نظرة على تعاون ماثيو ويليامز الأول مع علامة Givenchy

من Alyx إلى LVMH

by

قامت علامة Givenchy في يونيو بتعيين ماثيو ويليامز مديراً إبداعياً جديداً للعلامة بدلاً عن كلير ويت كيلر لينضم بذلك إلى أصدقائه فيرجيل أبلوه وكيم جونز ويصبح فرداً من عائلة مجموعة الأزياء الفاخرة LVMH.

على الرغم من مرور أشهر على إعلان هذا الخبر، إلا أنّ ويليامز ظل ملتزماً بالصمت حيال خططه لعلامة Givenchy. إنّ المصمم البالغ من العمر 34 عاماً الذي تتضمن سيرته الذاتية تصميم ملابس الليدي غاغا، وإدارة علامته Alyx للملابس العصرية، والذي تعاون لفترة وجيزة مع أبلوه وهيرون بريستون في علامة Been Trill لملابس الشارع،  ينتقل اليوم للتعاون مع علامة Givenchy. في سبتمبر كشفت دار الأزياء عن إطلاق حملتها الإعلانية الأولى التي تحمل بصمة ماثيو الإبداعية.

تصدّرت الأقفال الغريبة المستوحاة من أقفال الحب في باريس مقدمة ومنتصف الحملة الإعلانية التي صوّرها نيك نايت والتي كان بلاي بوي كارتي وجهها الإعلامي المميّز. على الرغم من أنّ الحملة قد أثبتت بأنّها فصل جديد من قوة ونجاح دار الأزياء الفرنسية الأسطورية، إلا أنّ المشككين استمروا في التشكيك بقدرة هذا المصمم الذي حاز على شهرته بفضل أبازيمه المستوحاة من ملابس العمل على تصميم أزياء الكوتور. وها هو الاختبار الحقيقي قد بدأ هذا الأسبوع من خلال تقديم مجموعته الأولى يوم الأحد.

التزاماً بنهج تصاميم علامة Alyx العصرية، قدم ويليامز مجموعة من التصاميم التي امتازت بالقصّات الرسمية البارزة التي تختلف عن تصاميم ويت كيلر الأكثر نعومة وغرابة. تختلف هذه المجموعة عن أسلوب ويت كيلر بطرق متعددة من خلال استخدام عدد كبير من الخامات التي تميّزت بها المجموعة بما فيها حقيبة بنقشة جلد التمساح وحزام من جلد الثعبان وتي شيرت نصف شفاف مصمم من خامة شبكية تذكرنا بقميص “tattoo” للمصمم جان بول غوتييه.

View this post on Instagram

see the collection on givenchy.com

A post shared by GIVENCHY (@givenchyofficial) on

View this post on Instagram

#givenchyss21 by @matthewmwilliams

A post shared by GIVENCHY (@givenchyofficial) on

لم يتسم تعاون ويليامز الأول مع Givenchy بالتطرف، حيث برع في إضفاء لمساته الخاصة على العلامة وفي نفس الوقت الاحتفاء بأسلافه، فقد رأينا ضمن مجموعة ويليامز الخامات المزيّنة بالنقشات الدائرية الخاصة بالمصمم هوبرت دي جيفنشي، بالإضافة إلى تفاصيل قرون ماكوين الأيقونية والتي برزت على أحذية الكعب العالي والقبعات.

View this post on Instagram

full collection in stories

A post shared by GIVENCHY (@givenchyofficial) on

لا عجب في ظهور بصمة ويليامز المميّزة في القصّات الرسمية البارزة وفي تصميم القطع العملية والبراغماتية، فهو مصمم له جذور عميقة في تصميم أزياء الشارع. قال ماثيو لمجلة فوغ “هناك الكثير من التصاميم التي أرغب شخصياً بارتدائها”. إنّ لمساته تظهر بشكل ملحوظ من خلال شغفه بالتفاصيل المعدنية التي لطالما ميّزت علامة Alyx، بالإضافة إلى القفل الذي زيّن عدداً من قطع المجموعة.

 

شارك هذا المقال

We Weigh in on Matthew Williams’s Givenchy Debut

From Alyx to LVMH

by

In June Matthew Williams was appointed the new creative director of Givenchy, taking the reins from Clare Waight Keller and joining his friends Virgil Abloh and Kim Jones at the helm of some of LVMH’s biggest fashion houses. 

For months after the announcement, Williams kept mum on his plans at Givenchy. The 34-year-old designer—who’s fashion resume includes costume work with Lady Gaga, running his modernist label Alyx, and a stint with Abloh and Heron Preston with streetwear Been Trill—soon gave a peak at what a ‘Williams’ Givenchy looks like. In September, the fashion house unveiled its first ad campaign with his creative direction. 

Mysterious padlocks inspired by Paris’s love locks were front and centre in the campaign, which was shot by Nick Knight and featured none other than Playboy Carti correctly and incorrectly pronouncing the brand’s name. The campaign proved itself a breath of fresh air for the storied French fashion house but sceptics kept on doubting the couture ability of the designer who rose to fame thanks to his industrial buckles. The real test came just this week as the designer presented his first collection on Sunday. 

True to his modernist approach with Alyx, Williams presented a collection that put sharp, tailoring forward—a step away from Waight Keller’s softer, more whimsical line of design. The collection stepped away from Waight Keller’s in more ways than one, with a host of textures featured throughout the collection, including an alligator bag, a snake skin harness, and a translucent mesh-like t-shirt reminiscent of Jean-Paul Gaultier’s iconic ‘tattoo’ shirt.

View this post on Instagram

see the collection on givenchy.com

A post shared by GIVENCHY (@givenchyofficial) on

View this post on Instagram

#givenchyss21 by @matthewmwilliams

A post shared by GIVENCHY (@givenchyofficial) on

But Williams’s Givenchy debut isn’t explicitly radical. Williams was able to place his touch on the label, but not without paying homage to his predecessors. Hubert de Givenchy’s looped drapery found its presence in Williams’ collection, and not least, McQueen’s iconic horn detailing, which was featured on heels and a hat. 

View this post on Instagram

full collection in stories

A post shared by GIVENCHY (@givenchyofficial) on

Williams’s personal mark lives on in the sharp tailoring as it does in the practicality and pragmatism of the pieces, an unsurprising approach from a designer with roots in streetwear.  “A lot of it is what I would wear personally,” he told Vogue. But his touch most notably shows through his love for hardware that’s ever-present at Alyx, with the padlock featured in his campaign accenting a number of pieces in the collection.

 

Share this article