تعرفوا على مصممة دار Celine السورية مايا شنتوت

تصاميم للمرأة العربية القوية بلمساتٍ إيطالية

by

من الصعب تصديق أن المصممة السورية مايا شنتوت والمقيمة في باريس تبلغ من العمر 25 عاماً فقط. فبنظرةٍ واحدة على مسيرتها المهنية نلاحظ أنها عملت في أهم وأكبر دور الموضة في العالم. فقد عملت هذه المصممة الشابة لدى Hermès و Chloé ومؤخراً في Celine حيث عملت إلى جانب  هادي سليمان.

على الرغم من شهرتها، إلا أن نجاحها لم يتحقق بين عشية وضحاها. فخريجة المدرسة الباريسية الشهيرة La Chambre Syndicale de la Couture Parisienne، والفائزة بجائزة LVMH لخريجي الأزياء في عام 2018، تستحق أن نتابعها ونلقي الضوء على أعمالها في عام 2020.

View this post on Instagram

Never coming home

A post shared by Maya Chantout (@mayachantout) on

بعد أن تركت عملها مؤخراً لدى دار Celine، تطلق شنتوت الآن علامتها الخاصة التي تحمل اسمها والتي تصفها بأنها “مزيج بين التصاميم الفرنسية الكلاسيكية والأقمشة السورية”

تُعتبر الموضة بالنسبة لشنتوت، شكل من أشكال سرد القصص والروايات. فهي مفعمة بالإلهام الذي يعود لذكريات طفولتها في سوريا. تروي شنتوت كيف تستخدم تراث عائلتها كمصدرٍ للوحي في عملها “الاستماع إلى فيروز في الصباح والجلوس مع والدتي خلال أيام الصيف الحارة في قريتي المجاورة لدمشق”.

أما عن ذكرياتها الأولى مع الموضة فكانت عند شرائها لسروالٍ من الجينز مع رقعاتٍ من الفواكه الملونة من الخلف من متجرٍ لبيع الملابس المستعملة في سوريا. فتقول “ارتديته في أول يوم لي في الصف السابع. وشعرت حينها بالقوة والتميز وأعتقد أنني عرفت في ذلك اليوم ما الذي أريد القيام به في الحياة. لقد أردت تصميم ملابس تجعل الناس يشعرون بما شعرت به يومها”.

من خلال تصفح حساب شنتوت على الإنستاغرام، نلاحظ إحساسها الملفت بالأناقة. فهي تستمد إلهامها من النساء العربيات القويات في الأفلام القديمة ولذلك تأتي تصاميمها المفعمة بالأنوثة والإثارة والحرية مع لمسة من البريق والتوهج.

View this post on Instagram

Celebrating @Rayanmekouar 🐆

A post shared by Maya Chantout (@mayachantout) on

ما يميز شنتوت هو قدرتها على تحقيق التوازن بين الجمال والأصالة ومشاعر الفرح. فغالباً ما ترتدي القمصان المكشكشة والفساتين الفضفاضة المكشوفة عند الكتفين بنقشة الفهد التي تتناغم مع منحنيات الجسد بدرجاتٍ زاهية من ألوان الزهر والبنفسجي والأخضر والبرتقالي – ويبدو واضحاً أن شنتوت تفضّل التصاميم الجريئة على الصيحات الدارجة. إذ تؤكد “برأيي لا ينبغي أن تكون هناك أي قواعد في الموضة، فالصيحات تمّ اختراعها لزيادة استهلاك الناس فقط”.

تعمل هذه المصممة الشابة حالياً على علامتها الخاصة، وتعتزم صناعة ملابسها في مشاغل الحرفيين في وطنها الأم مع التزامها بمساعدة شعبها في الوقت ذاته. “لدي حلم بأن أصبح هذا الصوت الذي يذكر الناس بأن هناك شيء آخر موجود في الأزياء وشيء آخر موجود في سوريا بخلاف الحرب”.

شارك هذا المقال

Celine’s Maya Chantout is the Syrian Designer to Watch

Think Arab femme fatale meets La Dolce Vita

by

It’s hard to believe that Paris-based Syrian designer Maya Chantout is only 25-years-old. One skim through her résumé reads like a who’s who of fashion. The young designer has already helmed stints at Hermès, Chloé and more recently Celine, where she worked alongside Hedi Slimane. 

Despite the namedropping – her success didn’t come overnight. An alumnus of prestigious Parisian school La Chambre Syndicale de la Couture Parisienne, and winner of the LVMH fashion graduate prize in 2018, it’s safe to say Chantout is well deserving of a space on your radar in 2020.

View this post on Instagram

Never coming home

A post shared by Maya Chantout (@mayachantout) on

Having just quit her job at Celine, Chantout is now launching her namesake label which she calls a “hybrid mixture of classic French shapes and savoir-faire with Syrian fabrics”

For Chantout, fashion is a form of storytelling. Bursts of inspiration usually come from resurrecting memories from her childhood in Syria. “Listening to Fairuz in the morning and antiquing with my mother during our warm summer days in my village next to Damascus”, she says, recalling how she uses her family heritage as a backdrop for her work.

Her first fashion memory? Buying a pair of jeans with colourful fruit patches on the back in a second-hand shop in Syria. “I wore it to my first day of 7th grade. I felt so powerful and unique in it and I think that was the day I knew that this is what I want to do in life. I wanted to design clothes that make people feel what I felt that day”, she continues. 

It only takes a few seconds of scrolling through Chantout’s Instagram feed to notice her eye-catching sense of style. Feminine, sensual, free and with a touch of flamboyance—she draws inspiration from Arab femme fatales in old films.

View this post on Instagram

Celebrating @Rayanmekouar 🐆

A post shared by Maya Chantout (@mayachantout) on

What sets Chantout apart is how she balances sincere authenticity and a contagious sense of joyfulness. Often spotted wearing ruffled shirts, off-shoulder necklines, leopard print and slip dresses—that flirt with her curves in vivid shades of pink, purple, green and orange—Chantout prefers bold statements over trends. “ I don’t believe there should be any rules in fashion and in my own opinion, trends were invented just to make people consume more”, she affirms.

Currently working on her label, she plans to make her clothes in artisanal ateliers back home and is committed to help her people along the way. “I have a dream of becoming this voice that reminds people that something else exists in fashion and something else exists in Syria other than war”.

Share this article