date turned bad— are complex, nuanced and powerful. They are real, and it feels so great seeing black characters depicted with such honesty and depth in a film simultaneously steeped in romance, humour and politics. And most importantly, it is a reminder that even during times of extreme difficulty and helplessness, we must always remain alive. 

The Wolfpack

The WolfpackDirected by Crystal Moselle, this Oscar-nominated documentary intimately captures a family of six home-schooled brothers, who grew up in a form of quarantine in their Lower East Side apartment in NYC. This “quarantine” was imposed by their father, a Hare Krishna follower who is sceptical of modern life. Although it sounds kind of terrifying, the film is an optimistic ode to love, coming of age and family. Moselle brilliantly captures the brothers candidly opening up to the camera and escaping their reality by immersing themselves into characters of Hollywood films. But what’s particularly crazy is that while their routine would have probably looked odd just a month ago, it’s now becoming ours too.

Divines

DivinesFirst-time French-Moroccan director Houda Benyamina won a Camera d’Or at Cannes in 2016 with “Divines”, which captures an urban soromance tale between two female teenagers who dream of leaving Paris’s banlieues and becoming rich. Most films set in Paris are white, bourgeois and depict a romanticized, constructed, mythical idea of the French capital. But just like Kassovitz did 20 years before with “La Haine”, Benyamina’s authentic youth drama is raw, real and holds up a mirror to the social reality of modern Paris.

Little Miss Sunshine

Little Miss SunshineCapturing a family on the road in an old Volkswagen, Little Miss Sunshine captures the humour and emotion steeped inside a family microcosm in which family members might all be radically different, but are still trying to find themselves in one another. And isn’t that what we’re all trying to do right now?

Citizenfour

CitizenfourThis Oscar-winning documentary directed by Laura Poitras offers an exclusive look inside the hotel room of Edward Snowden in Hong Kong, where he disclosed government secrets of widespread surveillance to journalists. A must-watch for anyone, particularly those who are into advocacy journalism.

Share this article