تكرم هذه الفنانة تاريخ السينما الفلسطينية الثوري

الفنانة عزة الحسن تستعيد تاريخها

by

 أمضت الفنانة عزة الحسن عقدين من الزمن وهي تعمل على إحياء الأفلام الفلسطينية المفقودة التي دمرتها إسرائيل.

فبالنسبة للعديد من الفلسطينيين، كان التمسك بتاريخهم صعباً للغاية في ظل الاحتلال، وهذا هو سبب سعي الحسن الحثيث والدائم للحفاظ على التراث البصري لفلسطين.

وأوضحت الحسن في مقابلة لها خلال مهرجان فلسطين السينمائي في بوسطن أن “إسرائيل تدمر وتنهب الأرشيف الفلسطيني منذ الثلاثينات”. وقد عملت الحسن على صقل بحثها بعنوان “The Void Project” وتطويره خلال السنوات الأخيرة. بينما تركّز الآن على الأفلام التي تخرجها النساء الفلسطينيات.

وتشرح الحسن قائلة “لقد صادرت مكتبة تل أبيب عشرات الآلاف من الكتب الفلسطينية خلال النكبة، كما يحتجز الأرشيف العسكري الإسرائيلي أفلام منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية – وهي حقيقةٌ تجعلكم تشعرون بأنكم منتهكون، فالإسرائيليون لم يحتلوا بيوتنا وأراضينا فحسب؛ بل استولوا أيضاً على صورنا وأفلامنا وروايات حياتنا وتراثنا”.

تشمل بعض الأفلام التي قامت بإخراجها مخرجات إناث: فيلم “بوابة الفوقا” عام 1991 للمخرجة عرب لطفي، والذي يركز بشكل كبير على مدينة صيدا مسقط رأس المخرجة، بطريقةٍ تمنح المشاهدين فكرة عن تاريخ هذه المدينة من خلال قصص سكانها.

A still from the movie THE UPPER GATE (BAWABAT ALFAWQA)ثم هناك فيلم المخرجة ليالي بدر الوثائقي عام 1983 بعنوان “الطريق إلى فلسطين”، والذي يروي قصة فتاة تبلغ من العمر سبع سنوات تدعى ليلى تعيش هي وأصدقاؤها في مخيم للاجئين خارج فلسطين. وتقوم هي وهؤلاء الأصدقاء بوصف منازلهم على الرغم من أنهم لم يروها أبداً.

A still from the movie The Road To Palestineكما تطرقت الحسن إلى جانب تركيزها على النساء الفلسطينيات، إلى تاريخ فلسطين. حتى أنها أعادت إحياء الأفلام التي يعود تاريخها إلى فترة الستينات.

ومن هذه الأفلام نذكر فيلم “القدس، زهرة المدائن” عام 1969 من إخراج علي صيام وإنتاج وزارة الثقافة الأردنية. وفيلم “فلسطين في العين” عام 1977 من إخراج مصطفى أبو علي وإنتاج معهد السينما الفلسطيني.

A still from the movie JERUSALEM, FLOWER OF ALL CITIESإن الحسن لا تنقذ هذه الأفلام فحسب، بل يتجسد أملها في عرض تاريخ فلسطين المفقود لجمهور أكبر. وقد قام عملها بنقل هذه الأفلام الفلسطينية المفقودة منذ فترة طويلة إلى لندن وكلية الحقوق بجامعة هارفارد، حيث قدمت تاريخ هذا البلد الطويل المنسي إلى العالم.

شارك هذا المقال

The Artist Honouring the Revolutionary Years of Palestinian Cinema

Azza El Hassan is reclaiming her history

by

Azza El-Hassan has spent two decades retrieving lost Palestinian films which were destroyed by the Israeli state.

For many Palestinians, holding on to their history has been incredibly difficult under the occupation, and this is why El Hassan is relentless in her mission to preserve Palestine’s visual heritage

“Israel has been destroying and looting Palestinian archives since the 1930s,” El Hassan explained in an interview during Boston’s Palestine Film Festival. Entitled ‘The Void Project’, Hassan’s quest has  refined over recent years. Her focus is now centred on films made by Palestinian women.

“The Tel-Aviv Library confiscated tens of thousands of Palestinian books during the Nakba, and the Israeli military archive holds PLO films—a fact that makes you feel violated.” Hassan explained. “The Israelis not only seized our homes and lands; they also seized our photos, films, and our narrative about our lives and our heritage.”

Some of the female-directed movies finally getting air time include: The Upper Gate, or ‘Bawabat Alfawqa’ in Arabic, directed by Arab Loutfi in 1991. The film puts a firm focus on the director’s hometown, Sidon, giving viewers a rundown of its history through the stories of the town’s residents.

A still from the movie THE UPPER GATE (BAWABAT ALFAWQA)Then there is Layali Bader’s 1983 documentary short ‘The Road to Palestine’, which tells the story of a seven-year-old girl, named Layla. The young girl and her friends live in a refugee camp outside of Palestine. In the film, she and her friends describe their home despite never having seen it.

A still from the movie The Road To PalestineBeyond her focus on Palestinian women, Hassan has delved deeper into the history of Palestine. She has even restored films that date back to the 1960s.

One film, ‘Jerusalem, Flower of All Cities’, directed by Ali Siam, and produced by the Jordanian Minstry of Culture, dates back to 1969. Another, ‘Palestine in the Eye’, directed by Mustafa Abu Ali and produced by the Palestinian Film Institute, was released in 1977.

A still from the movie JERUSALEM, FLOWER OF ALL CITIESNot only does Hassan restore the films, but her hope is to showcase Palestine’s lost history to a larger audience. Her work has taken her long lost Palestinian films to London and the Harvard Law School, introducing the world to the country’s long forgotten history.

Share this article