هكذا يمكنكم بالفعل مساعدة الشيخ جراح

حان الوقت للحديث عن الأمر بصوتٍ عالٍ

by

إذا كنتم قد تابعتم الأخبار خلال الأيام القليلة الماضية، فلا بد وأنّكم سمعتم بأحداث حي الشيخ جراح. ولكن إن كنتم تتساءلون عما يحدث بالضبط في هذا الحي الفلسطيني، فإننا نعرض لكم تفاصيل هذا الحدث:

سيتم طرد أربع عائلات فلسطينية في حي الشيخ جراح قسراً من منازلهم ويلقى بهم إلى الشارع ليستولي مستوطنون إسرائيليون على منازلهم بطريقة غير شرعية.

وتأتي هذه الخطوة بعد أن أمرت محكمة إسرائيلية محليّة العائلات الفلسطينية في فبراير الماضي بإخلاء منازلهم بحلول 2 مايو، وبالرغم من طعنهم في شرعيّة هذا القرار، إلا أنّ عائلات الكرد والقاسم وسكافي والجاعوني ما زالت تواجه خطر الطرد من منازلها.

قالت العائلات في بيان نشره الكاتب والشاعر الفلسطيني محمد الكرد مشيراً إلى أنّ هذه المماطلة ممارسة معهودة من الجانب الإسرائيلي تهدف إلى تهدئة الرأي العام والحد من الاحتجاجات “ولم تتخذ المحكمة العليا الإسرائيلية قراراً بشأن الاستئناف الذي قدمته عائلات الشيخ جراح الأربع ضد قرار الإخلاء القسري الذي تم تحديده بيوم 2 مايو، بل قامت فقط بإرجاء تنفيذ الحكم حتى يوم الخميس في 6 مايو”.

وأضافوا قائلين “أمر القاضي “الطرفين” بالتوصل إلى اتفاق تعترف بموجبه عائلات الشيخ جراح بملكية منظمة المستوطنين للأرض ودفع الإيجار لها”.

بالرغم من أنّ ملكية الأراضي الشرعية تعود للعائلات الفلسطينية إلا أنّ المستوطنين الإسرائيليين يبذلون قصارى جهدهم لسرقة المنازل بشكل غير شرعي بدعم من المحكمة. وهذه ليست المرة الأولى التي يتعرض فيها سكان الشيخ جراح لمثل هذه الممارسات القمعيّة.

فقد شهد هذا الحي الذي كان يقطنه 28 عائلة فلسطينية لاجئة انتقلت إليه في عام 1956 بعد طردهم عنوة من منازلهم الأصلية خلال النكبة، طرد 67 فلسطينياً من منازلهم في عام 2009 وحده.

في خضم ما يسميه النشطاء الآن “النكبة المستمرة”، تعرضت العائلات الأربع بالإضافة إلى سكان الشيخ جراح الآخرين الذين كانوا يحتجون سلمياً على قرار الطرد غير القانوني للهجوم من قبل القوات الإسرائيلية المسلحة. كما تم اعتقالهم بطريقة عنيفة ورشهم بمياه الصرف الصحي بالإضافة إلى ضربهم بقسوة شديدة، مما أدى إلى سقوط عشرات الإصابات.

ونتيجة لهذه الأحداث، تم إطلاق حملة #SaveSheikhJarrah في محاولة للفت الانتباه الدولي إلى الأحداث والقضية الفلسطينية بشكل عام. ولكن قيل بأنّه تم فرض رقابة شديدة على كل المنشورات الخاصة بالحملة على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي (فيسبوك وإنستاغرام وتويتر) والتي يُزعم بأنّها تقوم بإخفاء أيّ هاشتاغ وحذف المنشورات ذات الصلة، بالإضافة إلى حجب حسابات الناشطين.

ومن الجدير بالذكر، أنّ مستخدمي وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي قد أعربوا عن امتعاضهم وشعورهم بخيبة الأمل جراء تقارير وسائل الإعلام الغربية التي غالباً ما تفتقر إلى المصداقية، وتقوم بنقل الاخبار بطريقة مضللة كأن تستخدم عبارة “عمليات الإخلاء” بدلاً عن “الطرد القسري”، في محاولة للتقليل من أهمية الحدث وإضعاف خطورة الموقف.

لا تتبرعوا لصناديق تدعي أنها تساعد الشيخ جراح

العائلات لا تتلقى تبرعات ولم توافق على الحصول على أيّ دعم مادي. وقد غرّد محمد الكرد على تويتر قائلاً “نحن ملتزمون بالحفاظ على معركة الشيخ جراح كقضيّة سياسية. ولم يحن وقت الدعم الإنساني بعد”.

انضموا إلى حركة “المقاطعة وسحب الاستثمارات وفرض العقوبات”

حركة BDS هي شكل من أشكال الاحتجاج والمقاطعة والعمل من أجل الحد من الدعم الدولي للتطهير العرقي لفلسطين. ابحثوا عن دعواتهم لاتخاذ إجراءات هنا.

وقّعوا على هذه العرائض:

Stop Israel’s forced displacement of Palestinians from East Jerusalem

Facebook, we need to talk.

Demand an end to Israel’s forced displacement of Palestinians from East Jerusalem

انضموا إلى التجمع المحلي الخاص بكم

تابعوا حساب @palestinianyouthmovement على الإنستاغرام لتقديم التصريحات وتنظيم التجمعات في أرجاء العالم. إذا لم تكن مدينتكم منظمة حتى الآن؛ حاولوا التواصل مع المجتمع المحلي والمنظمات للقيام بذلك.

ادعموا قانون الأطفال والأسر الفلسطيني

تم تقديم هذا التشريع التاريخي لضمان عدم استخدام أموال الضرائب الأمريكية في تمويل أعمال تنتهك حقوق الإنسان التي ترتكبها الحكومة الإسرائيلية ضد الفلسطينيين. انقروا هنا للتأكد من أن ممثليكم موجودون على القائمة.

استمروا في الحديث عن الأمر

نحن بحاجة للحفاظ على الزخم المترافق مع هذا الأمر من خلال عملية مشاركة المعلومات وأخبار وسائل الإعلام الموثوقة عبر هذه الهاشتاغات #SaveSheikhJarrah و #SheikhJarrah و #StopJerusalemExpulsions. يمكنكم أيضاً العثور على نماذج لمشاركتها على تطبيق تويتر هنا.

شارك هذا المقال

How You Can Really Help Save Sheikh Jarrah

Time to speak up

by

If you’ve paid attention to the news these past few days, you’re probably familiar with Sheikh Jarrah by now. But if you’re still wondering what exactly is going on in the Palestinian neighbourhood, here’s a breakdown of things: 

Four Palestinian families in Sheikh Jarrah are being forcibly expelled from their homes into the street, with illegal Israeli settlers taking over. 

The move comes after an Israeli district court had ordered the Palestinian families last February to vacate their homes by May 2. Despite their appeals to the order, the families of El-Kurd, Al-Qasim, Skafi, and Al-Ja’ouni are now facing the threat of expulsion from their homes.

“The Supreme Court of Israel did not decide regarding the four Sheikh Jarrah families’ appeal against our forced eviction, ordered for today, May 2. Instead, the ruling was postponed until Thursday, May 6,” the families said in a statement posted by Palestinian writer and poet Mohammed El-Kurd, pointing out that such postponement is a common practice to dispel public opinion protests and resistance.

“The judge ordered that “both sides” should reach some deal, whereby the Sheikh Jarrah families admit the settler organization’s ownership of the land, and pay rent to the settler organizations,” they added. 

As it stands, Israeli settlers continue in their efforts to illegally steal the homes as backed by the court despite the land legally belonging to the families. But this isn’t the first time it happens in Sheikh Jarrah. 

The neighborhood, which was home to 28 Palestinian refugee families who moved there in 1956 after being already forcibly expelled from their original homes during the Nakba, has already seen 67 Palestinians face the same consequence in 2009 alone.

Amidst what activists are now calling an “ongoing Nakba”, the four families as well as other residents of Sheikh Jarrah who were peacefully protesting the illegal expulsion have been under attack by armed Israeli forces. Violently arresting, spraying them with chemical sewage water and brutally beating them, the events have led to dozens of injuries.

People are now bringing international attention to the events and the Palestinian cause as a whole with the campaign of #SaveSheikhJarrah. But posts attributed to the campaign have been said to face social media censorship with Facebook, Instagram and Twitter allegedly hiding hashtags, deleting posts and blocking activists’ accounts. 

In addition, social media users have expressed their frustrations with western media’s reporting on the events, often lacking context, and misreporting ‘forced expulsions’ as ‘evictions’ for example, and ultimately diluting the gravity of the situation. 

Don’t donate to funds claiming to help Sheikh Jarrah

The families are not taking donations and haven’t endorsed any funds. “We are committed to keeping the fight for Sheikh Jarrah a political one. It is not time for humanitarian support yet,” Mohammed el-Kurd tweeted.

Join the ‘Boycott, Divestment, Sanctions’ movement

BDS is a form of protesting, boycotting and working towards ending international support of the ethnic cleansing of Palestine. Find their call to action here.

Sign these petitions:

Stop Israel’s forced displacement of Palestinians from East Jerusalem

Facebook, we need to talk.

Demand an end to Israel’s forced displacement of Palestinians from East Jerusalem

Join your local rally

Follow @palestinianyouthmovement for rally announcements around the world. If your city hasn’t organized one yet; reach out to your local community and organizations to do so.

Support the Palestinian Children and Families Act

The historic legislation has been introduced to ensure that no US tax dollars fund the human rights violations carried out by the Israeli government against Palestinians. Click here to ensure that your representative is on the bill.

Keep spreading the word

We need to keep the momentum up while sharing information and credible media through these hashtags #SaveSheikhJarrah, #SheikhJarrah and #StopJerusalemExpulsions. You can also find a sample of tweets to share here.

Share this article