Fair & Lovely يجب حظرها بالكامل، وهذا هو السبب

تغيير اسم كريم تفتيح البشرة لا يكفي

by

انتشرت حركة Black Lives Matter انتشاراً عالميّاً كبيراً. على الرغم من المناشدات الكثيرة لوقف تمويل قوّات الشرطة الأمريكية التي لم تؤتِ ثمارها بعد، إلا أنّ حركة BLM قرّرت فضح الشركات وإبراز دورها الكبيرفي إدامة الممارسات العنصرية في جنوب العالم.

في الأسبوع الماضي تجاوز تأثير الحركة مجموعة Johnson & Johnson الأمريكية التي قامت بسحب منتجات تبييض البشرة من الأسواق الآسيوية ليطال هذا النقاش العالمي حول العنصرية شركة Unilever المنتجة لعلامة تبييض البشرة الشهيرة Fair & Lovely والتي تميل إلى حلّ هذه المشكلة. ما هو حلّهم؟ إعادة تسمية المنتج.

قالت Sunny Jain المديرة التنفيذية للشركة في تصريح للعلامة “نحن ندرك بأنّ استخدام كلمات مثل “تفتيح – تبييض” توحي بأنّها المفردات الوحيدة التي تصف الجمال المثالي، إلا أنّنا نعتقد بأنّ هذا الكلام غير صحيح ويتوجّب علينا معالجة هذا الأمر. ثم أضافت “في الوقت الذي نعمل فيه على تطوير طريقة الترويج لفوائد منتجاتنا على البشرة والتي  تمنحها تألّقاً ولوناً موحّداً،من المهم أيضاً تغيير اللغة التي نستخدمها في ذلك”.

وتأتي هذه الخطوة بعد أسبوعين من توقيع ما يقارب 14000 شخص على عريضة تطالب بوقف إنتاج وبيع منتجات Fair & Lovely. جاء في البيان الذي تمّ توجيهه إلى Alan Jope الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Unilever “اعتمد هذا المنتج على الاستفادة من العنصريّة الداخليّة وتخليدها بالإضافة إلى تعزيز المشاعر المناهضة للعرق الأسود بين جميع الزبائن”. يُعتبر اعتماد التمييزعلى أساس لون البشرة تعزيزاً مباشراً للعنصريّة والتي تؤثّر بدورها اليوم على ملايين الناس، كما أنّ كريمات تفتيح البشرة مثل Fair & Lovely تساعد على تحفيز هذا الأمر.

هذه ليست المرّة الأولى التي تواجه فيها Fair &Lovely رد فعل عنيف على ممارساتها، حيث كانت هذه العلامة التجارية لعقود منتجاً أساسياً في الأسواق الآسيوية بعد أن حقّقت النجاح لأوّل مرّة في عام 1975 بفضل حصولها على براءة اختراع مادة الميلانين في عام1971(وهو المكوّن الرئيسي الفعّال في هذا الكريم). وعلى الرغم من أنّ الشركة واجهت الكثير من الجدل منذ اختراع هذا المنتج إلا أنّها لاقت نجاحاً مستمرّاً.

منذ تأسيسها تطوّرت Fair&Lovely لتصبح من منتجات شركة Hindustan Unilever (وهي فرع لشركة Unilever في الهند) الأكثر رواجاً في العالم. لقد تمّ بيع هذا المنتج في كلّ المتاجر والأسواق تقريباً ممّا جعله منتجاً أساسياً للعديد من النساء في جنوب آسيا والشرق الأوسط. لقد استحوذ هذا المنتج على اهتمام النساء ذوات البشرة الداكنة بشكل أكبر بفضل الحملات التسويقيّة للعلامة التجارية.

في الهند قام بعض الممثّلين والممثّلات الأكثر شهرة في بوليوود بالترويج لهذا المنتج (مثل Yami Gautam ،Virat Kohli ،Sidharth Malhotra…) من خلال الإعلانات التي لطالما تجاهلت لون البشرة غير الأبيض، كما تمكّنت هذه الإعلانات من الوصول إلى الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا أيضاً.

اسألوا أي عربي أو أفريقي أو جنوب آسيوي وسوف يؤكدون على حضور Fair & Lovely واسع النطاق. ببساطة: يمكن اعتباره ماكدونالدز لصناعة تبييض البشرة. ولكن الآن وعلى خلفية حركة Black Lives Matter فإنّ مجرّد قرار الشركة بإسقاط كلمة “تفتيح” لن يكون كافياً.

قال SanjivMehda رئيس مجلس الإدارة والمدير الإداريفي شركة Hindustan Unilever عندما سُئل عن السبب الذي دفعهم لإسقاط الاسم “إنّنا نسعى لجعل مستحضرات العناية بالبشرة أكثر شمولاً ونريد الاحتفاء بالصور الجماليّة المتنوّعة.لقد قمنا بإزالة الإضاءة عن صورة الوجهين بالإضافة إلى حذف دليل التفتيح من على عبوة Fair & Lovely، كما قامت العلامة التجارية بتطويراسم المنتج منصفة التفتيح إلى الإشراق الذي يُعتبر مقياساً أكثر شموليّة للبشرة الصحية”.

ولكن هل مجرّد تغيير العبوة واللغة المستخدمة في تسويق المنتج يُعدّ أمراً كافياً؟ على الرغم من استخدام كلمة “إشراق” كوسيلة لترويج منتجاتها، إلا أنّ مادة النياسيناميد التي حصلت شركة Unilever على براءة اختراعهالا تزال العنصر الفعّال في المنتج.

إنّ مادة النياسيناميد المعروفة أيضاً بفيتامين B3، تحتوي على بعض الفوائد للبشرة، وقد ثبت أنّها تعالج حب الشباب وتزيد من إنتاج الكولاجين كما أنّها مرطبّ فعّال. كما يتم استخدام هذا المكوّن من قبل بعض العلامات التجاريّة المفضّلة لديكم مثل The Ordinary وMurad وGlamglow على سبيل المثال لا الحصر.

ولكن بعيداً عن فوائده على البشرة،إنّ شركة Unilever قامت باستخدام هذه المادة الكيميائية بشكل كامل وتسويقها لما لها من فعاليّة في تبييض البشرة. وكما هو الحال في Johnson & Johnson فقد استفادت Unilever  من معايير الجمال الأوروبيّة المثاليّة التي تحفّزالعنصرية الداخلية التي تعاني منها العديد من النساء في جنوب آسيا والمنطقة العربية وأفريقيا بفضل تسويقها الناجح لمستحضرات تفتيح لون البشرة والذي امتد إلى 45 عام، تعدّ Unilever القوّة وراء الصناعة الضخمة لمستحضرات تبييض البشرة والبالغة 13 مليار دولار. لذلك علينا الأخذ بعين الاعتبار بأنّ تغيير اسم المنتج لن يبطل 45 عام من التبييض. لذا علينا أن نبدأ معاً بحظر منتجات تبييض البشرة بشكل كامل.

شارك هذا المقال

Fair & Lovely Should Be Banned, Not Renamed

Changing the name of skin whitening creams is not enough

by

The Black Lives Matter movement has gone global. Although pleas to defund American police forces has yet to bear fruit, BLM has managed to expose the far-reaching hands of corporations, and their role in perpetuating racist practices in the global south. 

Last week, the movement’s influence overtook American conglomerate Johnson & Johnson, which pulled its skin whitening products from Asian markets. Now, the global discourse on racism has left Unilever, the company behind popular skin whitening brand Fair & Lovely, inclined to make a problem-solving move. Their solution? Renaming the product. 

“We recognise that the use of the words ‘fair’, ‘white’ and ‘light’ suggest a singular ideal of beauty that we do not think is right, and we want to address this,” said Sunny Jain, a company executive, in a statement from the brand. “As we are evolving the way we communicate the skin benefits of our products that deliver radiant and even-tone skin, it’s also important to change the language we use.”

The move comes two weeks after almost 14,000 people signed a petition calling for the halt of production and sale of Fair & Lovely products. “This product has built upon, perpetuated and benefited from internalized racism and promotes anti-blackness sentiments amongst all its consumers,” read the petition, which was addressed to Alan Jope, Unilever’s CEO. “Colourism, discrimination based on the colour of your skin, is a direct by-product of racism affecting millions of people today, that fairness creams such as Fair & Lovely continue to advance.”

This is not the first time Fair & Lovely has faced backlash for its practices. The brand has been a staple in Asian markets for decades, having first hit shelves in 1975 thanks to creating and patenting a melanin suppressor (the cream’s main active ingredient) in 1971). The company has borne the brunt of controversy since the product’s inception but has continued to prevail regardless.  

Since its founding, Fair & Lovely has grown to become one of Hindustan Unilever’s (the Indian arm of Unilever) most successful products. It was sold in nearly every store and marketplace, positioning itself as a must-have for many South Asian and Middle Eastern women. Its grip on dark-skinned women was tightened further through the brand’s marketing campaigns. 

In India, some of Bollywood’s most famous actors and celebrities endorsed the product (Yami Gautam, Virat Kohli and Sidharth Malhotra to name a few), in advertisements that were anything but shy about colourism. The same ads made their way to the Middle East and North Africa too. 

Ask any Arab, African or South Asian and they’ll attest to Fair & Lovely’s widespread presence. To put it simply: it’s the McDonalds of the skin whitening industry. And now, against the backdrop of the Black Lives Matter movement, the company’s decision to drop the word ‘fair’, is simply not enough. 

We are making our skincare portfolio more inclusive and want to lead the celebration of a more diverse portrayal of beauty, said Sanjiv Mehda, chairman and managing director of Hindustan Unilever, when asked what pushed them to drop the name, in an interview with Business Standard. “In 2019, we removed the cameo with two faces as well as the shade guides from the packaging of Fair & Lovely, and the brand communication progressed from fairness to glow, which is a more holistic and inclusive measure of healthy skin.”

But is simply changing the packaging and language used in their marketing enough? Despite using the word ‘glow’ as a means to woke-wash its product, Unilever-patented melanin-suppressor Niacinamide remains the active ingredient in the product.

Niacinamide, which is also known as Vitamin B3, does carry some skin benefits; it’s been proven to treat acne, increase the production of collagen, and to be an effective hydrant. The ingredient is also used by some of your favourite brands, namely The Ordinary, Murad, and Glamglow, to name a few.  

But skin benefits aside, the chemical has been strictly used, and marketed by Unilever for its skin-whitening properties. And like Johnson & Johnson, Unilever has profited off the idealization of European beauty standards, and ultimately, the internalized racism many South Asian, Arab, and African women suffer from. With their extremely successful colorism-perpetuating marketing, which has now spanned 45 years, Unilever is the force behind the gargantuan 13 billion dollar skin-whitening industry. So with that in mind, no, changing the name of the product will not undo 45 years of white-washing. Let’s start by banning the operation of skin-bleaching altogether. 

Share this article