مهدي بحمد: المغني ثنائي الجنس الذي يرتقي بجذوره المغربية

اسمعوا أغنيته الآسرة الأخيرة ‘Walo’

by

بالرغم من جذوره التي تمتد بين ثلاث قارات مختلفة، لم يتوانَ المغني الفرنسي الكندي المولود في المغرب مهدي بحمد عن الاحتفاء بهويته في كل أعماله، ومشروعه الأخير دليل على ذلك – ولكن في هذه المرة يسلط المغني الضوء على اللهجة المغربية الدارجة.

حيث أطلق بحمد لتوه ترجمته العربية الخاصة لأغنية Rien المفعمة بالمشاعر، وكانت بمثابة أول أغنية يحتفي المغني من خلالها بتراثه في شمال أفريقيا باستخدام آلات البوب ​​الإلكترونية لإضفاء نغمة متناغمة على الأغنية باللهجة الدارجة.

وفي هذا الصدد يقول المغني “كانت فكرة ابتكار هذه النسخة طبيعية بالنسبة لي، بالإضافة لكونها أول عمل فني قمت به في المغرب وكان هذا أثناء الوباء. بالرغم من أنّ كتابة الأغنية باللهجة الدارجة كان أمراً مخيفاً في البداية، إلا أنّ كل شيء كان يدفعني إلى القيام بذلك”.

في محاولة لتحدي معظم المفاهيم السابقة السائدة والمرتبطة بكونه ذكراً عربيًاً في المنطقة، يستعير المغني ثنائي الجنس بجرأة العديد من العناصر والمراجع من خلفيته متعددة الثقافات لصياغة مجموعة عصرية من المقاطع الشعرية لإضفاء لمسة من مشاعر الحنين التي لم يسمعها الكثير منا حتى الآن من فنان مغربي.

تُجسد أغنية “والو” براعة مهدي في كتابة وتقديم فنه الإبداعي بلغتيه الأم وهما الفرنسية والعربية المغربية، مما يجعله فناناً صاعداً وواعداً يستحق المتابعة.

بالرغم من أن إسم الأغنية باللغة الإنجليزية يعني “لا شيء”، إلا أنّ الأغنية تزخر بكل شيء، بدءاً من الصوت الدافئ والحميم إلى النغمات المميزة، حيث يأخذنا الملحن في رحلةٍ في عقله الممزق بين تحدياته الشخصية ومحاولاته لمعرفة المعنى الحقيقي لما يمتلكه.

ومن جهته قال مهدي “بالرغم من أنّ الأمر قد يبدو مبتذلاً بعض الشيء، إلا أنّ الثروة الحقيقية لا يمكن تحديدها لأنها غير ملموسة. في عالم يتم فيه تقييم المرء بناءً على ما يمتلكه، قد نشعر في بعض الأحيان أننا لا نملك أو نساوي أي شيء. ولكن في النهاية أيهما أثمن الماء أم الذهب؟”.

بعد نجاح أغنيته المنفردة “سكر” وإطلاق ألبومه الأول “كحل”، قد يبدو للوهلة الأولى أنّ النهج متعدد الحواس الذي يتبعه مهدي بسيطاً، إلا أنه وفي ذات الوقت غنيّ في جوهره ومفعم بالتأثير والأصالة، فهو رصين وآسر في آنٍ معاً. أغنية “والو” هي محاولة لبث الروح في عالم المغني ثنائي الجنس الذي نتوق لرؤية المزيد من أعماله في المستقبل القريب.

أغنية “والو” هنا

شارك هذا المقال

Mehdi Bahmad is the Gender-Bending Singer Pushing His Moroccan Roots Forward

His latest single ‘Walo’ is captivating

by

Rooted between three different continents, Moroccan-born French-Canadian singer Mehdi Bahmad has never shied away from putting his identity front and centre. His latest project does just that—this time putting the spotlight on the darija dialect.

Bahmad just released an Arabic rendition of his intimate lullaby Rien, serving as an ultimate first. In the track, the singer pays tribute to his North African heritage using pop-electro keys to give a silky and harmonious tone to the Darija variation of the song. 

“The idea to make this version was so evident and natural. It is also the first artwork I made in Morocco and this was during the pandemic. Even if writing in darija seemed quite frightening at first, everything was leading me into doing so.” 

Challenging most preconceptions associated with being an Arab male in the region, the androgynous singer unapologetically borrows several elements and references from his multicultural background to craft a fashionable and fitting set of stanzas, leaving a melodic mark that many of us listeners have yet to have heard from a Maghrebi artist so far. 

Making him one of the up-and-coming artists to make sure to follow, ‘Walo’ (والو) personifies Mehdi’s will to write and deliver more of his creative juice in both of his mother-tongues namely French and Moroccan Arabic. 

Can it be translated into ‘nothing’ in English, the song really has it all. From an alternative cover to a sizzling warm voice, the eclectic composer leads us through his compromising mind torn between his own personal challenges and endeavours sorrowing over what it really means to simply have. 

“It can sound a bit cliché, but real wealth cannot be quantified as it is intangible. In a world where we assess one’s value based on what he owns we can sometimes feel like we possess nothing or are not worth anything. But in the end, what’s worth more, water or gold?”

Following the success of his single ‘Sukkar’ and debut EP ‘Khôl’, Mehdi Bahmad’s multi-sensory approach to music might seem minimalistically simple at first sight but is also seductive in its essence and full of impact and authenticity. Sober yet captivating at the same time, ‘Walo’ is a refreshing gender-bending taster of the young singer’s universe that we’re only craving to see more of in the near future.  

Stream ‘Walo’ here.

Share this article