المحكمة الدستوريّة الكويّتية تلغي قانوناً يجرّم المتحوّلين جنسياً

إليكم كل ما تحتاجون لمعرفته

تسير الكويت اليوم للأمام بخطا تهدف لخلق مساحة أكثر أماناً لمجتمع LGBTQI في المنطقة، ولا سيما فيما يخصّ المتحولين جنسياً، حيث ألغت دولة الخليج أخيراً قانوناً كان يجرّم المتحولين جنسيّاً وغير محددي الهويّة الجنسيّة.

قضت المحكمة الدستوريّة للبلاد مؤخراً بعدم دستورية المادّة 198 من قانون العقوبات والتي كانت تجرّم التشبه بالجنس الآخر، حيث نصّت المادّة على إيقاف واعتقال وحتى عقوبة الحبس لمدة سنة واحدة للأشخاص الذين لا تتطابق أوصافهم الجسدية ومظاهرهم مع الجنس المسجّل لهم في الهوية الشخصية.

خلص الحكم القضائي يوم الأربعاء إلى أن النّص القانوني قد انتهك دستور البلاد وبالتالي تمّ تعديله في خطوة تاريخيّة وغير مسبوقة.

منذ إقرار هذا القانون في مايو 2007 كانت الكويت محط  أنظار العديد من جمعيات حفظ حقوق الإنسان في جميع أنحاء العالم. إذ دعت منظمة مراقبة حقوق الإنسان “Human Rights Watch” البلاد منذ وقتٍ ليس ببعيد في أكتوبر 2021 إلى الإفراج عن مها المطيري بعد تغريمها بقيمة 1000 دينار (3320 دولاراً)  بموجب القانون الذي تمّ إبطاله الآن. سبق ذلك إدانة المطيري واحتجازها مراراً وتكراراً على مرّ السنوات إثر ذلك القانون القمعي، إضافةً لاعتقالها ست مرّات بسبب هويّتها المتحولّة جنسياً ومنعها من السفر خارج البلاد بسبب القضايا المرفوعة ضدّها.

شارك(ي) هذا المقال

مقالات رائجة

Kuwait’s Constitutional Court Repeals Law Criminalizing Trans People

Everything you need to know

Kuwait is taking a major step forward towards creating a safer space for the LGBTQI+ community in the region, in particular trans people. The gulf state has finally repealed a law that once prosecuted trans and non-binary folx in the nation.

The nation’s constitutional court recently overturned a discriminatory law that was used to legally sentence individuals for “imitating the opposite sex” as Article 198 of the penal code reads. This translated into Kuwaiti authorities being able to stop, arrest and even incarcerate up to one year people whose physical descriptions and appearances do not match the gender inscribed on one’s identification card.

Since Wednesday, a court ruling concluded that the measure violated the country’s constitution and consequently nullified the amendment in a historic move.

Since its introduction in May of 2007, Kuwait has been put under the limelight several times by various human rights groups around the globe. Not so long ago, in October 2021, Human Rights Watch called the country out following Maha al-Mutairi’s 1,000 dinar ($3,320) fine imposed by the now-repealed law. Al-Mutairi has repeatedly been convicted and detained through the years as a result of the oppressive law. She claims to have been arrested six times due to her transgender identity and even “barred from travelling outside the country due to the cases against her”.

Share this article

Related stories