مؤسسة The Slow Factory تطلق برنامج تعليمي لأصحاب البشرة الملوّنة يدرّسه أصحاب البشرة الملوّنة

هذه هي طريقة إنهاء المناهج الدراسية الاستعمارية

by

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتعليم فإن الدعوات إلى إنهاء المناهج الدراسية الاستعمارية مستمرة منذ سنوات ولكن دون جدوى. إلا أنّ منظمة The Slow Factory قد تولت زمام الأمور بنفسها. في العام الماضي حيث أطلقت المؤسسة برنامجاً تعليمياً جديداً عبر الإنترنت ليتم تدريسه من قبل مدرسين من ذوي البشرة السوداء والسمراء والسكان الأصليين والأقليات العرقية للطلاب الملونين، وها هم يعيدون الكرة لفصل دراسي جديد.

لجعل الأمر حقيقياً، تعاونت الناشطة ومؤسسة The Slow Factory Foundation سيلين سمعان مع علامة Adidas لتقديم دورات تدريبية مجانية للمشاركين ذوي البشرة الملونة.

خلال الفصل الدراسي (شتاء/ ربيع) ستركز الدورات على مواضيع مثل “الموضة والاستعمار” التي تدرسها سمعان نفسها، ومن المقرر أن تقوم الإستراتيجية الإبداعية حواء أرسللا بتدريس دورة بعنوان “الموضة والروحانية”، في حين ستتولى المصممة والفنانة كورينا إمريش دورة تدريبية حول “الموضة والمقاومة”.

تشمل الدورات الأخرى عناوين مثل “الموضة والثقافة” لمصممة الأزياء الأمريكية تريسي ريس، والتي تستكشف من خلالها “الطرق التي يمكن أن تؤثر بها الموضة على الثقافة وكيف للثقافة أن تحفز العمل”، كما ستتولى تيجو أديسا فيرار وهي كاتبة وشاعرة وجغرافية أمريكية جامايكية تدريس دورة بعنوان “الموضة والعمل في السجون”  لاستكشاف تاريخ العمل في السجون وآثاره على صناعة الأزياء والاستدامة.

كما سيتضمن هذا الفصل الدراسي سلسلة من الدورات التي تركز على التاريخ. هل تساءلتم يوماً كيف أصبح البلاستيك عنصراً أساسياً عصرياً؟ ستعود الدكتورة ثيان شيروس الأستاذة المساعدة في معهد الأزياء للتكنولوجيا في نيويورك بتاريخ المواد إلى أصولها وستكتشف روابطها بالاستعمار. وكجزء من سلسلة التاريخ، ستستكشف أديسا فيرار تاريخ القطن وتناقش طرق استخدامه خلال حركة الاستدامة المزدهرة في عالم صناعة الموضة.

يمكنكم التسجيل لبرنامج “Open Education” هنا.

شارك هذا المقال

The Slow Factory Launches BIPOC-Taught Educational Program for BIPOC

This is how you decolonize curriculums.

by

When it comes to education, calls for decolonising curriculums have been made for years— to no avail. But The Slow Factory has taken things into their own hands. The foundation has launched a new online educational program to be taught by Black, Brown, Indigenous, and Minority ethnic teachers for BIPOC students last year, and they’re back at it again for a new semester. 

To make it happen, activist and founder of the Slow Factory Foundation, Celine Semaan, partnered up with Adidas, offering the courses at no cost to BIPOC. 

For the Winter/Spring semester, courses will focus on subjects like ‘Fashion and colonialism’, taught by Semaan herself. Creative strategist Hawa Arsala is set to teach a course entitled ‘Fashion and Spirituality,’ while designer and artist Korina Emmerich will spearhead a course on ‘Fashion and Resistance’. 

The programme also includes ‘Fashion and Culture’ class taught by American fashion designer Tracy Reese, exploring the ways “fashion can impact culture and culture can catalyze action”. Teju Adisa-Ferrar, a Jamaican-American writer, poet, and geographer will be taking on a ‘Fashion and Prison Labor’ course, exploring the history of prison labor and its implications on the fashion industry and sustainability. 

A series of history-focused courses are also on the roster. Ever wondered how plastic became a modern staple? Dr. Theanne Schiros, an assistant professor at New York’s Fashion Institute of Technology will trace the material back to its origins and will explore its links to colonialism. As part of the history series, Adisa-Farrar will explore the history of cotton, putting to question its use in the fashion industry’s growing sustainability movement. 

You can sign up for ‘Open Education’ here.

Share this article