المملكة العربية السعودية تخطط لبناء أكبر مدينة ناطحة سحاب في العالم

لأن الحجم مهم أيضاً

by

شرعت المملكة العربية السعودية منذ أن تم تنصيب محمد بن سلمان على العرش في مهمة طموحة لإيجاد أساليب متطورة لمواجهة تحديات اليوم والغد، حيث كشفت صحيفة The Wall Street Journal هذا الأسبوع أن الدولة الخليجية وانطلاقاً من سعيها المستمر لتنويع مصادر الإيرادات الرئيسية وتقليل اعتمادها على النفط بحسب مبادرة “رؤية 2030″، تريد إضافة مشروع آخر إلى قائمتها المليئة بالمشاريع العملاقة للمستقبل حيث ستبني: Mirror Line “خط المرآة”، أكبر هيكل صالح للسكن في العالم.

سيتعين على المملكة العربية السعودية لإحياء مشروع “نيوم” الجديد، ضخ ما يقارب 1 تريليون دولار، وسيغطي هذا المبلغ نفقات مبنيين من المرايا يصل ارتفاعهما إلى 488 متراً ويمتدان بشكل موازٍ لمسافة 75 ميلاً تقريباً بحيث يمكنهما إيواء حوالي خمسة ملايين فرد. سيصل بين طرفي المدينة قطار فائق السرعة، كما ستتجهز المدينة الممتدة على شكل خط مستقيم ببعض أحدث المرافق في العالم بما في ذلك مرسى لليخوت، وملعب رياضي فوق الأرض، بالإضافة إلى مجمع زراعي عمودي وذلك لتأمين وجبات الإفطار والغداء والعشاء لتغطي حاجة جميع السكان.

ستكون مدينة Mirror Line “خط المرآة” التي صممتها شركة Morphosis Architects الأمريكية والتي ستكون بحجم ولاية ماساتشوستس تقريباً، محور المدينة الصحراوية الجديدة “نيوم”، وعلى الرغم من هدف ولي العهد لافتتاحها بحلول عام 2030، إلا أن المهندسين المعنيين أوضحوا أنه من المتوقع أن يستغرق بناء هذا المشروع الخالي تماماً من انبعاثات الكربون حوالي 50 عاماً.

علق ولي العهد بن سلمان المسمى أيضاً بـMBS، على هذا المشروع الفريد من نوعه: “ستتحدى هذه التصاميم التي تم الكشف عنها للمدينة ذات الطبقات العمودية، المدن التقليدية المسطحة والأفقية وستخلق نموذجاً للحفاظ على الطبيعة وتعزيز حياة الإنسان. ستتصدى The Line للتحديات التي تواجه البشرية اليوم فيما يخص الحياة الحضرية وستركز على العثور على طرق بديلة للعيش.”

شارك هذا المقال

Saudi Arabia Is Planning on Building the World’s Largest Linear City

Because size does matter

by

Since Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman’s rise to power, Saudi Arabia has embarked on an ambitious mission to re-develop, transform, and address both challenges of today and tomorrow. In an ongoing effort to diversify the Kingdom’s main streams of revenue, notably by reducing their dependency on oil through the “2030 Vision” initiative, government officials, this week, have just revealed that the Gulf country wants to add another project to its ever-growing list of titanic projects for the future. Enter: Mirror Line, the world’s largest habitable structure.

To bring this new venture to life, NEOM, Saudi Arabia’s sovereign-wealth fund, will have to splash a hefty $1 trillion out in total once completed. The price tag will cover the expenses of two mirror buildings up to 488 meters in height and running sideways for about 75 miles that will be able to house around five million individuals. With both ends being connected by a high-speed train, the linear city will also host some of the world’s most modern facilities including a marina for yachts, an above-ground sports stadium, as well as a vertical farming complex. What’s more, residents will also be able to subscribe to an all-inclusive formula which will serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner. 

Roughly about the same size as the state of Massachusetts, Mirror Line, designed by US studio Morphosis Architects, will be the centerpiece of the new desert city eponymously called NEOM. Despite the Crown Prince’s goal of having it inaugurated by 2030, the zero-carbon project is expected to take up to 50 years to build by involved engineers.

“The designs revealed today for the city’s vertically layered communities will challenge the traditional flat, horizontal cities and create a model for nature preservation and enhanced human livability,” commented Ben Salman, who is affectionately referred to as MBS,  on the one-of-a-kind design. “The Line will tackle the challenges facing humanity in urban life today and will shine a light on alternative ways to live,” he added. 

Share this article