رامي يكتسب شهرة كبيرة بعد ترشيحه لثلاث جوائز من Emmy

سلسلة قناة Hulu تلقى رواجاً كبيراً

by

لا مجال للشك بأنّه لا يوجد مسلسل يلخص تجربة المسلم الأمريكي مثل مسلسل “رامي”، وها هو الآن يؤتي ثماره. لقد تم ترشيح هذه السلسلة التي عرضت على قناة Hulu المفضلة لثلاث جوائز مذهلة من Emmy.

الممثل المصري الأمريكي رامي يوسف هو السر الكامن خلف نجاح هذا المسلسل، وهو الآن يتنافس رسمياً على جائزة أفضل ممثل رئيسي وجائزة أفضل إخراج لمسلسل كوميدي. تعد هذه الترشيحات تاريخية بشكل مجازي وحرفي: “رامي” هو أول مسلسل أمريكي مسلم يحصل على ترشيح لجوائز Emmy على الإطلاق.

مع بدء الموسم الثاني الذي تم إطلاقه مؤخراً بمشاركة الممثل الحائز على جائزة الأوسكار ماهرشالا علي والذي يؤدي دور “شيخ رامي الحكيم”، يلقى المسلسل رواجاً كبيراً حيث أثبت كل من الممثلين يوسف وعلي أنهما القرينين المثاليين. كما تم ترشيح الممثل علي الحاصل على جائزة الأوسكار عن دوره في فيلم Moonlight لجائزة أفضل ممثل مساعد في مسلسل كوميدي.

على الرغم من الجدل الكبير الذي أحاط بالمسلسل خلال موسمه الأول، إلا أنّ الناخبين في لجنة تحكيم جائزة Emmy قد أغفلوه في عام 2019. ولكن الأهمية الثقافية لهذا المسلسل قد ازدادت بشكل أكبر في عام 2020 بعد فوز الممثل رامي بجائزة Golden Globe.

كتب رامي يوسف البالغ من العمر 29 عاماً على حسابه على الإنستاغرام باللغة العربية عبارة “الحمد لله” معلناً عن أخبار ترشيحاته. لم يقرر بعد إن كان سيفوز بالجوائز أم لا، لكن الترشيحات بحد ذاتها تعتبر فوزاً كبيراً لتمثيل المسلمين.

شارك هذا المقال

Ramy Makes History With Three Emmy Nominations

The hit Hulu series is paving the way

by

There’s no question about it, no show has encapsulated the Muslim-American experience like ‘Ramy’—and it’s paying off. The hit Hulu series has been nominated for a staggering three Emmy awards. 

The force behind the show, Egyptian-American actor Ramy Youssef, is officially competing for the Outstanding Lead Actor and Outstanding Directing in a comedy series awards. The nominations are both figuratively and literally historical: ‘Ramy’ is the first Muslim-American sitcom to ever secure an Emmy nomination. 

With the recently-released second season featuring Oscar-winning actor Mahershala Ali as Ramy’s sagacious sheikh, the show has been catapulted to new heights, with Ramy and Ali proving themselves to be the perfect pairing. Ali, who is already an Oscar-winner for his role in ‘Moonlight’, has also been nominated in the Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series category.

Despite being at the receiving hand of major critical acclaim its first season, the show was overlooked by Emmy voters in 2019. But the show’s cultural significance only grew further in 2020, after Ramy snagged a Golden Globe win. 

“Alhamdullilah” proclaimed 29-year-old Ramy Youssef on Instagram in Arabic to announce the news of his nominations. Whether or not he wins is undecided but the nominations are a major win for representation.

Share this article