لقاء مع ريا أبي راشد، سفيرة النوايا الحسنة لدى المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين

كلما كبرت القوة، كبرت المسؤولية المرافقة لها

تُعتبر مقدمة البرامج التلفزيونية والصحفية اللبنانية الشهيرة ريا أبي راشد واحدة من أكثر الشخصيات تأثيراً في العالم العربي شأنها شأن العديد من الشخصيات المفضلة لدينا من المنطقة.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أنّ هذه المذيعة المولودة في بيروت تتمتع بخبرة كبيرة تعود لعقدين من الزمن في صناعة الترفيه، وقد تحدت خلال هذه الفترة معظم (حتى لا نقول كل) المعتقدات الاجتماعية السائدة في مجال عملها، ونجحت في بناء قاعدة جماهيرية وفية لها تخاطبها بجرأة وقوة كلما استدعت الحاجة لذلك. 

وعلى هذا الصعيد قالت ريا في لقاء مع MILLE “إن مجرد التمتع بشخصية عامة مميّزة تحظى بقاعدة جماهيرية واسعة تستمع إليك من خلال قنواتك أو منصاتك على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، يضع على عاتقك تلقائياً مسؤولية رد الجميل لها، وإلا سيكون عملك بلا جدوى”.

وغني عن القول بأنّها تدرك جيداً واجبها كشخصية شهيرة مرموقة، دخلت إلى كل منزل عربي تقريباً لتسلط الضوء على الأشخاص المهمشين، وقد تم تعيينها مؤخراً كسفيرة للنوايا الحسنة لدى المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، ومنذ ذلك الحين دعمت هذه المنتجة في قناة MBC المنظمات غير الحكومية على العديد من الجبهات، ناهيكم عن أنّها ستستضيف هذا العام جائزة نانسن للاجئين – وهو حدث مرموق يكرم الأفراد والمجموعات والمنظمات الذين يحاولون أقصى جهدهم لحماية اللاجئين.

وفي هذا الصدد، واستجابةً للدعوة العالمية لمزيد من الإدراك والوعي بقضايا اللاجئين في المنطقة وكذلك في جميع أنحاء العالم، التقينا مع ريا لتسليط الضوء على مهمتها الجديدة ومدى أهمية هذا الدور بالنسبة لها.

لماذا قبلت أن تأخذي على عاتقك هذه المهمة؟ ولماذا تعاونت مع المفوضية على وجه الخصوص؟

“لقد تطورت علاقتي بمفوضية الأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين على مر السنين، وأصبح من الواضح تماماً أننا نتشارك ذات الأهداف والمساعي والرؤى، كما أنّ هناك حاجة ملحة لمراقبة ما يجري في الشرق الأوسط، وهو المنطقة التي أنا سفيرة النوايا الحسنة لها، وبالرغم من أنّها مسؤولية كبيرة تثقل كاهلي، خاصة وأني لم أرغب يوماً بوجود مفوضية لشؤون اللاجئين أو أن أكون سفيرة للنوايا الحسنة، ولم أكن لأتمنى أبداً أن يكون هناك لاجئون، إلا أنّه كان تعاون جيد منذ البداية.

لقد نشأت في خضم الحرب وأدرك مدى صعوبة اختبار الناس لهذه التجربة، لكن عندما تقابل لاجئين، ستدرك أن الأمر أصعب مما قد تتخيّله، إنهم بحاجة إلى مساعدتنا، وعلينا تقديم المساعدة والدعم وأن نمنحهم الأمل، هذا بالضبط ما أتمنى أن أفعله ليس فقط لأنني سفيرة وإنّما لأنني شخص مهتم بقضايا الآخرين”.

ما الذي يعنيه لك أن تكوني سفيرة النوايا الحسنة للمفوضية؟

“أتمنى أن يكون لصوتي كسفيرة للنوايا الحسنة أثر في إحداث نوع من التغيير، حتى لو كان ذلك لمجرد رسم الابتسامة على وجوه من هم في أمس الحاجة إليها، بالرغم من أنّ هذا الأمر قد لا يكفي، إلا أنّه يعني الكثير. بالطبع أنا لست السفيرة الوحيدة التي تسعى لذلك، فهناك الكثير من الشخصيات العامة في الشرق الأوسط التي تتعاون بشكل فعال وملحوظ مع المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين – وهم أيضاً من كبار الداعمين لقضاياها. آمل أن نتمكن من خلال صورتنا العامة من إحداث أي نوع من التغيير الإيجابي الذي نتطلّع جميعاً لتحقيقه.

نحن بحاجة إلى الاستماع إلى الأشخاص الذين نسلط الضوء عليهم ومساعدتهم بالطرق الممكنة، والأمر لا يتعلق دائماً بالدعم المالي فقط، إذ يمكننا فعل ذلك من خلال التعليم أو المعلومات أو التواصل أو حتى الكلمة اللطيفة – يمكننا جميعاً أن نكون أشخاص محفزين على التغيير بطريقتنا الخاصة “.

اشتهرت كمضيفة لبرنامج Arabs Got Talent هل هناك صلة بين ذلك وبين حقيقة أنك ستقدمين جائزة نانسن للاجئين؟

“لطالما كنت داعمة للمواهب، فمن المهم جداً تسليط الضوء على المواهب لأنّك بذلك تمنح الناس مستقبلاً إيجابياً. يمكن أن يؤدي تحليل وتحديد نقاط قوتهم، بغض النظر عما يتقنون فعله لتوجيههم نحو جعل مستقبلهم أكثر ازدهاراً. من المهم للغاية أن يكبر شبابنا وهم يحققون طموحاتهم ويعبرون عن إبداعاتهم.

وغني عن القول بأنّ جائزة نانسن للاجئين هي جائزة مرموقة للغاية تُمنح كل عام منذ فترة طويلة حتى الآن، ولا تقتصر أهميتها على التعويض المالي فقط، فهي تمثل التضحية بالذات من أجل الآخرين، إنه عمل إيثاري يجسّد هدف الجائزة الأساسي. وبالطبع يتمتع الفائز هذا العام بهذه الروح، فهو شخص كرس حياته لمساعدة الآخرين، قد يبدو الأمر مبتذلاً للوهلة الأولى، ولكن إذا نظرت إلى ما فعله هؤلاء الأشخاص ستجد أنّهم حققوا أشياء لا تصدق وهم يستحقون كل جوائز العالم. أشعر بسعادة غامرة لأن جائزة نانسن ومفوضية الأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين يدركان ذلك”.

ماذا يمكن أن نتمنى لك في هذه المهمة الجديدة وللمبادرة ككل؟

“أفضل ما يمكن أن نتمناه لأيّ سفير للنوايا الحسنة هو أن نكون قادرين على القيام بأكبر قدر ممكن من الخير خلال فترة ولايتنا التي تبلغ مدتها عشر سنوات، وأن نكون صلة وصل بين الناس الذين يحتاجون إلى معرفة المزيد وبين العديد من اللاجئين الذين يحتاجون إلى مساعدتهم. أتمنى أن يكون لنا تأثير فعال ونكون قادرين على تحقيق تغيير ملموس ونتمكن من حل أزمة حقيقية لا تزال مستمرة منذ أكثر من ستة عقود “.

شارك(ي) هذا المقال

In Conversation with Raya Abirached, UNHCR’s Newest Goodwill Ambassador

With great power comes great responsibility

by

Like many of our favourite figures from the region, Lebanese TV presenter and celebrity journalist Raya Abi Rached can easily be labelled as one of the Arab World’s most influential personalities. 

With over two decades of experience in the entertainment industry under her belt, the Beirut-born broadcaster has challenged most (only to not say all) social conventions in her area of expertise and has gathered a loyal audience she never shies away from addressing whenever it is needed.

“If you have the privilege of being a public figure and have the privilege of people listening to you through your channels or social media, it comes automatically with the responsibility of giving back to those that don’t,” she tells MILLE. “Otherwise, it would just be a one-way road which is meaningless.” 

Well aware of her duty as a revered icon, the one who is aired in almost every Arab household has always cast a brighter light onto those who have been dimmed out of the spotlight. Recently appointed UNHCR’s Goodwill Ambassador, the MBC producer has since supported the NGO on many fronts and will also now act as host of this year’s Nansen Refugee Award – a prestigious event honouring individuals, groups and organisations who go above and beyond to protect refugees.

Answering the global call for further recognition and awareness for refugees in the region as well as around the world, we sat down with Raya to heighten the importance of her new mission while probing the significance of the role to her.

Why did you accept a mission that is so heavy in meaning?  Why UNHCR in particular? 

“Throughout the years, my relationship with the UNHCR developed. It became quite clear that we had common goals, common aims and a similar way of seeing things. There is also the obvious urgency of what is going on in the Middle East, which is the region I am a Goodwill ambassador for, so it was a good synergy from the start although it is a responsibility that I was not happy to take on as I wish there was never a need for the UNHCR or being a Goodwill ambassador to begin with. I wish there were no refugees no matter how utopian that may sound! 

I grew up in a war and I know from experience how difficult it is for people in life, but when you meet refugees you do realise that it is a level of difficulty that you can’t even imagine. They need our help. We want to help them. We want to give them hope so this is what I hope I can do. Not only because I’m an ambassador but also because I am a person who cares.”

What does it mean to be UNHCR’s goodwill ambassador to you?

“I really hope that through my voice as a Goodwill ambassador, things will change just a little bit. Even by just putting a smile on the faces of people in dire need. It’s not enough but it is something. I don’t consider myself the only ambassador, there are a lot of public figures in the Middle East that contribute extremely to the UNHCR – they’re also high profile supporters so it’s not only me. I hope that through our public image we will be able to make any kind of positive change. This is the only thing you can hope for. 

We need to listen to the people we put a light on and help them in the ways we can, which is not always financial. Through education, information, communication or even a nice word – we can all be catalysts for change in our own manner.”

You’re notably recognised for being Arabs Got Talent’s host. Is there a link between that and the fact that you will be presenting the Nansen Refugee Award?

“I always want to champion talent. The importance in highlighting talent is huge because this is where you give people a positive future. Analysing and identifying what their strengths are, whatever they’re good at, can orient them into making their future more prosperous. It is extremely important to have our youth grow up with the ambition of talent and to express it properly. 

The Nansen Refugee Award is an extremely prestigious award that has been awarded every year for so long now. And it is not only about the monetary compensation. It recognises what we call above and beyond, which means sacrificing your own personal will for others. It is an extremely selfless thing to do and this is what the award has always identified. The winner this year is definitely in that line. Someone who has dedicated their life to helping others. It might sound cliché but if you look into what those people have done, it is truly incredible and it deserves all the awards of the world. I am so glad that the Nansen Award and the UNHCR can recognise that.”

What can we wish you in this new role and for the initiative as a whole? 

“The best we can wish for anyone being a goodwill ambassador is to be able to do as much good as possible during our ten year mandate and be the great transition and stepping stone between the public, who need to know more, and the many refugees that need their help. I wish that we can have a true impact and change and solve a real crisis that has been going on for more than six decades.”

Share this article