الفيلم السعودي “سيدة البحر” يترشح لجوائز الأوسكار

أصبح الفيلم السعودي عالمياً

by

تم الإعلان رسمياً عن أنّ الفيلم السعودي “سيدة البحر” الذي تم تصويره بالأبيض والأسود والحائز على جائزة نادي فيرونا السينمائي لصناعة الأفلام المبتكرة في العام الماضي سيمثل المملكة العربية السعودية في حفل توزيع جوائز الأوسكار القادم.

وتأتي هذه الأخبار بعد أسابيع من الموعد النهائي لتقديم جوائز الأوسكار والذي شهد دخول فيلم “ستموت في العشرين” للمخرج أمجد أبو العلاء التاريخ كأول فيلم سوادني يترشح لجائزة أوسكار. إلا أنّ هذا لم يمنع فيلم “سيدة البحر” من أن يصبح منافساً جديداً في اللحظة الأخيرة إلى جانب بعض الأفلام الأخرى.

تدور أحداث هذا الفيلم للمخرجة السعودية شهد أمين في قرية صيد صغيرة حيث تتمرد فتاة صغيرة تدعى حياة على التقاليد السائدة في القرية التي تعيش فيها والتي تقضي بالتضحية بالأطفال لحوريات البحر الغامضة.

تلعب الممثلة بسمة حجار البالغة من العمر 15 عاماً دور حياة، في حين يؤدي يعقوب الفرحان دور والدها. عُرض الفيلم لأول مرة في مهرجان البندقية السينمائي في العام الماضي، وعُرض في العديد من دور السينما في جميع أنحاء المملكة العربية السعودية، كما تم عرضه في دور العرض في المملكة الشهر الماضي.

أما عن موقعه في سباق الأوسكار، سيخوض فيلم “سيدة البحر” سلسلة من العروض قبل أن تعلن الأكاديمية عن المرشحين لفئة أفضل فيلم روائي طويل عالمي والإعلان عن الفائزين في الحفل المقرر إقامته في أبريل.

شارك هذا المقال

Saudi Arabia’s ‘Scales’ Enters the Oscars Race

The Kingdom’s breakout film goes international

by

Scales, the black and white Saudi Arabian film that snagged the Verona Film Price at Venice Film Festival last year, has officially been submitted to represent the Kingdom at the upcoming Academy Awards

The news comes weeks after the Oscars submission deadline, which saw Amjad Abu Alala’s You Will Die at Twenty make history as Sudan’s first ever submission. But that didn’t stop Scales from becoming a last-minute contender, alongside a few other films. 

Directed by Saudi Arabian filmmaker Shahad Ameen, Scales is set in a small fishing village where female children are typically sacrificed to mysterious mermaids. The film is centered around a young girl, Hayat, who refuses to abide by the tradition. 

15-year-old Jeddah-born actress Baseema Hajjar takes on the role of Hayat, while Yaqoub Alfarhan plays her father. The film premiered at Venice Film Festival last year, and has been screened at various cinemas across Saudi Arabia, having made its theatrical release in the Kingdom last month. 

As for its position in the Oscars race, Scales will go through a series of screenings before the Academy announces nominees for its Best International Feature Film category, with winners announced at a ceremony scheduled to take place in April.

Share this article