الأفلام السعودية المستقلة تجد لها موطناً جديداً في جدة

دار السينما الجديدة تُرحّب بصناع الأفلام السعوديين والعالميين

by

لقد مر عامٌ على رفع السعودية الحظر المفروض على السينما منذ 30 عاماً، وقد تفجر مشهد الأفلام في المملكة حرفياً منذ ذلك الحين. إذ تم افتتاح عدد كبير من دور السينما الجديدة في كل مكان، كما تم تصوير كافّة مشاهد فيلم “المرشح المثالي” لهيفاء المنصور والمرشح لجائزة الأوسكار في السعودية، والآن توشك المملكة على فتح الأبواب أمام أول سينما مستقلة لها.

Haifaa Al Mansourسيتم افتتاح المسرح الجديد في مدينة جدة بإدارة “فن جميل” (وهي إحدى أولى مؤسسات الفن المعاصر في دبي)، ومن المقرر افتتاحه في شتاء 2020.

تقول أنتونيا كارفر مديرة “فن جميل” في بيانٍ لها: “ستكون “سينما حي” بمثابة أول موطن مخصص للأفلام السعودية والعالمية المستقلة في المملكة، فتصميمها الفريد الذي قام به استوديو Bricklab، لا يسمح بعرض الأفلام فحسب، بل بتنمية المهارات والتعليم ومشاركة المجتمع أيضاً”.

وتتابع قائلةً “إنها لحظة مثيرة لولادة جديدة في السينما السعودية”.

تُعتبر السينما المستقلة جزء من خطة “فن جميل” لتحويل جدة إلى عاصمة ثقافية في السعودية من خلال مشروعها الأخير “حي: ملتقى الإبداع”. حيثُ سيكون المسرح واحداً من المشاريع القائمة في الحي البالغة مساحته 17000 متر مربع.

Saudi Arabia Independent Cinemaوسيشمل المبنى المكون من ثلاثة طوابق على مراكز للمعارض الفنية ومقاهي واستوديوهات للفنانين واستوديو رقمي للمخرجين.

أما بالنسبة للمسرح، فقد حرصت “فن جميل” على تصميمه بأسلوبٍ سعودي أصيل من خلال تكليف استوديو Bricklab للتصميم في جدة بتصميمه.

تأسس استوديو Bricklab من قِبَل الأخوين تركي وعبد الرحمن في عام 2015، وهو واحد من الإستوديوهات الرائدة في البلاد، ولهذا السبب يعتبر اختياره لتصميم المسرح أمراً منطقياً تماماً. وقد صرح الشقيقان في بيانٍ لهم “نحن متحمسان للمساهمة في هذا المشروع المهم، الذي من شأنه بالتأكيد أن يعيد تشكيل المشهد الثقافي لمدينة جدة والسعودية ككل”.

وستضم السينما التي تحتوي على 200 مقعداً، غرفة عرض مجتمعية (للتواصل الإجتماعي) بالإضافة إلى مكتبة سمعية وبصرية (مع غرف لاستعراض الأرشيف)، مستوحاة من المجتمعات والمناظر الطبيعية في جدة، وذلك وفقاً لتقريرٍ أوردته  Architectural Digest.

شارك هذا المقال

Indie Saudi Movies Find a New Home in Jeddah

A new cinema welcomes underground Saudi and international filmmakers

by

It’s been one year since Saudi Arabia lifted its 30-year-long cinema ban, and the kingdom’s film scene has literally exploded. A slew of new cinemas have opened up on every corner, Haifaa Al Mansour’s Oscar-nominated film ‘The Perfect Candidate’ was shot entirely in Saudi, and now the kingdom is about to open the doors to its first independent cinema. 

Haifaa Al MansourSpearheaded by Art Jameel (one of the first contemporary art institutions in Dubai), the new theatre will be located in Jeddah, and is set to open in winter 2020. 

“Hayy: Cinema is the first bespoke home for Saudi and international independent film in the kingdom” says Antonia Carver, Art Jameel’s director, in a statement, “its unique design, thanks to Bricklab, allows for not only film screenings, but also for skills development, education and community engagement. ” 

“[It’s] an exciting moment of rebirth in Saudi cinema,” he continued.  

The independent cinema is a part of Art Jameel’s plan to turn Jeddah into Saudi Arabia’s culture capital with their latest project Hayy: Creative Hub. The theatre will occupy just one part of the 17,000 square-metre space. 

Saudi Arabia Independent CinemaThe three-story building will also include art galleries, cafes, artist studios, and a digital studio for filmmakers.

As for the theatre,  Art Jameel kept things truly Saudi by commissioning Jeddah-based design studio Bricklab to design it.

Founded by brothers Turkey and Abdulrahman in 2015, Bricklab has been one of the country’s leading studios, so their involvement makes perfect sense. “We are excited to contribute to this momentous project” they said in a statement,”this will surely reshape the cultural landscape of the city of Jeddah and Saudi as a whole.”

The 200-seat cinema will also house a community screening room as well as an audio-visual library (complete with archive viewing rooms), inspired by the communities and landscapes of Jeddah, as reported by Architectural Digest.

Share this article