الممثلة الجزائرية لينا خضري تفوز بجائزة “الأوسكار الفرنسية”

فوز كبير لنجمة فيلم Papicha وسط فضيحة هائلة

by

هل ما تزال مهرجانات الجوائز تتمتع بالشرعية؟ فمن جوائز الأوسكار إلى جوائز الغرامي، تعرضت تلك الأكاديميات والمؤسسات المسؤولة عن بعضٍ من أبرز الجوائز العالمية للكثير من الهجوم والانتقاد في السنوات الأخيرة، وآخرها مهرجان “سيزار” الفرنسي.

إذ تعلمت هذه المؤسسة (التي غالباً ما توصَف بإسم “جوائز الأوسكار الفرنسية”) من أخطاء نظيرتها الأميركية واتخذت بعض الخطوات الرئيسية نحو تنويع مرشحيها والفائزين بجوائزها، من خلال منح الممثلة الجزائرية الفرنسية لينا خضري جائزة سيزار عن فئة أفضل ممثلة صاعدة.

View this post on Instagram

papicha ⭐️

A post shared by lynakhoudri (@lynakhoudri) on

وقد فازت خضري، التي تلعب دور حبيبة الممثل تيموثي شالاميت في فيلم ويس أندرسون القادم، بجائزة عن دورها في فيلم Papicha للمخرجة مونيا مدور، والذي يروي قصة مناضلاتٍ جزائريات في سبيل الحرية. كما حصلت مدور أيضاً على جائزة أفضل فيلم.

إلا أن الاحتجاجات الكبيرة على فوزٍ آخر في هذا المهرجان، طغت على فوز كل من الممثلة والمخرجة الجزائرتين، ألا وهو فوز المخرج رومان بولانسكي المتهم بالاغتصاب، عن فئة أفضل مخرج.

إذ تم ترشيح المخرج البولندي للجائزة عن فيلمه “An Officer and a Spy”، مما أدى إلى استقالة 21 عضواً بالأكاديمية الفرنسية، وهي الخطوة التي اتُخذت بعد حفل توزيع الجوائز في 28 فبراير. حيثُ تم ترشيح بولانسكي لـ 12 جائزة سيزار، وهو القرار الذي أحدث جدلاً كبيراً وردود فعلٍ عنيفة، لتتعهد الأكاديمية في نهاية المطاف القيام بإصلاحاتٍ في مؤسستها.

وعلى الرغم من ذلك، تم منح بولانسكي جائزة أفضل مخرج خلال الحفل. كما فاز بجائزة أفضل سيناريو مقتبس. وهذا المخرج المتهم باغتصاب فتاةٍ تبلغ من العمر 13 عاماً في عام 1977، مطلوب حالياً في الولايات المتحدة لارتكابه هذه الجريمة (حيثُ فر من أميركا قبل جلسة النطق بالحكم).

تسبب فوزه بخروج البعض من الحفل، ومغادرة عدد من الممثلين وهم مصدومين من هذا الفوز، ومنهم الممثلة أديل هاينل (التي كانت مرشحة لجائزة أفضل ممثلة) وهي تصرخ “عار!”. ليخرج المتظاهرون بعد فترةٍ وجيزة إلى الشوارع ويتجمعوا خارج القاعة الباريسية حيث يُقام مهرجان الجوائز.

ومن بين المحتجين على هذا الفوز، وزير الثقافة الفرنسي فرانك ريستر الذي قال أن منح بولانسكي جائزة سيزر يعتبر “تمثلاً سيئاً عن المواقف الذي يجب أن نتخذها ضد العنف الجنسي والجسدي”.

إن ردود الفعل والانتقادات التي تلت ذلك الحفل في فرنسا، تضع شرعية جائزة سيزار موضع تساؤل، وكذلك كل جوائز المهرجانات على نطاق عالمي، نظراً لافتقارها العام للتنوع ولتجاهلها الدائم للمخرجين والفنانين من ذوي البشرة الداكنة.

شارك هذا المقال

Algerian Actress Lyna Khoudri Wins a ‘French Oscar’

The Papicha star wins big amid a massive scandal

by

Are award shows still legitimate? From the Oscars to the Grammys, the academies and institutions behind some of the world’s most prestigious awards have been at the receiving end of backlash in recent years, and the French Caesar’s are the latest to be hit. 

The award show (which is often described as ‘the French Oscars’) took notes from its American equivalent and took some major steps towards diversifying its nominees, awarding Algerian-French actress Lyna Khoudri a Caesar for best female newcomer. 

View this post on Instagram

papicha ⭐️

A post shared by lynakhoudri (@lynakhoudri) on

Khoudri, who is also stars in Wes Anderson’s upcoming film as Timothée Chalamet’s love interest, won the award for her role in ‘Papicha’, a story directed by Mounia Meddour that follows Algerian female freedom fighters. Meddour also snagged the award for best film. 

This season’s win for the Algerian starlet, and director, was naturally overshadowed by protests sparked by another win: accused rapist and director Roman Polanski, who picked up the Caesar for best director. 

The Polish filmmaker was nominated for ‘An Officer and a Spy’, which led to 21 members of the French academy to forcibly resign, a move that took effect following the awards ceremony on February 28. Polanski was nominated for 12 Caesars, a decision that led to backlash and ultimately, the Academy’s vow to reform its model. 

Despite this, Polanski was named best director during the ceremony. He also won best adapted screenplay. The director was convicted with the statutory rape of a 13-year-old girl in 1977, and is currently wanted in the United States for the crime (he fled the country before his sentencing hearing). 

His win prompted walkouts from the ceremony, with actors heading to the doors shocked by his win, namely actress Adele Haenel (who was nominated for best actress) storming out shouting “shame!”. Soon after, protestors took to the streets, gathering outside the Paris venue where the awards were held. 

France’s culture minister, Franck Riester was amongst those protesting the win, saying that Polanski granted a Caesar is “symbolically bad given the stance we must take against sexual and sexist violence.”

The backlash that ensued and continues to shape up in France inarguably puts the legitimacy of the Caesars to question—and on a global scale, all award shows, with consideration to their general lack of diversity and perpetual disregard to filmmakers and artists of colour.

Share this article