الإمارات العربية المتحدة ستكون أول دولة عربية تصل إلى المريخ

إنّه حدث تاريخي

by

ليس من المستغرب على دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والتي تُعتبر موطناً لأطول مبنى في العالم، والحائزة على ما يزيد عن 150 رقما قياسياً عالمياً أن تصنع التاريخ. هذا الأسبوع انضمت الدولة الخليجية إلى أحد أكثر النوادي تميزاً في الكون وهو نادي “مستكشفو الفضاء”.

نجحت الدولة في وضع مسبار “الأمل الإماراتي” في مدار كوكب المريخ يوم الثلاثاء ليصل إلى الكوكب الأحمر بعد 204 يوماً من إطلاقه.

جاء في بيان مشروع الإمارات لاستكشاف المريخ على حسابهم على التويتر “بعد رحلة استغرقت 204 أيام، وقطع مسافة أكثر من 480 مليون كم، يبلغ مسبار الأمل HopeProbe# مدار الالتقاط حول المريخ Mars #“.

كما صرح نائب رئيس الإمارات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم على تويتر “المهمة أنجزت”. يمثل هذا الحدث أول مهمة عربية على الإطلاق بين الكواكب، وهو ليس بالأمر السهل حيث تظهر السجلات أنّ نصف البعثات إلى المريخ قد باءت بالفشل.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أنّ هذا الحدث التاريخي يجعل من الإمارات العربية المتحدة ثاني دولة تصل بنجاح إلى المريخ في محاولتها الأولى، حيث كانت الهند الدولة الأولى. سيظل المسبار يدور حول المريخ لمدة 678 يوماً (لمدة عام مريخي) لجمع البيانات ووضع خريطة الغلاف الجوي للمريخ.

قالت سارة الأميري وزيرة الدولة للتكنولوجيا المتقدمة ورئيسة مجلس إدارة وكالة الإمارات للفضاء “ما جعل هذه المهمة استثنائية ليس فقط وجود 200 إماراتي كانوا يعملون على هذا المشروع، بل هو تعاون 450 شخصاً من مختلف القارات والخلفيات والمعتقدات. لقد كان هذا المشروع مسعى دولياً وهذا كل ما يحتاجه العلم والاستكشاف”.

 

Main image: Courtesy of the Mohammed bin Rashid Space Center

شارك هذا المقال

The UAE Becomes the First Arab Country to Reach Mars

History has been made

by

Home to the tallest building in the world, and holder of upwards of 150 world records, the United Arab Emirates is no stranger to making history. This week, the gulf nation joined what is perhaps one of the universe’s most exclusive clubs: space explorers. 

The nation successfully landed its mission to Mars, named the Hope Probe, on Tuesday, reaching the red planet after 204 days upon its launch. 

“204 days and more than 480 million kms later, the #HopeProbe is now in the Capture Orbit of #Mars,” reads the Hope Mars Mission Twitter account. 

“Mission accomplished,” tweeted UAE’s vice president H.E Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum. The event marks the first ever Arab interplanetary mission, which is no easy feat as records show that half of all missions to Mars fail. 

The historical event also makes the UAE the second country to ever successfully reach Mars on its first try. The first is India. The probe will go on to spend 678 days (one Martian year) gathering data to create a map of the Martian atmosphere. 

“What has made this mission remarkable is not only the 200 Emiratis that were working on this, it’s the 450 people from different continents, backgrounds and beliefs. This was truly an international endeavour and this is what science needs to be, this is what exploration is all about,” said Sarah Al Amiri, Chairwoman of the UAE Space Agency.

 

Main image: Courtesy of the Mohammed bin Rashid Space Center

Share this article