مشاركة عارضة أزياء ممتلئة في عرض أزياء Chanel لأول مرة منذ 10 سنوات

خطوة هامة نحو الشمولية والنظرة الإيجابية عن الجسد

by

بعد عودتها إلى مقرها في Grand Palais، اتخذت علامة Chanel خطوة غير متوقعة. إذ اتفقت دار الأزياء الفرنسية، التي بدأت بتبني فكرة النظرة الإيجابية للجسد، مع عارضة الأزياء الممتلئة الشهيرة جيل كورتليف للمشاركة في عرض أزيائها لموسم خريف/شتاء 2020.

وتُعتبر مشاركة تلك العارضة الهولندية التي ظهرت لأول مرة في عرض Alexander McQueen لموسم ربيع/صيف 19، بمثابة لحظة تاريخية لعلامة Chanel. إذ أن زيادة الوعي بشأن اختلاف الأحجام لم تكن جزءاً من سياسة الدار، على الرغم من اختيارها لعددٍ أكبر من العارضات ذوات البشرة الملونة مؤخراً.

Jill Kortleve Chanel AW/20وقد كان اختيار الدار لكوتليف التي ظهرت بإطلالةٍ مكونة من سترة سوداء مخططة ومزينة بأزرارٍ من اللؤلؤ مع سروال أسود، اختياراً موفقاً. إضافةً لتعاونها مع Alexander McQueen، فقد شاركت العارضة أيضاً في حملة ريهانا Fenty Beauty، التي تعتبر النظرة الإيجابية للجسد من أهم أهدافها.

كانت العارضة كريستال رين آخر العارضات الممتلئات اللواتي شاركن في عروض أزياءChanel  في عام 2011. وعلى غرار كورتليف، تحدثت رين وبصراحة عن استبعاد صناعة الأزياء للعارضات ذوات المقاسات الكبيرة بعد أن أصبحت واحدة منهن، بل وتحدثت علناً عن معركتها مع اضطرابات الأكل في محاولة منها لزيادة الوعي حول الآثار السلبية لتهميشهن.

Crystal Renn Chanel Cruise 2011ولكن الأمر استغرق 10 سنوات لعلامة Chanel لاتخاذ هذه الخطوة مرة أخرى. والخبر السار هو أنها ليست وحدها، إذ تصدرت عارضة الأزياء بالوما إلسير عناوين الصحف بعد مشاركتها بعرض أزياء Fendi هذا الموسم، يليه عروض أزياء كل من Lanvin و Alexander McQueen.

Paloma Elsesser for Alexander McQueen

شارك هذا المقال

A Plus-Sized Model Walked for Chanel for the First Time in 10 Years

A major step towards body-positivity

by

Back in their home at the Grand Palais, Chanel just made an unexpected move. The French fashion house, which has made few strides towards body-positivity, included plus-sized model Jill Kortleve for their AW/20 show. 

The Dutch model, who made her debut at Alexander McQueen’s SS19 show, marked a historic moment for Chanel. The fashion house hasn’t made size-awareness part of its diversification mission, although it has taken steps towards casting more models of colour. 

Jill Kortleve Chanel AW/20Kortleve, who sported a look comprised of a black striped jacket adorned with pearl buttons and black trousers, is a favourable pick by the house. Aside from her high-fashion debut with Alexander McQueen, the model previously starred in Rihanna’s Fenty Beauty campaign, with body-positivity as an overarching mission for her. 

Crystal Renn was the last plus-size model to walk for Chanel, in 2011. Like Kortleve, Renn was outspoken about the fashion industry’s exclusion of plus-size models after becoming one—and even spoke out publicly about her battle with an eating disorder in a bid to raise awareness about the negative effects of their marginalisation. 

Crystal Renn Chanel Cruise 2011
But it has taken 10 years for Chanel to take that stride again. But the good news is, they’re not alone. Model Paloma Elsesser made headlines after walking for Fendi this season, followed by another strut down the runway for Lanvin and Alexander McQueen. 

Paloma Elsesser for Alexander McQueen

Share this article