هكذا تكون العزلة الذاتية عندما تكونون عازبين ووحيدين

خمسة شبابٍ يتحدثون عن حياتهم في ظل الحجر الصحي

by

لا شكّ بأن الحجر الصحي صعبٌ على الجميع، ولكن بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يطبقونه بمفردهم، قد يكون الوضع أكثر صعوبة. فعدم وجود أي شخصٍ للتحدث معه أو الطهي معه أو تناول الطعام معه أو ممارسة التمارين الرياضية معه أو القيام بأي شيء معه في هذه المرحلة هو أمر مروّع على الصعيدين النفسي والعاطفي.

وفي حين أن البعض اختاروا البقاء بعيدين عن شركائهم، فإن الكثيرين يمرون بهذه التجربة بمفردهم وهم عازبون. ولذا تحدثنا مع خمسة شبابٍ عرب لمعرفة كيف يشعرون.

يوسف، 27 عاماً، عماني
“أنا موجود حالياً في السعودية أستمتع بالراحة من العمل والسفر المستمر. ولكنني أشعر بالإرباك لأنني أحاول معرفة ما ستؤول إليه الأحوال في الأسابيع القادمة، حتى أن نومي مضطرب. كما أنني لست معتاداً على العيش في مكانٍ لا أرى فيه النساء لفترةٍ طويلة. فإن رؤية النساء في السعودية أمرٌ صعبٌ بكل الأحوال، إلا أن هذا الوضع يجعل الأمور أكثر تعقيداً. ففي مثل هذه الأوقات، أود احتضان أو معانقة أو إمساك يد شخص ما. أعتقد أنني لا أعرف حقاً كيف أتعامل مع مشاعري الآن”.

نادية، 27 عاماً، تونسية فرنسية
“لم يسبق لي أن أغازل أحداً كما الآن أثناء فترة الحجر الصحي. من يدري، ربما يُنهي فيروس كورونا حياة العزوبية التي أعيشها. فقد اتصل بي حبيبي السابق مرة أخرى وسألني عما إذا كنت أرغب في ممارسة التمارين الرياضية في الهواء الطلق معه ( مع احترام المسافة الآمنة بالطبع)، كما دردشت مع شابٍّ يعجبني في الجامعة وقد جمعتنا محادثات أدبية رائعة. أشعر بأن الحجر يجبرنا على التعرف على الناس والتواصل معهم ببطء، وهو ما أعتقد أنه أفضل. فعادةً كل شيء يكون سهلاً وسريعاً. أشعر أن المغازلة في فترة الحجر الصحي ستتطور بشكلٍ تدريجي لتكون أعمق وأكثر معنى”.

سلمى، 25 عاماً، فرنسية جزائرية
“الغريب في الموضوع أن أموري بخير. لقد اعتقدت أنني سأصاب بالجنون لأنني شخص شديد النشاط والحركة. وعندما لا أفعل شيئاً، أميل إلى الإفراط في التفكير وينتابني الحزن. اعتقدت أن الحجر سيكون كابوساً، ولكنني أدرك الآن أن هذا هو ما أحتاجه بالضبط. فأنا أمضي وقتاً ممتعاً نوعاً ما وأحاول أن أبقى إيجابيةً قدر الإمكان ومتابعيني على مواقع التواصل مصدر دعمٍ كبير لي. إنهم يشكرونني ويقولون لي بأنني أساعدهم على البقاء إيجابيين، وهذا بدوره يشجعني على البقاء إيجابيةً أيضاً. أقوم بممارسة التمارين الرياضية في المنزل وأساعد أيضاً أحد جيراني المسنين في شراء مستلزمات البقالة، مما يجعلني أشعر بالنشاط وبأنني مفيدة. أسأل نفسي أحياناً ما إذا كان يجب علي الانضمام إلى بعض الأشخاص وقضاء فترة العزلة ضمن مجموعة، ولكنني أتذكر حينها أنني محظوظة جداً ولا ينبغي أن أتذمر. والمضحك بالأمر أن الحجر الصحي قربني من حبيبي السابق. فنحن نطمئن على بعضنا البعض ولا أعتقد أن هذا شيء كنا سنفعله في ظروفٍ أخرى. لكنني لن أكذب، فأنا لا أستطيع الانتظار حتى تنتهي هذه الجائحة لأتمكن من التمتع بعلاقةٍ رومانسية مرة أخرى”.

كريم، 24عاماً، أردني
“أشعر الآن وكأنني في فيلم. فأحياناً أشعر بالوحدة والقلق، ويُحزنني أنني بعيد عن عائلتي لفترة غير محددة من الوقت (باعتبار أنني أدرس في نيويورك). أنا لست من محبي وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، لذا فأنا أقرأ الكتب وأشاهد الأفلام. ولكن حدث معي أمرٌ جنوني قبل بدء حالة العزل مباشرة، إذ بدأتُ بالدردشة مع فتاة في الجامعة وشعرت أنه لدينا الكثير من الأشياء المشتركة. ثمّ بدأنا في إرسال الرسائل الإلكترونية لبعضنا، والآن أشعر حقاً وكأننا في علاقة بالمراسلة، على الرغم من أننا التقينا حوالي ثلاث مرات. نحن نتحدث كثيراً مع بعض، وأستيقظ بحماس وأنا متشوق لكتابة رسالةٍ إلكترونية لها. ربما سأخرج من هذا الحجر الصحي بعلاقة حب، ولكنني الآن أشعر بأنني في أفضل حال كونني أعزب”.

لارا، 25 عاماً، لبنانية
“بالنظر إلى ظروف الحجر الذاتي، أشعر بأن مشاعري أكثر قوة وحدة حدة خاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالمواعدة. فعندما لا نستطيع رؤية العالم الخارجي وأن نكون جسدياً في مكانٍ ما مع شخصٍ آخر، فهذا يجعلنا نتوق لهذا الأمر كثيراً. بالطبع أخذت المواعدة عبر الإنترنت دوراً كبيراً في الوقت الحالي. ولكن الحلقة المفقودة هي الجاذبية الجسدية. فأنا أتحدث حالياً إلى شخصٍ ما ولكننا لم نلتقِ بعد رغم تواصلنا مع بعض من خلال مكالمات الفيديو، وهو أمر غريب جداً ولكنه مثير نوعاً ما بغض النظر عن النتيجة”.

عثمان، 26 عاماً، تونسي
لن أرفض في هذه الفترة الصعبة أي فرصةٍ للعناق أو التواصل الجسدي رغم التباعد الاجتماعي المفروض، فالحجر الصحي أمر يبعث على الكآبة والحزن. لطالما اعتقدت أن أسلوب الحياة الصاخب والسريع هو ملاذ من الوحدة والتفكير بحقيقة أنني أعزب. ولكنني وجدت أن العزلة أكثر راحةً مما كنت أتصور. لست من هواة “إعادة التفكير بالذات” ولكن هذه الفترة أتاحت لي الشفاء من أحزان تجاربي السابقة وجعلتني أكثر استعداداً لتقبل وجود شخص جديد في حياتي مرة أخرى بعد انتهاء هذه الأزمة.

شارك هذا المقال

The Reality of Self Isolating When You’re Single and Alone

Five young people open up about life under quarantine

by

Quarantine is hard for everyone. But for those who are self-isolating, being alone can be even more triggering. Not having anyone to speak to IRL, cook with, eat with, workout with, or just do anything with at this point is emotionally daunting. 

While some might have chosen to stay apart from their partners, many are going through this experience alone and single. We caught up with five young Arabs to find out how it feels.

Youssef, 27, Omani
“I’m currently in Saudi, and I’m enjoying the break from work and constant travels. But it’s confusing; because I’m trying to figure out how weeks work out. Even sleeping is confusing. I’m also not used to not seeing women for so long. Also in Saudi, it’s even harder to see women anyway but this situation makes things more complicated. At times like this, I’d like to cuddle, hug or hold someone’s hand. I guess I don’t really know how to navigate my emotions right now.”

Nadia, 27, French-Tunisian
“I have never flirted as much as during quarantine. Who knows, maybe Coronavirus will bring my single life to a close. My ex has contacted me again and asked if I wanted to workout outdoors with him (of course respecting the safe distance) and I’ve been chatting with this guy I like at university and we’ve been having great literature conversations. I feel like it’s forcing us to get to know people and connect with them slowly, which I think is better. Usually, everything is so easy and immediate. I feel like quarantine flirting will develop more progressively and be deeper and more meaningful.” 

Selma, 25, French-Algerian
“Strangely, I’m doing really fine. I thought I was going to go crazy because I’m a hyperactive person and I’m constantly on the run. When I do nothing, I tend to overthink things and get sad. I thought it was going to be a nightmare but I’m realising it’s exactly what I needed. I’m kind of having a great time, I’m trying to stay as positive as possible and my followers are a great source of support. They are thanking me and telling me I’m helping them stay positive, which in return, is making me stay positive. I workout at home and I also help an elderly neighbour with his grocery shopping, so I’m staying active and also feel useful. Sometimes I ask myself if I should have joined people and isolate with a group, but then I remember that I’m very lucky and shouldn’t be complaining.. But I’m not going to lie, can’t wait for this to end so I can get romantic affection again.”

Karim, 24, Jordanian
“I feel like I’m in a movie right now. I sometimes feel lonely and anxious, and it makes me sad to be far from my family for an undetermined period of time (I study in New York). I’m not a social media person, so I’m more into reading books and watching films. But something crazy has happened to me. Just before the lockdown, I started chatting with this girl at university, and I felt like we had a lot of things in common. We started emailing each other and now it really feels like we’re in an epistolary relationship—although we only saw each other like three times maybe. We’ve been exchanging so much and everyday I wake up looking forward to writing her an email. Maybe I’ll come out of this in a relationship but right now, being single has never felt better.”

Lara, 25, Lebanese
“Considering the circumstances of self-quarantining, I feel like your emotions are much more heightened especially when it comes to dating. When you can’t see the outside world and be physically in a space with someone else makes you long for it more. Of course online dating has taken such a big role right now. The missing piece is the physical chemistry built in order to date someone. I’m currently talking to someone and we haven’t met yet but we have video called each other a few times which is very strange but it kind of is exciting in a way regardless of the outcome.”

Osama, 26, Tunisian
Although I would absolutely not refuse a hug or some non-socially distanced affection in these challenging times being single and quarantined is pretty underwhelming. For a good while I thought the constant shatter or our hectic daily lives was an escape from eventually having to face single hood or lack of companionship. Surprisingly, It showed to be way more comfortable than what I would have expected it to be. I’m not a fan of that whole self-reflection narrative but It’s been a way for me to heal from past experiences and process the past with more distance which potentially makes me ready to welcome someone back in once It all blows over.

Share this article