لماذا أومن بضرورة وجود كيم كارداشيان وكاردي بي في عالم السياسة

ربما تستطيعان إصلاح سياساتنا الفوضوية العالمية

by

إننا نعيش في عصر أصبحت فيه السياسة وثقافة البوب أمراً واحداً.

على الرّغم من أنّ هذا الأمر قد يُثير بعض القلق (ترامب أكبر مثال على ذلك)، إلا أنّ ما أجده مثيراً بشكل خاص حول هذه الظاهرة هو تصاعد شعبية النساء ذوات البشرة الملونة والأعراق المختلطة ووصولهن إلى إلى مجالٍ كان يهيمن عليه الرجال لفترة طويلة.  

لم أكن يوماً معجبة كبيرة بكارداشيان، بل كنت أميل نحو مواقف الممثّلة والكاتبة جميلة جميل، خاصة عندما كانت تنعت كيم “بالعميل المزدوج للنظام الذكوري”. لكن اهتمام كارداشيان المفاجئ بحقوق السجناء، والذي قد يبدو غريباً بعض الشيء (وينبغي أن يعود الفضل في هذه الإصلاحات إلى أولئك الذين ناضلوا من أجل تلك الحقوق بلا هوادة) يجعلني أفكّر أن نشاطها الاجتماعي هذا يعطي معنى جديد لما هو ممكن في سياسة اليوم.

بحسب دراسة حديثة فإنّ معظم جيل الشباب في أمريكا قد سمعوا عن انتخابات عام 2018 عن طريق وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي أكثر منها عن طريق الحملات الانتخابية، وأولئك الذين شاركوا في النشاطات السياسية عبر الانترنت شاركوا بها في الحياة الواقعية أيضاً

لقد فقدنا الثقة بالأحزاب التقليدية، وذلك ليس لأنّ الشباب أمثالي غير مكترثين بالسياسة، بل لأننا فقط بانتظار قادة سياسيين يكونون قادرين على الانخراط معنا بحق.

في خضم هذا الضباب السياسي  فإنّ وجود نساء مثل كيم وكاردي يطالبن باتخاذ إجراءات سياسية قد يساعد البعض منا في العثور على علاج لخيبة أملنا في السياسة.

يمكن لنرجسيّة المشاهير شراء القوة والتأثير السياسي، لكن إن كان هؤلاء المشاهير مستعدّين لاستخدام شهرتهم من أجل الخير، فلمَ لا ندعمهم؟ هناك شيء واحد مؤكّد هو أنّني أفضل أن تمثّلاني على أن يمثّلني رجل.

شارك هذا المقال

Why I Think Kim Kardashian and Cardi B Are Needed in Politics

Maybe they can fix our messy global politics

by

We’re living in an age when politics and pop culture are becoming one, carving out a new democratic sphere or celebrity fandom.

Although this can be worrying (ahem, Trump), what I find particularly exciting about this phenomenon is the rise of POC and bi-cultural female celebrities in a space that’s long been dominated by men. 

Whether it’s reality TV mogul, and now law student, Kim Kardashian (who was made famous after her sex tape leaked) discussing prison reforms at the White House or stripper-turned-popstar Cardi B interviewing Democratic candidate Bernie Sanders about raising the minimum wage and cancelling student debt – young women are finally breaking political silence and challenging the establishment like never before.

I have never been a fervent Kardashian supporter. I’ve actually leant more towards actress and writer Jameela Jamil’s stance, especially when she dubbed Kim a “double agent for the patriarchy”. But although the foremost Kardashian’s sudden interest in prisoners’ rights feels a bit odd (and the credit for these reforms should go to those who have tirelessly fought for them) her activism is redefining what’s possible in politics.

According to a recent study, more young people in America heard about the 2018 elections on social media than directly from campaigns, and those who engaged in political activity online tended do so in person too. 

Trust in traditional parties is evaporating. But that’s not because young people like me are apathetic. We’re just waiting for political leaders to really engage with us.

And in the current global political fog, hearing women like Kim and Cardi demand action might actually help some of us cure our disenchantment with politics. 

Celebrity narcissism can buy power and political influence – but if celebrities are ready to use their fame for good, then why not? One thing is for sure, I’d rather have them represent me rather than a man.

Share this article