معرض الشارقة يسلّط الضوء على القلق السائد في زمن الإنترنت

حتّى قبل فيروس كورونا

by

بعد أشهر من التأجيلات التي تسبّب بها فيروس كورونا، تعاود مؤسّسة الشارقة للفنون نشاطها من جديد. يحظى معرضها الأخير الذي يحمل عنوان “الفن في زمن القلق” بأهميّة كبيرة. كما يمكن القول بأنّه قد يكون المعرض الأكثر طموحاً في المنطقة حتّى الآن.

إنّه المعرض الأوّل للقيّم عمر خليف مدير المقتنيات والقيّم الأوّل في المؤسّسة. لقد جمع 30 قطعة لأكبر الفنّانين من جميع أنحاء العالم لاستكشاف تأثير الأجهزة والتقنيّات الحديثة والشبكات الاجتماعيّة على وعينا الإنساني الجمعي في هذا الوقت. وبالتأكيد من ضمنهم الفنّان الأردني الحائز على جائزة Turner-Prize لورانس أبو حمدان الذي اشتهر بأعماله التي تركّز على تداعيات ثقافة المراقبة الإلكترونية.

لن يكون هناك وقت أفضل من هذا لإطلاق المعرض. مع انتشار جائحة COVID-19 في جميع أنحاء العالم خلال هذا العام، حيث أنّ تداعياته على الوعي الجمعي كانت في صدارة كل ما تجلّى على مواقع الإنترنت.

أصبح الإنستاغرام ومنصّات مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي الأخرى نقاط اتصال هامّة للناس أثناء إجراءات الحجر. كما تمّ استخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي لتبادل المعلومات حول الفيروس، في حين أصبحت بالنسبة للبعض بمثابة طريقة للتكيّف مع الوضع.

ومع استمرار الحجر واتخاذ إجراءات التباعد الاجتماعي، أصبح الإنترنت موطناً للأحداث الماديّة. تمّ إغلاق المتاحف وصالات العرض في كافّة أنحاء العالم، كما تمّ إلغاء المهرجانات الموسيقيّة بالإضافة إلى عدد كبير من الأحداث الثقافيّة الأخرى، ممّا جعل الأحداث الرقميّة أمراً شائعاً، بحيث توجه منظّمو الأحداث والحضور إلى التنقّل بين المساحات الرقميّة المشكّلة حديثاً والتكيّف معها.

يستكشف معرض “الفن في زمن القلق” هذه الظاهرة بشكل كبير. حيث يسلّط الضوء على القلق الذي سبّبه العيش في الزمن الرقمي حتى قبل أن يحظى بهذا الصدى الكبير بسبب فيروس كورونا (الذي جعله أكثر وضوحاً من ذي قبل).

وبحسب وصف المنظّمين لهذا المعرض “يستكشف المعرض من خلال عرض 60 عمل مختلف يتراوح بين المنحوتات والمطبوعات ومقاطع الفيديو وأعمال الواقع الافتراضي والروبوتات وحتى البرامج اللوغاريتمية، تدفّق “المعلومات الصحيحة والخاطئة والخدع والسرّية التي تغزو الحياة على مواقع الإنترنت، بالإضافة إلى الحياة خارج الإنترنت في زمن التكنولوجيا الرقميّة”.

يمكنكم خلال المعرض إلقاء نظرة على صور السحاب الأيقونية للفنّان Trevor Paglen، إلى جانب صور لشخصيّات تاريخيّة تظهر في نظام التعرّف على الوجه على الفيس بوك. كما سيتم عرض تحفة الفنان الكندي Jon Rafman الفنيّة Transdimentional Serpent، وهي عبارة عن شرح الواقع الافتراضي للطبيعة الاستهلاكيّة للتكنولوجيا. سيقدّم فنّان الوسائط المتعدّدة الصيني Cao Fei عملاً بعنوان RMB City وهي عبارة عن مدينة افتراضية مصمّمة ضمن عالم افتراضي على الإنترنت، تسمّى الحياة الثانية.

sharjahart.org

شارك هذا المقال

This Sharjah Exhibition Captures the Prevalence of Anxiety in the Internet Age

Even before coronavirus

by

After months of coronavirus-related postponements, the Sharjah Art foundation is back in full swing. Their latest exhibition, which is entitled ‘Art in the Age of Anxiety’, is especially relevant right now. And not least, it’s perhaps the most ambitious exhibition in the region to date. 

The show, which is the first to be put together by the foundation’s senior curator Omar Kholeif, brings together 30 major artists from across the world in a bid to unravel the ways in which technology and social media has impacted the collective human consciousness.

The exhibition couldn’t come at a better time. With the COVID-19 pandemic wreaking havoc across the world for the better part of a year, its implications on the collective psyche have been front and centre—all of which largely manifested itself online. 

Instagram, alongside other social media platforms became points of meaningful connections for people during lockdowns. Social media was also used to share information on the virus, and for some, it became a coping method. 

And as lockdowns continued and social distancing measures were put in place, the internet also became home to formerly-physical events. Museums and galleries around the globe closed. Music festivals were cancelled, along with a slew of other cultural events, thus, digital events became the norm, with organizers and attendees left to navigate the newly formed digital spaces, and adapt to them. 

‘Art in the Age of Anxiety’ explores this exact phenomenon. The exhibition captures the anxieties that came with living in the digital age even before becoming amplified (and thus more visible) due to coronavirus

With 60 different works on display, spanning sculptures, prints, videos, virtual reality, robotics and even algorithmic programs, the exhibition looks into the influx of “information, misinformation emotion, deception and secrecy that invades online and offline life in the age of digital technology,” as its organizers described it. 

In it, you’ll have a look at Trevor Paglen’s iconic cloud photographs, alongside portraits of historical figures whose faces have been run through Facebook’s facial recognition system. Canadian artist Jon Rafman’s piece ‘Transdimentional Serpent’ is on display as well. The piece is a virtual reality commentary on technlogy’s all-consuming nature. Chinese multimedia artist Cao Fei will also present his ‘RMB City’, a virtual city designed on the online virtual world Second Life.

sharjahart.org

Share this article