لبنان يشرّع زراعة الحشيش

البلد العربي الأول الذي يتخذ هذه الخطوة

by

المستحيل قد تحقق! دولة عربية تشرّع زراعة الحشيش! نعم… لقد أعلنت الحكومة اللبنانية عن تشريعها قانونياً لزراعة وحصاد الحشيش لأسباب طبية وصناعية، ومن المتوقع أن تعطي هذه الخطوة دفعة كبيرة لاقتصاد هذه الدولة الذي يشارف على الانهيار. 

ومنذ أشهرٍ فقط، أصبح لبنان مسرحاً للتظاهرات والاحتجاجات على سلسلةٍ جديدةٍ من الضرائب على اتصالات واتساب مما وضع هذه الدولة على شفير ثورةٍ كبرى.

أدت تلك الاحتجاجات إلى إلغاء الضريبة، ولكن يبدو أن تشريع إنتاج الحشيش محاولة من لبنان لإنقاذ الوضع الاقتصادي المتعثر وإخراج البلد من الأزمة المالية الخانقة التي يعاني منها وكسب دخلٍ جديد من خلال تصدير الحشيش. 

وتعتبر هذه خطوة كبيرة وير مسبوقة. فلطالما اعتبرت زراعة وتجارة الحشيش غير قانونية إلا أنه يُزرع بشكل علني في وادي البقاع في لبنان. ويقال إن لبنان هو ثالث أكبر مصدّر لصمغ الحشيش في العالم بعد المغرب وأفغانستان.

بموجب القانون الجديد، سيتم تنظيم زراعة الحشيش في جميع أنحاء البلاد. ولكن استخدام الحشيش لأغراض ترفيهية ما زال غير قانونياً. الهدف من القانون الجديد هو توفير بنية تحتية قانونية لإنتاج الحشيش والمنتجات المتفرعة عنه لأغراض دوائية، مثل زيت CBD.

وقد تمت مناقشة إمكانية تقنين الحشيش في البرلمان اللبناني منذ عام 2018. ويمكن لهذا القانون، الذي يدخل حيز التنفيذ الآن، أن يضخ الاقتصاد بحوالي مليار دولار سنوياً، وهو دخل يحتاجه هذا البلد المدين بأكثر من 80 مليون دولار حاجةً ماسة.

شارك هذا المقال

Lebanon Legalizes Cannabis Farming

Say hello to the first Arab country to do it

by

The seemingly impossible has happened. An Arab nation has legalized cannabis farming. The Lebanese government announced that cannabis can now be cultivated for medicinal and industrial use—a move expected to provide a major boost to the nation’s collapsing economy. 

Just a few months ago, Lebanon became home to a string of protests against a new tax that levied a daily charge on calls made through WhatsApp, putting the nation on the brink of a major revolution. 

The tax has since been lifted, and the new law allowing the legal harvesting of cannabis might just be the solution to the nation’s financial crisis. A move that could in-turn become a lucrative export.

The announcement is pretty major. Despite cannabis being deemed illegal in the past, it was openly farmed in the nation’s Bekaa Valley. Lebanon has long-been said to be the world’s third biggest supplier of cannabis resin after Morocco and Afghanistan.  

Under the new law, cannabis farming will be regulated across the country. The use of marijuana for recreational purposes is still illegal though. The aim of the new law is to foster a legal industry to produce cannabis pharmaceutical items, like CBD oil. 

The possibility of legalizing cannabis has been discussed in Lebanese parliament since 2018. The law, now into effect, could bring in around $1 billion into the economy per year, a boost to a national with more than $80 million of national debt. 

Share this article