ليلى سليماني تحطّم القيود العربية المفروضة على الجنس

تسعى هذه الكاتبة المغربية لإحداث بعض التغيير

by

يُعتبر الحديث عن الجنس أحد أهم المحرمات في العالم العربي إلى جانب الحديث عن التحرش والصحة العقلية وتمكين المرأة ودعمها. فعملياً هو أمر لا يمكن الحديث عنه، حيث يخشى العرب بكل خلفياتهم الدينية، عقد نقاشات مفتوحة حول هذا الموضوع.

فالجنس في مجتمعاتنا مرتبط بالعار، سواء قبل الزواج أم بعده. حيثُ يتم تعليم النساء على وجه الخصوص وفي سن مبكرة بأن الجنس محظور قبل الزواج، وكذلك الحديث عنه. مما يعني أن الوصول إلى تربية جنسية صحيحة وصحية غير ممكن أصلاً.

وهذا ما أدركته الكاتبة ليلى سليماني عندما بدأت في الترويج لروايتها الأولى” أديل”. فعندما تحدثت إلى بعض النساء المحليات، أدركت أن شخصيتها الرئيسية (والتي كانت تتمتع بشخصية لعوبة للغاية) لديها الكثير من القواسم المشتركة مع النساء اللواتي تحدثت إليهن – وكن حريصات على التحدث معها عن حياتهن الخاصة. وهذا كان المفتاح لرواية سليماني الأخيرة “الجنس والأكاذيب”.

تتحدث هذه الرواية عن النساء اللواتي يعشن في دولة تعتبر الجنس قبل الزواج والزنا والإجهاض والشذوذ الجنسي والدعارة بمثابة جرائم، وكتاب سليماني هو سرد لحقيقة الجنس في الثقافة العربية. كما تدين الكاتبة هوس المغرب بموضوع العذرية، وهو هاجس مدعوم بقانون عقوبات ينص على أن تقدم المرأة المقبلة على الزواج شهادةً تفيد بأنها غير متزوجة من قبل.

ما دفع سليماني، التي قضت غالبية حياتها في المغرب، لكتابة روايتها الأخيرة، هو إدراكها للمخاطر التي يضعن النساء أنفسهن بها في كثير من الأحيان. ففي مجتمع محافظ إلى حد كبير، حيث لا يسمح الآباء بوجود الحبيب أو الحبيبة في المنزل، والفنادق تطلب وثيقة الزواج لحجز الغرف، تميل النساء إلى عيش حياتهن في سرية تامة.

تناقش هذه القصص التي ترويها سليماني في روايتها “الجنس والأكاذيب”، معاناة مجموعة من النساء العربيات اللواتي يكبتن تفاصيل حياتهن الحميمة، ليس خوفاً من التداعيات الاجتماعية فحسب، بل والقانونية أيضاً.

شارك هذا المقال

Leila Slimani is Breaking Down Arab Taboos Surrounding Sex

The Moroccan author is pushing for change

by

Alongside abuse, mental health, and female empowerment, sex is one of the Arab world’s biggest taboos. It’s practically untouchable, with Arabs of all religious backgrounds fearful of open discussions on the subject.

Premarital or not, sex is firmly attached to shame. Women in particular are taught from a young age that sex is not only forbidden before marriage, but so are conversations about it. Which means that access to sex education tools are next to non-existent.

This is what Leila Slimani realised when she began promoting her first novel, Adele. Speaking to local women, she realised that her main character (who was highly promiscuous) had a lot in common with the women she was speaking to – and they were keen to talk about their own lives with her. That’s how Slimani’s latest book, Sex and Lies, was born.

Told by women who live in a nation where premarital sex, adultery, abortion, homosexuality and prostitution are all crimes, Slimani’s book is a raw account of what sexuality is really like in Arab culture. She unabashedly condemns Morocco’s obsession with virginity—an obsession that’s backed by a penal code that stipulates women to present a “certificate of unmarried status” before marriage.

Slimani, who spent the majority of her life living in Morocco, became motivated to write her latest book when she realised the dangers women often put themselves in. With a largely conservative society where parents don’t allow significant others at home, and hotels requiring marriage certificates to book rooms, women tend to function in total secrecy.

It’s these stories that Slimani tells in Sex and Lies, in-turn lending a voice to a group of Arab women who have supressed the intimate details of their lives, not only for fear of societal repercussions, but legal ones too.

Share this article