فلسطين تحتفي ببانكسي في معرض جديد

"شكراً بانكسي" هو تكريم للفنان البريطاني المشهور

by

من العديد من اللوحات الجدارية في غزة إلى فندقه وولد أوف ” Walled Off Hotel” (وهو عبارة عن فندق ومتحف ومعرض يقع في الضفة الغربية في بيت لحم)، حيث تم الاحتفاء بالفنان البريطاني بانكسي الذي لطالما سلط الضوء على المعاناة التي يعيشها الفلسطينيون منذ أكثر من عقد. في الشهر الماضي باع الفنان في المزاد العلني ثلاث لوحات بعنوان Mediterranean Sea View 2017 وقد تبرع بكامل عائدات المزاد والبالغة 2.9 مليون دولار إلى مستشفى فلسطيني.

الأمر الذي دفع المرشد السياحي الفلسطيني المقيم في بيت لحم يامن العبد إلى تكريم عمل بانكسي الداعم لفلسطين. يعرض المعرض الذي يحمل عنوان “شكراً بانكسي” 20 قطعة من أعمال بانكسي الفنية في ساحة المهد وسط المدينة.

وفي رسالة بالفيديو موجهة إلى بانكسي تم تحميلها في 18 أغسطس، أكد منسّق الفعالية العبد “دائماً ما يفاجئنا بانكسي واليوم أريد أن أفاجئه وأعرّف الناس على أعماله الفنية” ثم أضاف “أريد فقط أن تصل رسالة الشكر إلى بانكسي، فقد ساعد اقتصادنا من خلال السياحة البديلة”.

في ديسمبر الماضي، أثار بانكسي ضجة كبيرة عندما عرض في فندقه “وولد أوف” مشهداً يحاكي ميلاد المسيح، يعرض هذا العمل الفني الذي أطلق عليه اسم “ندبة بيت لحم” مشهد ميلاد المسيح ويسلط الضوء على الاحتلال الإسرائيلي القمعي.

في الوقت الذي تعاني فيه فلسطين من جائحة كورونا وغارات جوية إسرائيلية، تضررت السياحة في بيت لحم بشكل كبير. على الرغم من أن البعض قد ينتقد عمل بانكسي في فلسطين وينعته بأنه “سياحة قمعية”، إلا أن السكان المحليين اتفقوا على أن هذا التكريم تعبير عن الامتنان لهذا الفنان. لقد زار حوالي 300 شخص المعرض في الهواء الطلق منذ افتتاحه في 12 أغسطس، مما يؤكد بأن بانكسي منح الفلسطينيين شعوراً بالفخر والتفاؤل.

شارك هذا المقال

Palestine Celebrates Banksy in New Exhibition

“Thank You Banksy” is Bethlehem’s tribute to the cult British artist

by

From several murals in Gaza, to his ‘Walled Off Hotel’ (a hotel-meets-museum-and-gallery located in the West Bank in Bethlehem) cult British artist Banksy has been praised for raising attention on the plight of Palestinians for more than a decade. Last month, he auctioned three paintings entitled Mediterranean Sea View 2017, donating the entirety of the $2.9 million sale to a Palestinian hospital.

And this is why Bethlehem-based Palestinian tour guide Yamen Elabed felt like it was time to pay homage to Banksy’s work in support of Palestine. Aptly titled Thank you Banksy, the pop-up exhibition displays 20 pieces of Banksy’s artwork in the city’s Manager Square.

“Banksy always surprises us and today I want to surprise him and educate people about his artwork”, confirmed event coordinator Elabed in a video message uploaded on August 18. “I just want the message of thanks to reach Banksy, he has helped our economy with ‘alternative’ tourism”, he adds.

Last December, Bansky created buzz with his nativity scene, residing in his “Walled Off Hotel”. Dubbed Scar of Bethlehem, his dystopian take on the nativity scene shed light on Israel’s oppressive occupation. 

At a time when Palestine is suffering from both a pandemic and Israeli airstrikes, tourism in Bethlehem has been hit hard. Although some may criticize Banksy’s work in Palestine, castigating it as “oppression tourism”, residents have come together in a mission to give back. Around 300 people have already visited the open-air exhibition since it opened on August 12, cementing that Banksy has given Palestinians a sense of pride and optimism.

Share this article