علامة Renaissance Renaissance اللبنانية في القائمة القصيرة لجائزة LVMH المرموقة

تعرّفوا إلى مؤسسة العلامة سينتيا مرهج

by

عندما أعلنت جائزة LVMH عن المتأهلين إلى الدور نصف النهائي لهذا العام، تصدر القائمة اسم المصممة اللبنانية سينتيا مرهج مؤسسة علامة Renaissance Renaissance –  لتكون أول مصممة أزياء عربية في تاريخ الجائزة يدرج اسمها في القائمة القصيرة لهذا العام.

قالت لنا المصممة بعد الإعلان عن الخبر “أفتخر بإدراج اسمي في القائمة القصيرة، إنّه أمر أعتز به بعد كل الصعوبات التي مررت بها هذا العام جراء الوضع في لبنان“. ثم تابعت “ولكن بشكل عام، من الرائع أن يكون لدي شيء إيجابي أمثّل به بلدي خلال هذا الوقت”.

نشأت مرهج في لبنان محاطة بأجيال متعددة من مصممي الأزياء النسائية الفاخرة، وقد طورت بشكل طبيعي شغفها بهذه الصناعة لتسير على خطى والدتها وجدتها اللتين كانتا تمتلكان ورشة خياطة. وفي هذا الصدد علقت المصممة قائلة “لطالما كانت الموضة جزء لا يتجزأ من حياتي”.

وبالرغم من شغفها بعالم الموضة إلا أنّ هذه الشابة البالغة من العمر 32 عاماً استغرقت وقتاً طويلاً حتى بدأت رحلتها في عالم التصميم. بعد دراسة الاتصال البصري في الكلية الملكية للفنون وسنترال سانت مارتينز في لندن، عادت سينتيا مرهج إلى بيروت في عام 2016 لتؤسس علامتها.

وفي هذا السياق توضح مرهج “لقد اكتشفت طرقاً إبداعية مختلفة، مما جعلني في النهاية أدرك تماماً ما الذي أريد أن أفعله”.

وعلى حد تعبير المصممة فإنّ علامتها مستوحاة من مصممي أزياء مشاهير أمثال عز الدين عليا وكريستوبال بالنسياغا وإيسي مياكي “الذين أحدثوا ثورة كبيرة في مجال التصميم”. تركز المصممة بشكل كبير على فن صناعة الملابس والخياطة، وتسعى إلى تطوير تصاميمها لتصبح قطعاً نابضة بالحياة وغاية في التميّز.

وهي تشرح قائلة “أستمد إلهامي من الأشكال والأحجام الكبيرة التي تجسد القوة التامة، والتي غالباً ما استحضرها من الملابس التاريخية من قرون محددة”.

تتمحور مجموعتها الأخيرة حول التصاميم التجريبية. تبتكر مرهج طرقاً جديدة للملابس من خلال تقديم التصاميم الخالية من السحابات أو الأزرار، وتستعيض عنها بأربطة الشد والقطع المزمومة والأربطة بشكل عقد. حيث نرى الفساتين المزيّنة بالكشاكش والحواشي والأكمام المنتفخة والتول المزركش بالثنيات والزمزمات، كما تتميّز تصاميمها بالقطع التي ستمنحك إطلالات مرحة وحالمة مشبعة بمجموعة من الألوان الساطعة والزاهية واللون الأسود والألوان المحايدة أيضاً.

renaissancerenaissance.com

شارك هذا المقال

LVMH Prize-Shortlisted Lebanese Label Renaissance Renaissance is the Tulle Fantasy We All Need

Introducing the brainchild of Cynthia Merhej

by

When the LVMH Prize announced its semi-finalists for this year, one name stood out of the lot. It was Cynthia Merhej’s, the Lebanese designer behind Renaissance Renaissance—the only Arab designer shortlisted this year.

“To be shortlisted was very meaningful after all the difficulties I have been through this year due to the situation in Lebanon,” the designer told us after the news was announced. “But also generally for my country I thought it was amazing to have something positive during this time,” she continued. 

Credits: Alice Neale

Growing up in Lebanon surrounded by multiple generations of female couturiers, Merhej naturally developed a passion for the industry. Both her mother and great-grandmother owned ateliers. “Fashion was always a part of my life,” she attests.

Yet it took a detachment from fashion for the 32-year-old to finally embark on her own design journey. She went on to launch her label in Beirut in 2016, switching paths after studying Visual Communication at the Royal College of Art and Central Saint Martins in London. 

Credits: Joyce NG & Makram Bitar

“As I explored different creative avenues, it became more and more evident to me that this is what I wanted to do,” Merhej explains.

Inspired by the likes of Azzedine Alaïa, Cristóbal Balenciaga and Issey Miyake,“who really pushed the construction in their craft” as she puts it, the designer is strongly focused on the art of making clothes and tailoring, developing her looks far beyond the sketches once the physical pieces come to life.

Credits: Joyce NG & Makram Bitar

“I’m inspired by forms, shapes and volumes that are quite strong, and that I can often reference in historical garments from specific centuries,” she explains.

Her latest collection was all about experimentation. With no zippers, nor buttons, Merhej created alternative ways of dressing, using drawstring, gathers and knots detailing. Ruffled dresses with puffed hems and sleeves, pleats and gathers on tulle, her looks are a joyful piece of fantasy drenched in candy colours, black and neutral hues.

Credits: Anne-Marie Kaus

renaissancerenaissance.com

Share this article