مهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي يطلق صندوق دعم بقيمة 10 مليون دولار

وهو مخصص لدعم الأفلام العربية والأفريقية

by

في البداية بادر كل من نتفلكس والصندوق العربي لدعم الفنون والمشهد السينمائي في المنطقة، واليوم كشف مهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي عن مبادرة سعودية لإطلاق صندوق بقيمة 10 ملايين دولار للأخذ بيد صانعي الأفلام العرب والأفارقة.

من المقرر أن يدعم الصندوق أكثر من 100 فيلم روائي طويل في عامه الأول، مما يمثل تحولاً كبيراً في حياة المواهب الناشئة في المنطقة. سواء كنتم صُناع أفلام روائية أو وثائقية أو رسوم متحركة، يهدف مهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي إلى احتضانكم ودعمكم، كما سيكون الصندوق متاحاً أيضاً لمبتكري المحتوى بالإضافة إلى الأفلام القصيرة التي تم إنتاجها من قبل مواطنين سعوديين.

وفي هذا السياق صرّح المدير الفني لمهرجان البحر الأحمر السينمائي الدولي إدوارد وينتروب “يهدف الصندوق لدعم السينما الأفريقية والعربية ودفعها للتطور، ونحن متحمسون لتبنّي هذه المسؤولية”.

ثم تابع “هذا هدف صندوق البحر الأحمر في كل مرحلة من مراحل صناعة الأفلام المختارة والمحتوى المكّون من حلقات متتالية. يقدم الصندوق الدعم للمشاريع في جميع مراحلها، حيث سيتم توزيع المنح على أكثر من 100 مشروع سواء في مرحلة التطوير أو الإنتاج أو ما بعد الإنتاج، بما يضمن إحداث تحولات حقيقية في المشهد السينمائي في المنطقة. 

ومن المقرر أن تقام النسخة الافتتاحية من المهرجان في 11 نوفمبر من هذا العام في منطقة “البلد” التاريخية وسط مدينة جدة. وعلى هذا الصعيد سيستضيف المهرجان ما أطلق عليه اسم “سوق البحر الأحمر”، وهو مركز السوق والصناعة في المنطقة. يضم “السوق” 20 مشروعاً سينمائياً من المنطقة، وفي ذات السياق يقوم سوق البحر الأحمر السينمائي بتنظيم العديد من الندوات وورش العمل الخاصة بالأفلام قيد التنفيذ.

وعلى الصعيد ذاته ستتنافس الأعمال المشاركة على جائزة صندوق البحر الأحمر للتطوير والإنتاج والتي تتراوح قيمتها بين 25 ألف دولار و 100 ألف دولار.

 

 

الصورة: @warchieff و @meshalaljaser

شارك هذا المقال

Red Sea Film Festival Launches $10 Million Fund

Arab and African films get the support they need

by

First Netflix and AFAC stepped up to support the region’s film scene, now the Red Sea Film Festival has taken an even bigger plunge. The Saudi Arabian initiative announced a $10 million fund for Arab and African filmmakers. 

The fund is set to support over 100 feature films in its first year, marking a game-changing era for the region’s emerging talents. Whether it’s fiction, documentary or animation you’re working on, the Red Sea Film Festival is here for it. The fund will also be available for those working on episodic content as well as short films made by Saudi nationals. 

Helping African and Arab cinema grow, that’s a very exciting responsibility,” said Edouard Waintrop, the festival’s newly appointed art director to announce the fund.

“That’s what the Red Sea Fund will do at every stage of the making of the chosen movies and episodic content. In providing more than 100 grants to help the development, production and post-production of movies across the Arab World and Africa, the Red Sea Fund will help cinema that is in full metamorphosis,” he continued.

The inaugural edition of the festival is due to take place on November 11 of this year in Al Balad, Jeddah’s historic downtown. To kick it off, the organization will host what they’ve dubbed ‘Red Sea Souk’, a marketplace and industry hub for the region. The ‘souk’ will see a marketplace complete with pitching sessions for more than 20 projects from the region as well as a films-in-progress workshop. 

Projects participating in the Red Sea Souk market will compete for the Red Sea Development and Production Awards amounting from $25,000 to $100,000.

 

 

Image: @warchieff & @meshalaljaser on the set of Arabian Allien

Share this article