مهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي الدولي يعلن عن إنشاء صندوق دعم جديد بقيمة 4 مليون دولار لدعم صناع الأفلام العرب

دعمٌ مالي جديد يَعِد بالمفاجآت

by

يشهد سوق الأفلام في العالم العربي نمواً وتطوراً ملحوظاً، بفضل جهود القائمين عليه. وفي هذا الصدد أطلق مهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي الدولي (الذي شهد دورته الأولى في عام 2019)، صندوقاً إضافياً بقيمة 4 ملايين دولار بدعم من الهيئة السعودية للأفلام لدعم إنتاج أفلام جديدة من جميع أنحاء المنطقة.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أنّ إنشاء صندوق البحر الأحمر الأول جاء بالتوازي مع موعد إقامة المهرجان في مطلع عام 2021، وهو يجسّد رغبة المنظمين في تسليط الضوء بشكل أكبر على العالم العربي وإنتاج 100 فيلم طويل بالإضافة إلى الأفلام القصيرة في محاولة لجذب المزيد من المخرجين العرب والأفارقة إلى المشهد.

وفي هذا الشأن تم الكشف خلال عطلة نهاية الأسبوع الماضي في مهرجان كان السينمائي بأنّ قيمة الدعم الذي يقدمه الصندوق الجديد قد وصل إلى 14 مليون دولار، في محاولة لتمكين مجموعة أكبر وأشمل من صانعي الأفلام، كما سيتولى الصندوق إعادة ترميم أعمال كلاسيكية من الإرث السينمائي من المنطقة.

سيشرف على كل قسم من المساعدات المالية الجديدة متخصصون في الصناعة بما في ذلك مديرة مهرجان منارات السينمائي في تونس درة بوشوشة، والمخرجة فيولا شفيق، بالإضافة إلى المنتجين لمياء الشرايبي وأمجد أبو العلا وأيمن جمال الذين سيتولون مهمة دعم الإنتاج ومنح التمويل التنموي لمشاريع مختارة محددة.

كما سيشرف جيانلوكا شقرا، مؤسس Front Row Filmed Entertainment على اللجنة التي تتولى اختيار الأفلام وتقديم الدعم لإنتاج المشاريع إلى جانب المنتج كريم أيتونا وفيصل بالطيور وأحمد شوقي وديانا ناصر فرنانديز وغيرهم الكثير.

في حين سيترأس المدير الفني لمهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي الدولي إدوارد وينتروب لجنة أخرى مكرسة لتمويل المشاريع قيد الإنجاز، وينضم إليه جورج ديفيد وحبيب عطية وشادي أبو وأحمد عبد الله.

من الواضح بأننا نشهد نوعاً من النهضة الواعدة والمبشرة، ونحن متشوقون لرؤية ما سيقدمه هذا الفريق الجديد، وكلنا أمل أن يعيد الألق للسينما العربية كما كانت في عصرها الذهبي العريق.

شارك هذا المقال

Red Sea Film Festival Establishes Another $4 Million Fund for Arab Filmmakers

This new financial injection promises to be full of surprises

by

The Arab World’s movie market is growing, and all actors involved are making sure it does sustainably. Launched in 2019, the Red Sea Festival has just established an additional $4 million fund in support with the Saudi Film Commission. The fund will go on to support the creation of new films from across the region.

Having established the Red Sea Fund in parallel of the film festival in early 2021, the organisers have mirrored the wish to steer the spotlight further over towards the Arab World as part of a global aim to produce 100 feature films as well as shorts mainly attempting to draw more Arab and African directors into the scene.

Now reaching $14 million, the new funding was announced over this past weekend at the Festival de Cannes and will aim to help empower a larger selection and variety of filmmakers whilst also restoring deteriorated silver-screen classics from the region.

Each section of the new financial aid will be supervised by industry professionals including Dora Bouchoucha, director of the Manarat Film Festival in Tunisia, Viola Shafik, filmmaker, as well as Lamia Chraibi, Amjad Abu Alala, and Ayman Jamal who will mostly be in charge of awarding development funding of specific selected projects.  

Gianluca Chakra, founder of Front Row Filmed Entertainment, will oversee the selection of films for production funding alongside producer Karim Aitouna, Faisal Baltuyoor, Ahmed Shawky and Nassar-Fernandez to name just a few.

Another committee dedicated to awarding post-production support will be presided by Edouard Waintrop, Artistic Director of the Red Sea International Film Festival, accompanied by Georges David, Habib Attia, Chadi Abo and Ahmed Abdalla.

Experiencing a somewhat of a rebirth and revival, we cannot wait to see what this new team will have to offer, only hoping that it will live through the same fame and vim as the Arab cinema’s past golden age.

Share this article