تعرّفوا على الخبير الجديد في موسيقى Lo-Fi : مشعل

المغني السعودي يعيد تعريف هذا النوع من الموسيقى

by

هناك سر في موسيقى Lo-fi يجذب المعجبين إليه. ربما يكمن السر في الإيقاعات الناعمة والهادئة، أو النغمات المألوفة بشكل غريب، أو الإحساس الجريء أو الكلمات الفردية النمطيّة التي ترافق الألحان المكتنفة. من المحتمل أنّها كل ما قد سبق.

وحتى الآن، لم يتقن هذا النوع من الموسيقى إلا عدد قليل من الفنانين العرب، وبالتأكيد من بينهم المغنيّة الجزائرية لولو زواي. إلا أننا هنا لنعرفكم على خبير موسيقى Lo-fi السعودي مشعل تامر

View this post on Instagram

If u see someone without a smile, give them one of yours.

A post shared by Mishaal (مشعل)🇸🇦 (@officialmishaal) on

اكتسب الفنان الشاب بالفعل شهرة كبيرة داخل المنطقة وخارجها، حيث حاز على 143.000 متابع على الإنستاغرام وملايين المشاهدات على اليوتيوب. كما أنه يحظى بأكثر من نصف مليون مستمع شهرياً على منصة سبوتيفاني حيث تم بث إحدى أغانيه Kid Goku أكثر من 8 ملايين مرة على المنصة؛ وهذه البداية فقط.

باستخدام ميكروفون Xbox وجيتار قديم وبصوته الهادئ تمكن الفنان البالغ من العمر 20 عاماً والذي يطلق عليه اسم “مشعل” من إطلاق أغنيته الأولى “Arabian Knights” في ديسمبر الماضي التي ترافقت مع مقطع فيديو تم تصويره في مدينة جدة. حصلت هذه الأغنية الذي يغنيها بمزيج من اللغات العربية والإسبانية والإنجليزية على ثلاثة ملايين مشاهدة على اليوتيوب، كما تم بثها ملايين المرات على منصّة سبوتيفاني.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Mishaal (مشعل)🇸🇦 (@officialmishaal) on

لقد عزز نجاح هذه الأغنية شهرته في مجال الموسيقى باعتبارها الطريق الذي اختاره لنفسه. تخرّج هذا الشاب المولود في جدة من معهد كلايف ديفيس المرموق في جامعة نيويورك، ولم تستغرق رحلته الإبداعية وقتاً طويلاً للانطلاق.

ولد مشعل لأب سعودي وأم إكوادورية، وهو يستخدم مؤثراته الثقافية كجزء من مسيرته الموسيقية. على الرغم من أنّه غنى أغنية “Arabian Knights” باللغتين العربية والإسبانية إلا أنّ تأثره بثقافته يبرز واضحاً في إيقاعاته.

قال مشعل لصحيفة Manila Times “إن استمعتم إلى أغنية مثل”Arabian Knights”، فهي تتضمن كلمات باللغتين العربية والإسبانية، وإذا دققتم في النغمات ستجدون دائماً إيقاع مستوحى من الشرق الأوسط. كما أنني أستخدم الكثير من الإيقاعات اللحنية المستوحاة من أمريكا الجنوبية والإكوادور.

 وهذه التأثيرات الثقافية تبرز باستمرار في جميع أغانيه. في عام 2020 أطلق مشعل ثلاث أغنيات فردية “Friends” في مايو و “I Don’t Wanna Wait For Summer” في يونيو  و “Mister Mister” في يوليو. ظل مشعل من خلال هذه الأغنيات الثلاث وفياً لروح موسيقى Lo-fi : فهي تجسّد شخصيتها بعمق.

 

كتب مشعل أغنية “الأصدقاء” في خضم الوباء، حيث لامست كلمات الأغاني الشعور بالعزلة التي يعيشها العالم بسبب إجراءات الإغلاق. قال لصحيفة The National “كُتبت الأغنية هنا في نيويورك للتعبير عن رغبتي في العودة إلى جدة”.

“لقد كتب هذه الأغنية خلال فترة الحجر الصحي الذي كنا نعيشه جميعاً، حيث لم أكن قادراً على العودة إلى وطني، خاصة خلال شهر رمضان حيث ازداد شعوري بالحنين إلى عائلتي وأصدقائي. تجسّد هذه الأغنية الحنين إلى الماضي وهي تكاد أن تكون مخصصة لهم”.

تروي أغنية “Mister Mister” قصة شخص محبوب يعاني من الإدمان. أوضح في مقابلة ” لم يُقدّر لهذا الشخص أن يسمعها أبداً، لكني أريد أن تساعد هذه الأغنية شخصاً آخر قد يكافح من أجل مقاومة الوحش الداخلي وهزيمته”.

وفي سبتمبر، أثبت أنه لن يتوقف عند هذا الحد، حيث أطلق أحدث أغانيه “Peddle Bike”.

View this post on Instagram

watch the full video on YouTube and subscribe 🍗

A post shared by Mishaal (مشعل)🇸🇦 (@officialmishaal) on

كما أعلن عن خططه لإطلاق أول أسطوانة له بعنوان “Life’s a Ride”. إذا كان لمشاريعه السابقة أي مؤشرات، فلا يمكننا الانتظار لنرى ما في جعبة هذا المغني الشاب.

شارك هذا المقال

Meet Lo-Fi’s New Maven: Mishaal

The Saudi Arabian singer redefining the genre

by

There’s something about lo-fi music that just draws its listeners in. Perhaps it’s the subtle, soothing rhythms, the oddly-familiar, gritty feel, or the typically personal lyrics that accompany the ambient tunes. Chances are, it’s all of the above.

And so far, far and few Arab artists have mastered the genre. There’s the Algerian Lolo Zouai, of course. But we’re here to introduce you to Saudi Arabian lo-fi maven, Mishaal Tamer.  

 

View this post on Instagram

 

If u see someone without a smile, give them one of yours.

A post shared by Mishaal (مشعل)🇸🇦 (@officialmishaal) on

The young artist has already garnered a major fanbase in the region and beyond, counting 143,000 followers on Instagram and millions in YouTube views. He also counts over half a million monthly listeners on Spotify. One of his songs, ‘Kid Goku’ has been streamed over 8 million times on the platform; and that’s just the beginning.

Using an Xbox microphone, an old guitar and his soothing vocals, the 20-year-old artist—who goes by the mononym Mishaal— dropped his first song ‘Arabian Knights’ last December with an accompanying video he shot in Jeddah. The track, in which he sings in Arabic, Spanish, and English, garnered three million views on YouTube, and millions in streams on Spotify.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Mishaal (مشعل)🇸🇦 (@officialmishaal) on

Its success solidified music as his chosen path. The Jeddah native dropped out of NYU’s prestigious Clive Davis Institute, and it didn’t take long for creative journey to really kick off.  

Born to a Saudi Arabian father and Ecuadorian mother, Mishaal uses his cultural influences as part of his musical process. Whilst he sung in both Arabic and Spanish in ‘Arabian Knights’, his cultures make themselves present in his beats as well.

If you hear songs like ‘Arabian Knights’, it has lyrics in Arabic and Spanish but also going forward, if you listen a little bit to the beats as well, there’s always a rhythm that comes from the Middle East. I also use a lot of melodic structures that comes from South America and Ecuador,” he told Manila Times.

His influences continue to be seen in his later tracks. In 2020, Mishaal dropped three singles: ‘Friends’ in May, ‘I Don’t Wanna Wait For Summer’ in June, and ‘Mister Mister’ in July. In all three, Mishaal stayed true to lo-fi’s ethos: they’re deeply personal.

‘Friends’ was written by Mishaal in the heart of the pandemic, with the lyrics touching on the feeling of isolation the world felt due to the lockdowns. “The song was written here in New York about me wanting to go back to Jeddah,” he told The National.

“It was written during the quarantine time that we are all living in and the fact that I couldn’t be back home, especially in Ramadan, made me miss my family and friends even more. This song is very nostalgic and it is almost like a dedication to them.”

‘Mister Mister’ is a song about a loved one who struggled with addiction. “This person never got to hear it, but I want this song to help someone who might be struggling to not let the monster inside win,” he explained in an interview.

And this September, he proved he has no plans of slowing down. The singer released his latest track ‘Peddle Bike’.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

watch the full video on YouTube and subscribe 🍗

A post shared by Mishaal (مشعل)🇸🇦 (@officialmishaal) on

He also announced his plans to release his first EP, ‘Life’s a Ride’. If his earlier projects were of any indication, we can’t wait to see what the young singer has up his sleeve.

Share this article