شراكة بين Netflix والصندوق العربي لدعم صانعات الأفلام بمنحة قدرها 250 ألف دولار

لدعم صناعة الأفلام بالاتجاه الصحيح

by

في شراكةٍ جديدة، تتعاون شركة Netflix الأمريكية للبث المباشر مع الصندوق العربي للفنون والثقافة (آفاق) الذي يتخذ من لبنان مقراً له وذلك لدعم صانعات الأفلام من المنطقة، حيث سيقدم الاثنان معاً منحة لمرة واحدة من خلال صندوق Netflix لدعم المواهب الإبداعية والذي تم إنشاؤه العام الماضي لتعزيز الفرص المتاحة أمام المواهب الموجودة في المجتمعات الأقل تمثيلاً على الشاشة وإيصال أصواتهم للعالمية إضافة لسدّ الفجوة فيما يتعلّق بالمهارات والخبرات المكتسبة من خلال تقديم برامج التدريب المطلوبة للارتقاء بهذا المجال أكثر فأكثر.

 

تم إطلاق هذه المبادرة العالمية في أوائل عام 2021 وها هي الآن في جولتها الثانية حيث ستسعى الشراكة هذا العام لتسليط الضوء على المرأة العربية ودعم المخرجات والمنتجات مادّياً من خلال منحة بقيمة 250 ألف دولار وذلك بهدف إحياء مشاريعهن السينمائية.

وعن هذا التعاون تقول نهى الطيب رئيسة الاستحواذ وترخيص المحتوى في الشرق الأوسط وتركيا في Netflix: “التاريخ العربي حافل بالمبدعات اللواتي عملن في مجال الترفيه، ونحن فخورون بالنجاحات والإنجازات الأولى من نوعها التي حققتها المبدعات في المنطقة.”

وواصلت: “إنّ منح مزيد من الناس الفرصة لرؤية قصصٍ من حياتهم مجسّدة على الشاشات يتطلّب وجود المزيد من النساء أمام وخلف الكاميرات، ويساعد صندوق Netflix لدعم المواهب الإبداعيّة القطّاع بأكمله على تحسين تمثيل المرأة في مختلف الجوانب وبطريقة أكثر حيويّة وإثارة للاهتمام، وهذه مجرّد خطوة واحدة في طريق تمكين مزيد من النساء من سرد قصصهن وعرض أعمالهن أمام جمهور جديد.”

تضمّ القائمة مجموعة مبدعات تمّ اختيارهن بعناية من تونس ولبنان والمغرب وهن: أسماء المدير من المغرب لفيلمها الوثائقي “The Mother Of All Lies” ومن لبنان كل من ديالا قشمر لفيلم “From the Other Shore” وجنى وهبي لفيلم “The Day Vladimir Died” وتانيا خوري لفيلم “Manity” وأخيراً سارة عبيدي من تونس لفيلمها “My Name Is Clara”.

أخيراً نحن نحيّي ونثني على هذه الخطوة الأخيرة التي قامت بها كل من Netflix وAFAC والتي تهدف لمعالجة قضايا المساواة في الفرص بين الجنسين التي ما تزال متواجدة في صناعة السينما ولها منّا كل التقدير والثناء.

شارك هذا المقال

Netflix and Arab Fund Are Supporting Female Filmmakers with a $250.000 Grant

Pushing the industry into the right direction

by

American streaming giant Netflix is teaming up with the Lebanese-based Arab Fund for Arts and Culture (AFAC) to support women filmmakers from the region. The two entities will provide a one-time grant through Netflix’s Fund for Creative Equity, which was established last year, to amplify the voices of underrepresented communities in the entertainment industry while aiming to close skill gaps with training programs where they are needed. 

Launched in early 2021, the global initiative is now in its second round. This year, the partnership will seek to put the spotlight on Arab women as the investment will provide directors and producers with the financial means, via a one-off $250.000 grant, to bring their fiction and non-fiction projects to life. 

“The Arab world has a long-standing history of women in entertainment, and we’ve had incredible successes and firsts from the region that we’re all very proud of,” says Nuha El Tayeb, Director of Content Acquisitions, Middle East, and Turkey at Netflix. 

“But in order to give more people a chance to see their lives reflected on screen, we need more women behind and in front of the camera. The Fund for Creative Equity helps the industry as a whole to have a much more dynamic, interesting, multidimensional representation of women and this is one step in the journey to enabling more women to tell their stories and have new audiences discover their work”, she continued. 

The cohort of hand-picked creatives hail from Tunisia, Lebanon, and Morocco. 5 projects have been selected, which include Asmae El Moudir from Morocco, with the documentary The Mother of All Lies, Diala Kachmar, Jana Wehbe and Tania Khoury, from Lebanon with the film From the Other Shore, The Day Vladimir Died and Manity as well as Sarra Abidi from Tunisia with My Name Is Clara. 

Finally addressing the gender issues that prevail and still persist within the silver-screen industry, Netflix and AFAC’s latest philanthropic move is one to celebrate. 

Image:  from ‘The Mother of All Lies’ by Asmae El Moudir

Share this article