Majid Magazine

مجلة ماجد: تراثٌ مستمر للقصص العربية المصورة

نظرة إلى المجلة التي رافقت طفولتنا.

Majid Magazine

تعتبر مجلة “ماجد” من أكثر المجلات انتشاراً وقدماً في المنطقة، وهي تحظى بشعبية كبيرة بين الأطفال ولقد كنت واحدةً منهم. تتميّز المجلة بأسلوبها القصصي المصور المليء بالحكايات والدعابات التي تثلج قلوب الأطفال وبمحتواها التربوي الممتع الذي يساهم في غرس المعرفة في نفس كل طفل عربي.

بالنسبة لي، فقد كنت أترقب بفارغ الصبر نهاية الأسبوع للذهاب مع والدي إلى المكتبة المحلية لشراء أحدث إصداراتها، وكانت والدتي تضحك دائماً لشغفي بالمجلة حيث كنت أبدأ بتصفحها قبل مغادرة المكتبة.

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par Majid (@majidkids)

كانت بي بي شخصيتي المفضلة، فقد تميّزت بشخصيّتها الجريئة والمشاكسة التي تحب الاستمتاع بوقتها. ربما كنت مولعة بمغامراتها الجريئة والفوضوية كوني نشأت طفلة هادئة وخجولة للغاية وما زلت كذلك إلى حد ما. 

بالرغم من أنّ “رونالدينيو” كان من الشخصيات المفضلة لدي، إلا أنني لم أكن أدرك أنّ فكرة شخصيّة الصبي فائق النشاط الذي يربط شعره بأسلوب ذيل حصان مستوحاة من لاعب كرة القدم البرازيلي الحقيقي. كما كان هناك أيضاً شخصية “كسلان جداً” الشهيرة، الذي كان يحاول باستمرار أن يكون شخصاً راشداً لكنه كان يوقع نفسه في المشاكل.

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par Majid (@majidkids)

عندما بلغت سن المراهقة، أصبحت مجلة ماجد ذكرى في طيّ النسيان، إلى أن ظهر منشور على الإنستاغرام يحمل صورة لغلاف مجلة بدا مألوفاً لي بعض الشيء، وعندما رأيت عنواناً كبيراً مكتوباً باللغة العربية باللون الأحمر وهو “ماجد”، تدفقت الذكريات الجميلة على الفور لتثلج قلبي.

لم أكن أعلم أن مجلة ماجد ما تزال تصدر حتى اليوم وقد أصدرت عددها رقم 2136. كل ما أذكره هو أنّ المجلة كانت متداولة منذ عام 1979، وقد أعيد تصميمها الآن من قبل وكالة التصميم “ستوديو سفر” القائمة في بيروت.

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par Studio Safar (@studiosafar)

لقد شعرت بسعادة غامرة من فكرة أن جيل الأطفال الحالي ما زال يستمتع بقصص ماجد المضحكة. والأهم من ذلك، هو أنّ هذا التراث العربي الذي يتميز برسوم مصوّرة عربية تم ابتكاره محلياً وليس من قبل شركات غربية مثل Marvel أو Anime.

تميّزت القصص المصورة بأبطال يرتدون العباءات البيضاء التقليدية، وكانت تزخر بصور وخواطر قصيرة لأطفال من كل أنحاء الوطن العربي من مصر ولبنان إلى سوريا والمغرب وكلها كانت باللغة العربية.

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par Majid (@majidkids)

يعود أحد أعداد المجلة الذي احتفظت به منذ طفولتي إلى عام 2009، حيث كنت في العاشرة من عمري وهي الفترة التي بدأت فيها بالفعل تعلم اللغة الإنجليزية والفرنسية في المدرسة. لقد كنت محظوظة بما يكفي لأنني واظبت في ذلك الوقت على قراءة ماجد، في الوقت الذي يبدأ فيه الشباب العرب بتعلم لغات أجنبية مما يتسبب في تجريدهم من لغتهم العربية بسهولة.

وهي حقيقة مؤسفة تفاقمت إثر ظهور العالم الرقمي اليوم، حيث لم تعد اللغة العربية تحظى بالحضور اللازم على المنصات التي يهيمن عليها الغرب. لكن صمود مجلة ماجد واستمرار وجودها بعد أكثر من 40 عاماً قد يكون بمثابة بريق أمل.

شارك(ي) هذا المقال

مقالات رائجة

Majid: A Living Legacy of Arabic Comics

And how it has shaped our childhoods.

by

Almost every kid in the region has grown up reading Majid, myself included. The children’s magazine was a favourite read for many.  You remember: the anecdote-filled comics, light-hearted jokes and the source of every Arab kid’s general knowledge. 

For me, it was my ultimate weekly indulgence. I remember being ecstatic whenever my parents and I drove to the local library to get the newest issue. My mother always laughed at how I would make my way through half the magazine before we’d made it to the front door. I was obsessed.

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 
Une publication partagée par Majid (@majidkids)

Bi Bi was my favourite character. She was audacious, a trouble-maker even. She lived for breaking the rules and having fun. Growing up as a very quiet and shy kid—I still am to some degree. Perhaps that’s why I loved her daring and chaotic adventures.

Ronaldinho was another one of my favourites. Only back then I had no idea that the pony-tailed super active boy in the comic was based on the actual Brazilian footballer. And of course, there’s the classic ‘Kaslan Jiddan’ (which means ‘very lazy’ in Arabic) who was constantly trying to be an adult but eventually always falling into trouble.

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par Majid (@majidkids)

As I stepped into my teenage years, any memory of Majid became tucked away in an inaccessible corner or mind. That was until an IG post of a magazine cover that looked a bit too familiar to ignore unlocked a flood of memories. Seeing a big bright red headline that spelled ‘Majid’ in Arabic, my face immediately lit up. 

I had no idea that Majid was still available to this day, certainly not that for a 2,136 issue. It was better than I remembered. The magazine, which has been in circulation since 1979, was now redesigned by none other than Beirut-based design agency Studio Safar.

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par Studio Safar (@studiosafar)

I was overjoyed at the thought that children way past my generation were still able to enjoy the funny tales of Majid. Most importantly, though, the legacy of a regionally-created publication with Arab comics that aren’t Marvel or Anime continued. 

The comic included wearing white robes and traditional thobes. It was filled with portraits and short writings of kids from Egypt and Lebanon to Syria and Morocco. And it was entirely in Arabic.

 

Voir cette publication sur Instagram

 

Une publication partagée par Majid (@majidkids)

One of the issues that I had kept from my childhood is dated from 2009. I was 10 years old, a time by which I had already started learning English and French at school. I was lucky enough to still be reading Majid, knowing that for young Arabs who are usually thrown into learning foreign languages really early on, it becomes very easy to strip away from the language.

It’s an unfortunate reality that has only been exacerbated further in today’s digital world, where Arabic has little presence on the western-dominated platforms. But Majid’s resilience and continued presence after over 40 years might just be a spark of hope.

Share this article