فنانون يدعون المتاحف لإعادة التحف الأفريقية المسروقة

حان الوقت لذلك...

by

وفقا لخبراء منظمة اليونسكو، تم نهب 90% من الإرث الثقافي الملموس في أفريقيا وهو الآن خارج القارة. ستجدون معظم تلك التحف في المتاحف الأوروبية والأمريكية، وخاصةً في المتحف البريطاني ومتحف V&A في لندن، وكذلك متحف متروبوليتان للفنون في نيويورك، ومتحف واشنطن العاصمة الوطني للفن الأفريقي، وهذه هي المتاحف التي تتحمل الذنب الأكبر في تلك السرقة. 

كما يمكن العثور على تلك التحف المسروقة أيضاً في المؤسسات الأصغر مثل متحف “سبيريتان” للفنون الأفريقية في منطقة دروم الصغيرة في جنوب شرق فرنسا. إن الفن الأفريقي في الغرب منتشر بشكلٍ هائل لا يمكن إنكاره، ونادراً ما تفصح تلك المؤسسات عن الطرق العنيفة التي حصلت من خلالها على الفن الأفريقي – مما يفتح قضية إعادتها إلى مكانها الأصلي.

مع انتشار حركة Black Lives Matter في الأسابيع القليلة الماضية، قام المتظاهرون بإزالة تماثيل الجنود الكونفدراليين في أمريكا (مثل روبرت إي لي في فيرجينيا، وتمثال تاجر الرقيق في بريستول)، كما دعى الفنانون والنشطاء لإعادة القطع الأثرية الأفريقية الموجودة في حوزة المؤسسات الأوروبية والأمريكية – تحت عنوان تفكيك سيادة العرق الأبيض.

وكتب الفنان اللبناني لورانس أبو حمدان الحائز على جائزة تورنر في على إنستاغرام “لنأخذ ما جرى في بريستول ونطبقه على متاحف @britishmuseum و @vamuseum. لقد حان وقت إعادة التاريخ إلى مكانه. وإلى أن يتم ذلك، يجب تغيير التسميات والنصوص الوصفية للتعبير بشكلٍ صريح عن القوة العنيفة للعرق الأبيض التي من خلالها سُرِقت هذه الأشياء”.

وأضاف “نداء لـ @venetia_porter و @racheldedman وأي شخص يعمل في مثل هذه المؤسسات! من الضروري أن تعملون من أجل تغيير هذا الوضع السائد بحيث تعرفون الجمهور بحقيقة تاريخ سيادة العرق الأبيض الذي تعرضونه بدلاً من التعتيم عليه. الشمولية ليس كافية الآن”. 

المطالب بإعادة الفن الأفريقي ليست جديدة، في عام 2009 طالب المجلس الأعلى للآثار في مصر أن يعيد متحف اللوفر أربعة آثار سرقت في الثمانينيات من قبر “تيتاكي” في الأقصر. وفي عام 2012، حثت اللجنة الوطنية للمتاحف والآثار في نيجيريا على إعادة 32 قطعة أثرية من “برونز بنين” تم نهبها خلال مذبحة بنين في عام 1897، وهي موجودة الآن في متحف الفنون الجميلة في بوسطن. المتحف البريطاني يمتلك أيضا العديد من “برونز بنين”. في عام 2018، طالب حاكم جزيرة “إيستر آيلاند” المتحف البريطاني بإعادة تمثال سُرق في عام 1869.

وكان المتحف البريطاني مؤخراً تعرض لانتقادات بسبب “دعمه التمثيلي والمزيف” لحركة Black Lives Matter بعد إصدار بيان تضامني معها.

وجاء في أحد التعليقات “المتحف البريطاني ممثل للاستعمار، فهو يحتوي على الآثار المسروقة. إنه رمز للقوة والتحكم والتوجه الأوروبي.”

في كتابه الذي صدر عام 2018  Who Owns History? Elgin’s Loot and the Case for Returning Plundered Treasure كتب جيفري روبرتسون، محامي حقوق الإنسان أن “أمناء المتحف البريطاني أصبحوا أكبر مالكين للتحف المسروقة في العالم، وأن الغالبية العظمى من ثروتهم ليست معروضة للجمهور حتى”.

كما انتقد المتاحف في جميع أنحاء العالم، وخاصة “المتاحف الموسوعية”، التي تحتجز الإرث الثمين للدول الأخرى بعد أن سُرقت من شعوبها بسبب الحروب العدوانية والاستعمارية.

كما تم تسليط الضوء بشكلٍ أكبر على كلمات روبرتسون بعد البيان الذي أصدره المتحف البريطاني. إذ كتب أستاذ علم الآثار المعاصر في جامعة أكسفورد، دان هيكس، رداً على ذلك: “هذه ادعاءات جوفاء، إذ يواصل المتحف البريطاني رفض طلبات استرداد برونز بنين- الذي سُرق في عام 1897 في هجوم عسكري قتل فيه عشرات الآلاف من النيجيريين، وعرض ذلك الكنز المسروق منذ ذلك الحين كنصب تذكاري لهذا “النصر”.

شارك هذا المقال

Artists Are Calling For Museums to Return Stolen African Artifacts

It’s about time…

by

According to UNESCO experts, 90 per cent of Africa’s cultural property was looted and is now located overseas. You’ll find most in European and American museums—among the biggest culprits: the British Museum and the V&A in London as well as the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, and in Washington DC’s National Museum of African Art.

Items can also be found in smaller institutions like the Spiritan Museum of African Arts in the relatively small region of Drome in south-eastern France. African art’s prevalence in the West is irrefutably immense, and the institutions where they sit rarely recount the violent forms through which African art was acquired—making the case for their return. 

With the Black Lives Matter movement garnering incredible momentum over the last few weeks, leading to the removal of statues of confederate soldiers in America (like Robert E Lee in Virginia, and that of a slave trader in Bristol), artists and activists are now calling for the return of African artefacts by European and American institutions—all in the name of dismantling white supremacy and historic white-washing. 

“Let’s take the energy from Bristol to the @britishmuseum and the @vamuseum . Reparations are due. And until they are returned, they must change the labels and descriptive texts to truthfully describe the violent force of whiteness by which these objects were stolen. Image caption: decapitate white culture,” wrote Turner-Prize winning Lebanese artist Lawrence Abu Hamdan in an Instagram post. 

@venetia_porter and @racheldedman and anyone who works in such institutions! It is vital that you work towards changing the narrative and texts so that you educate rather than obfuscate the history of white supremacy you display. Diversity is not enough; it is the history of white culture that first needs to be accurately explained,” he continued. 

Demands of the return of African art are anything but new, In 2009, Egypt’s Supreme Council of Antiquities demanded that the Louvre return four archaeological relics stolen in the 1980s from the tomb of Tetaki in Luxor. In 2012, Nigeria’s National Commission for Museums and Monuments urged the return of 32 ‘Benin Bronzes’ artefacts that were looted during the Benin massacre in 1897, to be returned by the Museum of Fine Art in Boston. The British Museum is also home to numerous Benin Bronzes. In 2018, the governor of Easter Island, Tarita Alarcon Rapu demanded that the British Museum return a statue that was stolen in 1869. 

The British Museum recently came under fire for performative activism after releasing a statement in solidarity with the Black Lives Matter Movement. 

The British Museum IS colonialism. It IS made up of plundered objects. It is a shrine to power, control and Eurocentric curation,” wrote one user.  

In his 2018 book  Who Owns History? Elgin’s Loot and the Case for Returning Plundered Treasure, human rights lawyer Geoffrey Robertson wrote that “the trustees of the British Museum have become the world’s largest receivers of stolen property, and the great majority of their loot is not even on public display.”

He criticized museums all across the globe, particularly ‘encyclopaedic museums’, “that lock up the precious legacy of other lands, stolen from their people by wars of aggression, theft and duplicity.”

Robertson’s words were amplified further upon the British Museum’s statement. Oxford Professor of Contemporary Archaeology, Dan Hicks, wrote in response:These are hollow claims while the British Museum continues to deny requests for the permanent restitution of the Benin Bronzes—taken in 1897 in a military attack in which tens of thousands of Nigerian people were killed, and exhibited ever since as a monument to that “victory”.

Share this article