المواعدة على الإنترنت في زمن الكورونا: حجز منزلي وموعد عاطفي؟

5 شبابٍ عرب يتحدثون عن هذا "الواقع الجديد"

by

يعاني جيل الألفية من العثور على رابطٍ رومانسي حقيقي حتى في أفضل الأوقات. والآن، أصبح الأمر أكثر صعوبةً مع سياسة الحجر المنزلي والرغبة الإجبارية في الحديث عن تلك الجائحة بشكلٍ مستمر. 

سواء كنتم تعزلون أنفسكم لوحدكم أو كنتم في علاقةٍ، لا بد أن الحجر المنزلي قد ذهب بكم إلى أقصى طاقتكم وأثر بشكلٍ كبيرٍ على علاقتكم. 

بالنسبة للأشخاص العازبين، أصبحت تطبيقات المواعدة الخيار العاطفي (والصحي) الأنسب والأكثر أماناً في فترة الحجر الصحي. 

المواعدة على الإنترنت ليست أمراً جديداً، ولكن الجديد هو عودة فن الإغراء والغزل والرومانسية. 

البعض يبحث عن التسلية والإلهاء على تلك التطبيقات، في حين يبحث البعض الآخر عن تواصلٍ حقيقي وعميق مع الطرف الآخر رغم التحديات الراهنة.

حسب شركة .Match Group Inc التي تمتلك عدداً من تطبيقات المواعدة مثل Tinder و Hinge، هناك زيادة في طول المحادثات التي يتبادلها المستخدمون بنسبة 10 إلى 30% منذ بداية الجائحة. وفي يوم 29 مارس، كان عدد “المسحات” على تيندر أكثر من 3 مليار سحة، وهو أعلى رقم في تاريخ التطبيق. وهذا يطرح التساؤل التالي: هل ما زال العثور على الحب في خضم جائحة عالمية أمراً ممكناً؟ هل يمكن أن يأتي الحب إلينا حتى لو كنا محتجزين في المنزل؟

سألنا بعض العازبين العرب عن رأيهم في الموضوع وهذا ما قالوه.

أمين، 26، مغربي / أميركي
“استخدمت تطبيقات المواعدة في بداية الحجر الصحي ولكنني لا أستخدمها الآن لأنني بكل بساطة مللت من قراءة النكت المكررة في تلك الحسابات عن ورق التواليت وغسل اليدين بشكلٍ مفرط! كما أن كل المحادثات التي كنت أجريها كانت عن الكورونا والحجر المنزلي. أعرف أن هذا الموضوع بشغل بال الجميع، ولكن سيكون من الأفضل أن نُلهي بعضنا عن هذا الموضوع بدلاً من الاستمرار في الحديث عنه.”

سارة، 29، فرنسية / مغربية
“استمتعت باستخدام تطبيقات المواعدة في تلك الفترة ولاحظت أن الشباب يبذلون جهداً أكبر للتعرف إلي ويبتكرون طرقاً مميزة لفعل ذلك. إن عدم وجود ضغط لمقابلة الطرف الآخر بسرعة جعل المواعدة أكثر متعةً وطبيعية لأن ذلك الجزء هو ما يسبب لي القلق في كل هذه التجربة.”

بدر، 30، جزائري
“بدأت باستخدام تطبيق Bumble بعد أيامٍ من بدء الحجر المنزلي، فأنا أعيش في باريس والعزلة هنا صارمة. لم أتوقع أي شيءٍ جدّي من هذه التجربة ولكنني بدأت الحديث مع فتاةٍ أعجبتني كثيراً وقد أقمنا عدداً من المواعيد الافتراضية في الشهر الماضي. اشتريت بطاقتين لنا لحضور عرض تانغو على الإنترنت، وغالباً ما نشاهد الأفلام على الإنترنت معاً. من الرائع وجود شخص أتشوق للتعرف عليه في الواقع بعد انتهاء الحظر.”

سناء، 25، مصرية
“لم أستخدم تطبيقات المواعدة كثيراً لأنني أعرف أنني لن أتمكن من مقابلة أي أحدٍ منها، لكن من الجميل معرفة أنه هناك أشخاص يريدون التحدث معك والتعرف إليك بشكلٍ أقرب من خلال محادثةٍ صادقة. ولكن لا أحد يعرف متى سينتهي هذا الوضع لذلك من الصعب رسم خطط معينة. جرّبت موعداً على Zoom وكانت التجربة ممتعة رغم أنه لا يمكن مقارتنها بموعدٍ حقيقي. ولكنها كانت إيجابية لأنه لديك وقت لتفكر بما ستقوله وستشاركه. هذه التجربة تزيل كل ما هو مزيف أو غير حقيقي عن الشخص وتمنحنا جرعة جيدة من الثقة لأنه ليس هناك ما نخسره. فربما لن نرى هذا الشخص مجدداً إذا لم يعجبنا. وهذا هو برأي الأمر الطبيعي الجديد.”

ريم، 28، لبنانية
“هناك زرّ “إيقاف مؤقت” على تطبيق Hinge وقد كبسته في اللحظة التي بدأ فيها الحجر. لم أجد حظاً كبيراً مع تلك التطبيقات في الأساس وأعتبرها مثيرة للكآبة. ولكن الكثيرون يقولون أن هذا هو الوقت الأفضل للمواعدة لأنه يتيح لنا أخذ الأمور بتروٍّ ويزيل عنّا ضغط المقابلة السريعة للشخص الذي نتكلم معه. ولكن بالنسبة لي، كانت مكالمات Zoom الأقل حميمية على الإطلاق! الأمر الإيجابي حيال الوضع الحالي هو أنه يكشف لك عما تريده تماماً من العلاقة العاطفية. لا أريد أن تتحدد بداية علاقتي العاطفية بما يجري الآن وأن تتأثر بهذا التبادل غير الجسدي.”

ليس واضحاً بعد كيف سيكون تأثير المواعدة الافتراضية على العلاقات العاطفية، قد يكون سلبياً أو إيجابياً. بعض الناس سيكون لهم تجارب ظريفة عن “كيف التقيا دون أن يلتقيا”، وربما سيرى البعض الآخر أن الأشخاص الذين التقوا بهم على مواقع المواعدة أخذوا وقتاً للتحدث إليهم والتعرف إليهم عن كثب فقط لأن لديهم ما يكفي من الوقت، بل والكثير منه! وحده الوقت كفيل بالإجابة عن هذه التساؤلات!

شارك هذا المقال

Online Dating During Coronavirus: Quarantine and Chill?

Five young Arabs open up about their “new normal”

by

As a millennial, romance is difficult at the best of times. Now throw in a government mandated lockdown, a resounding fear of touch, a compulsion to constantly talk about disease – you get the gist. It’s hardly an aphrodisiac. 

Whether you’re isolating alone, or you’re in a relationship and are being pushed together by quarantine, dating as we know it is changing. 

For single people in lockdown, dating apps are emotionally—and hygienically—the safest way to go. Our essentials have shifted: bread and Bumble are the new normal. 

Digital dating is nothing new, but the long lost art of longing and seduction are making a major comeback. 

Some people might be looking for distraction and entertainment, others are taking the time to really get to know each other despite the current challenges. 

According to Match Group Inc. (the company that owns various dating platforms including Tinder and Hinge) there seems to be an increase in the length of conversations among users by 10 to 30 per cent since the beginning of the effects of the pandemic. By March 29, the number of swipes on Tinder (over 3 billion) was greater than any other day in the history of the app. Which begs the question: is finding love during lockdown still possible? Can you find true love while being stuck at home? 

We asked a few singles to give us some insight as to whether we should hold off until further notice, or maintain some hope. 

Amine, 26, Moroccan/American
“I was still using dating apps during the beginning of quarantine but I don’t use them anymore because I’m honestly tired of reading badly written profiles with jokes about toilet paper and compulsive handwashing. I also feel like all the conversations I’m having are about corona and the quarantine. I know it’s on everyone’s mind but it would be nice to distract each other rather than continue to spread panic.”

Sarah, 29, French/Moroccan
“I’ve actually really enjoyed using dating apps and I’ve had guys make more effort than usual in getting to know me and being creative in the process. Knowing that there is no pressure to make plans to meet up, at least not for the time being, has been really helpful for me as that part usually always gives me anxiety.”

Badr, 30, Algerian
“I went on Bumble a few days after the isolation started. I live in Paris and the confinement is pretty strict. I got on the app not expecting anything serious or more than just distraction but I ended up speaking to someone who I really liked and we have been going on virtual dates for the past month. I bought tickets for us to see an online tango concert together and we often have movie nights together. It’s actually really nice to know that there is someone I really look forward to meeting them once this confinement is over.”

Sana, 25, Egyptian
“I haven’t really been using a dating app as much given that I can’t and won’t be meeting anyone in person. When I do use it every once in a blue moon, it’s nice to know that the people on there want to get to know other people or make genuine conversations. Also no one knows when this will be over so it’s not like you can make plans. I think people are putting in more time to actually get to know the other person. I’ve gone on one virtual Zoom date, which was actually kind of fun. Obviously, it’s nothing like being in person but again, I think it’s a positive thing because you put in the time as well with what you have to say and what you’re willing to share about yourself. I think in person, people get shy or can portray a version of themselves that’s not genuine, but this kind of removes the fakeness out of it. I guess it’s a nice confidence boost in a way because you have nothing to lose, you might never see this other person if you don’t like them, you don’t like them. I guess this is the new normal.” 

Reem, 28, Lebanese
“There’s a pause button on Hinge and I pressed it the moment I started quarantining. I haven’t had much success with dating apps so to me they are pretty depressing to begin with. A lot of people are saying that this is the best time to date. You can chat and really get to know someone, go on online dates, and take it slow without the pressure of having to meet them in person. But to me, Zoom calls are the least intimate type of communication I’ve experienced. The positive thing about right now is that it brings out what you really want from a relationship. I don’t want the beginning of my relationship to be shaped by this affected way that non-physical interaction has on people.” 

Whether digital dating during isolation will have a positive or negative effect on romantic relationships is still up in the air. Some couples will have adorable “how we met but didn’t meet” stories while others might realise that the people they met on dating apps took the time to get to know them, simply because they were house-bound. Time will tell.

Share this article