كلّ ما تحتاجون معرفته عن مهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي

هذا ما سيكون عليه مهرجان الفيلم الأوّل من نوعه في المملكة العربيّة السعوديّة

by

يُشارف مهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي الأوّل من نوعه في المملكة العربيّة السعوديّة على البدء. إنّ مجرّد الإعلان عن تنظيم هذا المهرجان في المملكة حدث هام للغاية، خاصةً بعد أن أعلنت منذ عامين فقط عن رفع الحظر الذي فرضته على دور السينما لمدة 35 سنة كاملة.

لقد تمّ الإعلان عن فكرة تنظيم هذا المهرجان الدولي في العام الماضي، والآن حان الوقت لرؤية تلك الفكرة تتحقق. إذ من المقرّر أن تُقام مراسم افتتاح الدورة الأولى من هذا المهرجان في 12 مارس في “البلد” وهي المنطقة التاريخية في جدّة.

يرأس المهرجان المخرج السعودي محمود صبّاغ، مخرج فيلم “بركة يلتقي بركة”.

يستمر المهرجان لمدة 10 أيّام سيتم خلالها عرض 107 فيلم روائي وقصير. تضم المجموعة 16 فيلم روائي ستتنافس جميعها للفوز بالجوائز، كما أنّ هناك 7 أفلام خارج المسابقة، وفيما يخص الأفلام المحليّة فسيتم عرض 11 فيلم روائي سعودي. كما سيكون هناك أيضاً 17 فيلماً تجريبياً ضمن فئة “تجريب”.

ستشهد الأيام السبعة الأولى من المهرجان عرض الأفلام المتنافسة، حيث سيتم عرض الأفلام الفائزة في آخر يومين من المهرجان في بحيرة الأربعين في “البلد” وهو الموقع الذي تمّ إنشاؤه خصيصاً للمهرجان ويتضمّن سينما مجهّزة بـ 1,200 كرسي تُسمّى “مسرح الكورال” بالإضافة إلى أربعة مسارح أخرى.

ومع فوز المخرج ” بونج جون هو” بجائزة الأوسكار كأفضل مخرج، يمكننا القول بأنّه هناك مجموعة جديدة من المعايير تتعلّق بجوائز الأفلام، بحيث تتصدّر الشموليّة قائمة هذه المعايير.

ولحسن الحظ يمتاز مرشحو مهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي بالشموليّة والتنوّع، حيث تشمل قائمة الدول المشاركة “أنغولا وبنغلادش والبرازيل والصين وكولومبيا ومصر وفرنسا والهند وكوسوفو ولبنان ومنغوليا ونيجيريا والفيليبين وإسبانيا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية”.

قال الصبّاغ ” من الرائع أن نعرض هذه الأفلام ذات الجودة العالية والتي تناقش القضايا الاجتماعيّة اليوميّة” ثم أضاف “لدينا رغبة عارمة في دعم الشموليّة خاصّة فيما يتعلّق بوضع المرأة في الأماكن العامة، ونسعى لبناء مجتمع أكثر انفتاحاً. تُسلّط هذه الأفلام الضوء بقوة على بنية المجتمع والعلاقات بين أفراده والسلطة الأبويّة والهيمنة”.

redseafilmfest.com

شارك هذا المقال

Everything You Need to Know About the Red Sea Film Festival

This is what Saudi Arabia’s first film festival will look like

by

Saudi Arabia’s first film festival, Red Sea Film Festival, is almost here. The nation only lifted its 35-year ban on cinema a mere two years ago, so its existence alone is impressive. 

Plans for the international film festival were announced last year, and things have been heating up lately. The inaugural edition is due to take place on March 12, in Al Balad, the historic district of Jeddah.

The festival is spearheaded by Saudi director Mahmoud Sabbagh, who is the filmmaker behind the critically acclaimed ‘Barakah Meets Barakah’ – so you know it’s going to be good. 

The 10-day festival will screen 107 features and shorts. The line-up includes 16 feature films that will compete for awards, seven non-competing films, and in a bid to champion the local film scene, 11 Saudi feature films. There will also be 17 experimental films screened as part of the ‘Tajreeb’ category.

The first seven days of the festival will see all of the competing films screened, the winning titles screened on the last two days across Al-Balad’s Buhairat Al-Arabaeen, a site that was constructed specifically for the festival, and includes a 1,200-seat cinema named the Coral Theatre, as well as four more. 

With Boon Jong Ho’s win at the Oscars making headlines in recent weeks, new standards have arguably been cemented when it comes to the film awards, with diversity being a top criteria.

Thankfully, Red Sea Film Festival’s nominees are as diverse as it gets. Participating countries include Angola, Bangladesh, Brazil, China, Columbia, Egypt, France, India, Kosovo, Lebanon, Mongolia, Nigeria, the Philippines, Spain, and the United States.  

“It’s pleasing that we are bringing these great quality films discussing social issues of the day”, said Sabbagh. “We have a strong desire to push diversity, particularly in women’s position in public spaces, and for a more open society. The films present a strong look at what makes society function and the relationship between the individual to patriarchy and hegemony.”

redseafilmfest.com

Share this article