دعم فلسطين لا يعني أنّك معادٍ للسامية على الإطلاق

حان الوقت لتوضيح الفرق بينهما

by

في 16 مايو، قام موكب من السيارات التي ترفع الأعلام الفلسطينية بالتجوال في أرجاء الأحياء اليهودية في شمال لندن، وهم يطلقون شعارات وتهديدات ضد اليهود، مما دفع الفلسطينيون في المملكة المتحدة وفي جميع أنحاء العالم لاستخدام منصّاتهم على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي للتنديد بهذه الممارسات، مصرحين بأنّ هذه المجموعة من الناس “لا تمثلنا” وأن المجتمع الفلسطيني مناهض لمعاداة السامية.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أنّ إدانة هذا النوع من السلوك هو أمر طبيعي، فهو حصيلة تاريخ طويل من وصف الفلسطينيين زوراً بأنهم معادون للسامية، ناهيكم عن المحادثات المضللة التي تتناول فلسطين وخاصة تلك التي يطرحها السياسيون الذين يدعمون سياسة الفصل العنصري، والتي لطالما أسهمت وبشكل كبير في تضليل الناس وجعلهم يعتقدون بأن معاداة الصهيونية تعني فعلياً معاداة السامية.

ولكن قبل الاستفاضة في هذا الأمر، علينا أولاً تقديم تعريف مبسّط يشرح معنى المصطلحين والفرق بينها. في حين أنّ “معاداة الصهيونية” تعني مناهضة قيام دولة إسرائيل وسياسة الفصل العنصري التي تمارسها في فلسطين، فإنّ “معاداة السامية” هي شكل من أشكال العنصرية وكراهية الشعب اليهودي.

لأنّ الخلط بين المصطلحين سيؤدي حتماً للخلط بين الشعب اليهودي المنتشر في جميع أنحاء العالم وإسرائيل، وربط قيم الاستعمار وسياسة الفصل العنصري بالدين اليهودي وهو أمر خاطئ، فليس كل اليهود لديهم روابط بإسرائيل، كما أنّ الوقوف ضد إسرائيل لم يكن يوماً قضيّة ذات طابع ديني بل هو قضيّة إنسانية.

ولقد استهدف هذا النوع من الخطاب المشاهير الذين يدعمون القضية ويدافعون عنها في محاولة لتثبيط عزيمتهم وإسكات أصواتهم، ولا سيما الأختين حديد ودوا ليبا اللواتي اتهمن من خلال إعلان نشر في صحيفة نيويورك تايمز بـ “تشويه سمعة الدولة اليهودية” و”الدعوة إلى محرقة ثانية” لمجرد أنّهن صرّحن بدعمهن لفلسطين ومناهضتهن للاحتلال الإسرائيلي.

وبالرغم من ثبات كل من الأختين حديد ودوا ليبا على مواقفهن غير مكترثات باتهامهن بمعاداة السامية، إلا أن قدرة وسائل الإعلام السائدة على تحويل رسالة دعم البلاد التي مزقتها الحرب إلى اتهام بمعاداة السامية كانت وباعتراف الجميع قوية بما يكفي لدفع مشاهير أمثال مارك روفالو الذي غرّد قبل وقت مضى على منصّته على تويتر بتصريح يدعم تحرير فلسطين، إلى نشر اعتذار عن اتهامه لإسرائيل بجريمة “الإبادة الجماعية”.

بالرغم من أنّ معاداة السامية هي قضية حقيقية ومثيرة للقلق في جميع أنحاء العالم، إلا أنّ الخلط بين النضال من أجل نيل حرية فلسطين ومعاداة السامية هو منطق خاطئ ومعيب لأنّه يتجاهل نضال الفلسطينيين وضحايا معاداة السامية على حدٍ سواء.

وبهدف القضاء على هذا الالتباس واستئصاله، لعبت وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي دوراً محورياً في تغيير السرد النمطي ومناهضة الأفكار الراسخة التي تشوه الصوت الفلسطيني وتتهمه بمعاداة السامية. وفي هذا الصدد تم تداول صور غرافيكية توضّح المقومات الأساسية لهذا التفكير الخاطئ والمعيب على المنصات، ناهيكم عن مبادرة النشطاء بإغلاق أي وسائط مضللة في الحال. قد تكون هذه مجرد بداية لنشوء عصر جديد تمتلك فيه وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي قوة أكبر من وسائل الإعلام السائدة.

شارك هذا المقال

No, Supporting Palestine Doesn’t Make You Antisemetic

We need to draw the line

by

On May 16, a convoy of cars with Palestinian flags drove through Jewish neighbourhoods in north London, shouting threats aimed at Jews. Palestinians in the UK and across the globe immediately took to social media to condemn the act, stating that this group of people “do not represent us” and that the Palestinian community stands against antisemitism. 

The urge to condemn this kind of behavior is only natural, stemming from a long history of Palestinians being falsely labeled as antisemitic. And misleading conversations about Palestine, especially from politicians who support the apartheid, have long mislead the public into thinking that anti-Zionism is synonymous with antisemitism. 

Before we dive deeper into this, here’s a simplified definition of both terms. Anti-Zionism is the opposition of the state of Israel and the apartheid it has led in Palestine. Antisemitism, however, is a form of racism and hatred towards Jewish people.

To confuse both would also conflate Jewish people around the world with Israel, and to appropriate values of colonialism and apartheid to Judaism, which is erroneous simply because not all Jewish people have ties with Israel and standing against Israel has never been a matter of religion, rather, humanitarianism. 

This kind of rhetoric has been targeted at celebrities, arguably in an effort to discourage them, notably the Hadid sisters and Dua Lipa who were accused in a New York Times ad of “vilifying the Jewish state” and “calling for a second Holocaust” simply for their stance against the occupation of Palestine.

And while neither the Hadid’s or Dua Lipa have backtracked in their statements despite accusations of antisemitism, mainstream media’s ability to deflect a message of support of the war-torn nation into an accusation of antisemitism is admittedly powerful. Just take Mark Ruffalo as an example, who, after tweeting in support of Palestinian Liberation, issued an apology for suggesting that Israel is committing ‘genocide’. 

There is no arguing that antisemitism is a real and alarming issue across the world, but conflating the fight for Palestine’s freedom with antisemitism is a flawed logic that neglects the struggle of both Palestinians and victims of antisemitism.

To eradicate this confusion, social media has been playing a pivotal role in changing the narrative and rooting against anti-semitic pollution of the Palestinian voice. Graphics explaining the fundamentals of this flawed reasoning have been circulating the platforms and activists are shutting down any misleading media in real time. Maybe this is just the beginning of a new era wherein social media might just hold more power than mainstream media.

Share this article