مشكلة كبيرة في فرنسا بسبب الإسلاموفوبيا – ولا بد من تغيير هذا الوضع

لماذا يقسّم التعصب الديني الأعمى الشعب في فرنسا؟

by

في الشهر الماضي، ساد نقاش حاد حول الإسلام والهوية الوطنية في فرنسا، حيثُ طُلب من إمرأة محجبة كانت برفقة ابنها في المدرسة أن تزيل حجابها. بعد ذلك، تلقى موظفو إحدى الجامعات خارج باريس بريداً إلكترونياً يحثهم على الانتباه من “الإشارات الخفيفة” للتطرف والتي تشمل: ارتداء النقاب أو إطالة اللحية أو تناول الطعام الحلال أو متابعة الأخبار …

على الرغم من أن فرنسا ترفض الاعتراف بذلك، إلا أن الإسلاموفوبيا منتشر في جميع أنحاء البلاد لدرجةٍ قد تكون قاتلة. فلا يجب أن ننسى يوم 28 أكتوبر، عندما هاجم مرشح سابق للجبهة الوطنية (الحزب اليميني المتطرف في البلاد) مسجداً في بلدة بايون الصغيرة.

في ذات السياق، تجمع في العاشر من نوفمبر حوالي 13000 شخص في باريس لإدانة كراهية الإسلام في احتجاجٍ نظمته منظمات يسارية. وعلاوة على غياب الأحزاب الأخرى، لم يشارك في هذا الاحتجاج أي عضو رسمي واحد من إدارة الحزب الاشتراكي.

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 
Une publication partagée par CCIF (@ccif_officiel) le

أما الشخصية السياسية الوحيدة المشهورة التي شاركت في هذا الاحتجاج كانت جان لوك ميلنشون، زعيم حزب LFI اليساري المتطرف؛ بينما أعلن حزب الرئيس ماكرون “الجمهورية إلى الأمام” في تغريدةٍ له بأن المتظاهرين “يقاتلون من أجل الإسلام السياسي”. كما وصف مانويل فالس، رئيس الوزراء الاشتراكي السابق، السياسيين الذين وقعوا خطاباً مفتوحاً ضد الإسلاموفوبيا في مقالةٍ له بجريدة Libération ذات الميول اليسارية، بأنهم ينتمون إلى “يسار التخلي” وأشار إليه على أنه “تخلٍّ مخجل”.

والمفارقة أن مانويل فالس قد وُلِدَ في برشلونة ولم يحصل على الجنسية الفرنسية حتى بلغ العشرين من عمره. فلماذا يُعتبر المسلمون الفرنسيون غريبون دائماً ويُسألون “من أين أنتم؟” وخصوصاً إذا ما ولد والديهم ونشأوا في فرنسا.

يقال بأن الدولة العلمانية في فرنسا تعزز المساواة بين جميع المواطنين. ولكن سواء كان الأمر يتعلق بحظر الحجاب في الأماكن العامة (مثل المدارس والمستشفيات ونظام النقل الوطني) وحظر الصلاة والحجاب الرياضي أو البرقع أو البوركيني، ما يزال هناك صراع حول مثير للجدل حول توافق الإسلام مع القيم الجمهورية الفرنسية إلى الحد الذي يبدو فيه أن شعار فرنسا الشهير “الحرية والمساواة والإخاء” لا يسري إلا إذا كنتم مسلمين لا تمارسون شعائر الإسلام.

ومع تزايد اللوائح الجديدة التي تستهدف الإسلام، يبدو أن هوس فرنسا بالتعصب الديني الأعمى هو مجرد غطاء للتمييز بل وحتى للكراهية ضد المسلمين.

يقول السياسيون الفرنسيون في كثير من الأحيان أن ارتداء الحجاب هو شكل من أشكال اضطهاد الإناث. ولكن نادراً ما يتم سماع صوت أو رأي المرأة المسلمة. وفي 21 أكتوبر، تمت دعوة الشابة الفرنسية المحجبة سارة العطار للظهور على شاشة التلفزيون الفرنسي. وكانت هذه المرة الأولى التي تشارك فيها امرأة محجبة في نقاش عام في فرنسا على الإطلاق.

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par CCIF (@ccif_officiel) le

هذا تذكير بسيط ولكن قوي بأنه على الرغم من أن فرنسا هي موطن أكبر عدد من المسلمين في أوروبا، إلا أن الطبقة العليا من ذوي البشرة البيضاء وما يسمى بالحركة النسوية العلمانية لا يمثلون النساء المسلمات.

كما تفخر فرنسا بفصل الدين عن المجال العام، وهي خطوة جعلت جمع وقياس البيانات حول العرق والدين في تعدادات السكان غير قانونية. حتى أن عبارة “الإسلاموفوبيا” بحد ذاتها قد أصبحت مثيرة للجدل.

وبدلاً من تقديم يد المساعدة، غالباً ما يتم إلقاء اللوم على المسلمين غير القادرين على التعبير عن إيمانهم بسلام، ويُتّهمون بالفشل بالإندماج والتحلي بمتطلبات القومية الفرنسية.

لم يتم تهميش المسلمون الفرنسيون بسبب عدم رغبتهم في “التأقلم”؛ بل تم عزلهم لأن المجتمع الفرنسي قد قام بعزلهم. فإذا أراد الزعماء السياسيون الحفاظ على وحدة دولتهم، فعليهم سماع وجهة نظر بديلة للعلمانية الفرنسية أكثر مرونة. لا ينبغي أن يكون السؤال هو “كيف يمكننا بناء مجتمع يتم فيه إخفاء خلافاتنا؟”، بل “كيف يمكننا بناء مجتمع يتم فيه تقبل خلافاتنا ومعالجتها؟”.

شارك هذا المقال

France Has a Major Islamophobia Problem – And it Needs to Change

Why France’s religious blindness is dividing its people

by

Last month, heated debates over Islam and national identity reignited in France. A hijabi woman who was accompanying her son at a school trip was aggressively asked to remove her veil. Then the staff of a university just outside of Paris received an email encouraging them to lookout for “weak signals” of radicalisation, which included: wearing a veil, growing a beard, eating halal or following the news…

Although France refuses to acknowledge it, Islamophobia is rampant across the nation, and can even be deadly. Let us not forget October 28, when a former Front National candidate (the country’s far-right party) attacked a mosque in the small town of Bayonne. 

On November 10, around 13,000 people gathered in Paris to condemn Islamophobia in a protest organised by left-wing organisations. On top of other absent mainstream parties, not one single official member of the Socialist Party’s management joined the march.

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 
Une publication partagée par CCIF (@ccif_officiel) le

The only famous political figure that attended the protest was Jean-Luc Mélenchon, the leader of LFI, a far-left party; whereas President Macron’s party En Marche declared in a tweet that protesters “are fighting in favour of political Islam”. And Manuel Valls, the former Socialist Prime Minister, labelled the politicians who signed an open letter against Islamophobia published on the left-leaning newspaper Libération, as belonging to the “Left of renunciation” and referred to it as a “shameful abandonment”. 

Manuel Valls was born in Barcelona and did not take French citizenship until he turned 20. So why is it that French Muslims are constantly othered, and asked, “Where are you from?” when in more cases than not, their parents were actually born in France.

France’s secularist state is said to promote egalitarianism for all citizens. But whether it concerns the hijab ban in public spaces (like school, hospitals and the national transport system), restrictions of public prayers, the sports-hijab, the burqa or the burkini, contentious disputes over Islam’s compatibility with French Republican values are constantly back on the agenda. To the extent that it seems like France’s famous slogan “Liberté, Egalité, Fraternité” is only valid if you’re not a practicing Muslim.

With new regulations targeting Islam increasing, it seems like France’s obsession with religious blindness is a cover for discrimination, and even hatred, against Muslims.

French politicians often say that wearing a veil is a form of female submission. But Muslim women are very rarely heard. On October 21, Sara El Attar—a young French hijabi woman—was invited on French television. It was the first time a hijabi woman took part in a public debate, in a hijab, in France, ever.

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par CCIF (@ccif_officiel) le

This is a simple but stark reminder that although France is home to the largest Muslim population in Europe, its white, upper class and so-called secular feminism doesn’t represent Muslim women.

France is proud to have purged religion from the public sphere— a move that have made collecting and measuring data about race and religion in censuses illegal. Even the word “Islamophobia” has become controversial in itself. 

Instead of being offered a helping hand, Muslims who declare feeling incapable of expressing their faith peacefully are often blamed for failing to integrate and adopt the requirements of French citizenship.

French Muslims aren’t marginalised because of their unwillingness to “fit in”; they are alienated because of how French society isolates them. If political leaders want to hold their nation together, an alternative, softer, view of French secularism must be heard. The question shouldn’t be how to build a society where our differences are concealed, but how do we build a society where our differences are celebrated and healed?

Share this article