5 مرّات استخدم مغنّو الراب كلمات عربيّة في أغنياتهم

دريك، أنت لست الوحيد

by

مع مشهد موسيقى الراب المزدهر من المغرب إلى فلسطين، تزخر المنطقة بمجموعة من مغنّي الراب العرب. ومع N1yah القائمة في دبي أو Malikah Lynn نجد بأنّ مغنّيات الراب العربيّات أيضاً يحظين بشهرة كبيرة.

خلال السنوات الماضية، انتقلت المصطلحات العربيّة من المنطقة إلى الولايات المتّحدة التي تعتبر موطن الهيب هوب الأمر الذي أدّى إلى ظهور نوع من الموسيقى يجمع بين أسلوب الحياة العربي والأمريكي، ونحن نحب ذلك.

في مطلع هذا الأسبوع أطلق “دريك” بالتعاون مع مغنّي الراب البريطاني Headie One أغنيته الجديدة Only You Freestyle التي أثارت ضجّة كبيرة على كل من التويتر والتيك توك والإنستاغرام بالإضافة إلى منصّات مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي التي يستخدمها جيل الألفيّة وجيل Z. أجل، لقد اختار أحد أشهر الفنّانين في العالم كتابة قسم كامل من أغنيته باللغة العربيّة.

View this post on Instagram

ONLY YOU FREESTYLE OUT NOW @headieone 🇬🇧!!!!!

A post shared by champagnepapi (@champagnepapi) on

ولكن قبل ذلك، أدرج العديد من مغنّي الراب والفنّانين بعض الكلمات العربيّة ضمن أغانيهم. في بادئ الأمر ظهر هوس “دريك” باللغة العربيّة في أغنيته Sweeter man Remix عام 2015 عندما قال “this is a blessing ما شاء الله والله”، ثم أعاد الكرّة مرّة ​​أخرى في عام 2018 عندما أطلق أغنية Diplomatic Immunity، حيث أدرج عبارة “إن شاء الله، I hope the message keeps getting’ clearer“.

لقد أدرج كل من الفنّانين A$AP Ferg و Nicki Minaj عبارات عربيّة في أغنيتهما Plain Jane REMIX التي لاقت نجاحاً كبيراً في عام 2017، حيث يقول Ferg: “ Ride with the mob الحمد لله” في حين يقول Nicki “Ride with Minaj ما شاء الله Check in with me, Then do your job“. ولم يلبث أن صرّح Ferg  بأنّه غير مسلم مع أنّ جدّه كان في الواقع مسلماً، وهو ببساطة يستخدم كلمات الأغاني كطريقة أخرى لقول أنّ “كل الثناء يذهب إلى الله”.

كما أنّ مغنّي الراب Jay-Z استخدم اللغة العربيّة في أغنيته “Blue’s Freestyle” عام 2017 عندما قال “بسم الله، all the gods ‘round me “، ثم أعاد الكرّة مرّة أخرى في أغنيته “Family Feud” عندما قال “ I told my wife, the spiritual shit really work، الحمد لله”.

بطبيعة الحال وكون هناك علاقة وثيقة بين عالم الراب والإسلام خاصّة في مدينة نيويورك، غالباً ما يمكننا العثور على كلمات عربيّة مدرجة في الأغاني بشكل خفيف، ولكن بالنسبة للشباب العرب المسلمين (الذين نشأوا في عالم يزداد عداؤه تجاه الإسلام) تعتبر هذه الإقرارات الصغيرة نوعاً من التمثيل الترحيبي الذي سيؤدّي بدوره إلى إثارة ضجة على تويتر.

شارك هذا المقال

5 Times Rappers Used Arabic Lyrics in Their Songs

Drake, you’re not alone

by

With a thriving rap scene from Morocco to Palestine, the region is brimming with Arab rappers. Whether it’s Dubai-based N1yah, or Malikah Lynn, female Arab rappers are also on the rise. 

And in recent years, the Arabic lexicon has travelled from the region over to the US – the home of hip-hop – causing a cross-pollination of Americanisms and Arabisms: and we love it. 

Earlier this week, when Drake dropped his new track ‘Only You Freestyle’ with UK drill artist Headie One, Twitter, TikTok, Instagram, and well, every single social media platform used by millennials and Gen Z went into full freakout mode. Yes, one of the world’s biggest artists chose to write an entire section of his track in Arabic

View this post on Instagram

ONLY YOU FREESTYLE OUT NOW @headieone 🇬🇧!!!!!

A post shared by champagnepapi (@champagnepapi) on

But prior to this, several rappers and artists have snuck in Arabic words into their songs. To start with, Drake’s obsession with Arabic became clear in his 2015 ‘Sweeterman Remix’, when he said “this is a blessing mashallah wallahi”, and once again in his 2018 hit ‘Diplomatic Immunity’, where he dropped the line “Inshallah, I hope the message keeps getting’ clearer”. 

Both A$AP Ferg and Nicki Minaj had lines in their 2017 hit track ‘Plain Jane REMIX’ that had Ferg say: “Ride with the mob, Alhamdulillah” and Nicki say “Ride with Minaj, Mm-Mahsallah, Check in with me, Then do your job”. Ferg was quick to state that although he personally doesn’t identify as Muslim, his grandfather was in fact Muslim, but he simply used the lyrics as another way of saying “all praises go to God”.

Even Jay-Z gave a nod to Arabic in his 2017 track ‘Blue’s Freestyle’ when he said “Bismillah, all the gods ‘round me”, and once again in ‘Family Feud’, where he said “I told my wife, the spiritual shit really work, Alhamdulillah”.

Naturally the rap world has long-been closely aligned to Islam—especially in NYC—so common phrases can often be found covertly snuck in to tracks, but for young Arab Muslims (who have grown up in a world that grows ever-hostile towards Islam) these small acknowledgements can offer a slither of welcome representation, in-turn causing a Twitter eruption.

Share this article