كريمات تفتيح البشرة يتم سحبها أخيراً من الأسواق العربية

أن تصل متأخّراً خير من أن لا تصل أبداً

by

تنتشر كريمات تفتيح البشرة انتشاراً واسعاً في شمال أفريقيا والشرق الأوسط. وبالرغم من ذلك قامت أخيراً شركة Johnson & Johnson التي تنتج المجموعات الأساسية الشهيرة مثل Clean & Clear Fairness و Neutrogena Fine Fairness بالتوقّف عن ممارساتها العنصريّة من خلال سحب كلا المنتجين من أسواق الشرق الأوسط وآسيا.

تأتي هذه الخطوة في خضم الاحتجاجات القويّة لحركة Black Lives Matter في أمريكا، والتي قام خلالها عدد من الشركات متعدّدة الجنسيات بإجراء تغييرات طال انتظارها تتماشى مع مطالب الحركة المناهضة للعنصرية.

في الأسبوع الماضي أطلقت شركة Bandaid وهي أيضاً إحدى شركات Johnson & Johnson خط إنتاج جديد من الضمادات المتنوّعة عرقياً، بعد أن كانت تنتج منذ تأسيسها في عام 1920 منتجات أحادية اللون.

كما اتخذت مجموعة أخرى من الشركات إجراءات مماثلة ولا سيما علامة Ben & Jerrys التي أصدرت بيانات لدعم حركة Black Lives Matter، لكن مع ذلك لا تزال تصنع وتبيع منتجاتها في المستوطنات الإسرائيلية غير الشرعيّة.

قالت شركة Johnson & Johnson في تصريح لها: “أبرزت المحادثات التي جرت خلال الأسابيع القليلة الماضية بأنّ أسماء بعض المنتجات أو الادعاء بأنّها قادرة على تخفيف البقع الداكنة يوحي بأنّ لون البشرة الفاتح أو الأبيض هو أفضل من لون بشرتك الفريد”. ثم أضافت “لم تكن هذه غايتنا أبداً فالبشرة الصحية بشرة جميلة”.

مع منطقة تشكّل أكثر من نصف سوق تفتيح البشرة العالمي (7.5 مليار دولار من أصل 13.3 مليار دولار) يمكن القول بأنّ خطوط إنتاج Johnson & Johnson كانت بدافع جني الأرباح.

قد يكون تأكيد سحب خطّي إنتاج Clean & Clear و Neutrogena من الأسواق خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح، إلا أنّ ادعاء الشركة بأنّ غايتها لا تتعدّى نطاق تعزيز البشرة الصحية لا يزال موضع النقاش. تمّ بيع منتجات Clean & Clear Fairness و Neutrogena Fine Fairness فقط في الشرق الأوسط والأسواق الآسيوية الأخرى حيث يتمثّل الجمال الحقيقي في الحصول على بشرة بيضاء، ويُعزى ذلك إلى حدّ كبير إلى العقليات الاستعمارية. إنّ رفض Johnson & Johnson الاعتراف بمدى مشاركتها في الممارسات العنصرية يجب أن يؤخذ في الاعتبار. وفي نفس الوقت لا تزال منتجات Fair & Lovely من شركة Unilever موجودة في الأسواق.

شارك هذا المقال

Skin Whitening Creams Are Finally Being Pulled from Arab Markets

I mean, it's a good place to start...

by

Skin lightening creams have long been normalised across North Africa and the Middle East.

However Johnson & Johnson—the corporation behind popular staples like Clean & Clear Fairness and Neutrogena Fine Fairness—are finally putting the racist practice to a halt by pulling both ranges off the shelves in their Middle Eastern and Asian markets. 

The move comes in the midst of a powerful streak of Black Lives Matter protests in America, during which a number of multi-national corporations have made long-overdue changes in order to align with the movement’s anti-racist demands. 

Last week, Bandaid (which is also a Johnson & Johnson company) introduced a new line of racially diverse bandages, having previously only sold its single-toned line since the company’s founding in 1920. 

A number of other companies have taken similar measures, namely Ben & Jerrys’, which issued statements in support of Black Lives Matter, but still manufactures and sells its products in illegal Israeli settlements,

Conversations over the past few weeks highlighted that some product names or claims on our dark spot reducer products represent fairness or white as better than your own unique skin tone,” Johnson & Johnson said in a statement. “This was never our intention – healthy skin is beautiful skin.” 

With the region making up more than half of the global skin whitening market ($7.5 billion out of $13.3 billion), it could be argued that Johnson & Johnson’s product lines were motivated by profit. 

Confirming that both product lines by Clean & Clear and Neutrogena would be pulled off the shelves may be a step in the right direction, however the company’s claim that their intentions were merely to promote healthy skin is still up for debate. Both Clean & Clear Fairness and Neutrogena Fine Fairness product lines were only sold in the Middle East and other Asian markets where white skin remains a beauty ideal, largely due to colonialist mindsets. Johnson & Johnson’s refusal to acknowledge the full-scope of its participation in racist practices is something for all of us to bear in mind. In the meantime, Unilever’s Fair & Lovely is still on shelves.

Share this article