حان وقت الاحتفاء بشعر “لحْرْشْ”

خطوة نحو تقبّل الشعر المجعّد والخشن والمموج

by

يمكن أن يتجسّد الرفض الاجتماعي في عدة أشكال، على سبيل المثال في شمال أفريقيا يُعتبر الشعر المجعّد والخشن والمموج (المعروف باسم “لحْرْشْ”) أحد أشكال هذا الرفض.
في حين أنّ حركة تقبل الشعر الطبيعي تزدهر في جميع أنحاء العالم، لا تزال المنطقة تعاني هذه المشكلة حتى الآن، إلا أنّ ياسين علمي أخذ على عاتقه مهمة كسر هذه الصورة النمطيّة والاحتفاء بجميع أنواع الشعر في المجتمعات المغاربية.

انضم علمي إلى سامية سعداني لإطلاق حركة “Hrach is Beautiful”، حيث أدرك الثنائي أن مصطلح “لحْرْشْ” مرتبط ارتباطاً وثيقاً بقضايا الهوية والتمييز على أساس اللون المتجذّرة في المنطقة، وقد بادرا إلى إطلاق هذه الحملة بهدف تخطي هذه الأفكار المجتمعية النمطية وتحويل نوع الشعر إلى مصدر فخر. 

إن كنتم قد أمضيتم بعض الوقت في شمال أفريقيا، فقد سمعتم بالتأكيد بمصطلح “لحْرْشْ” الذي يستخدمه أغلب الأشخاص وهو معنى تحقيري ليخبروكم بأن لديكم شعراً قبيحاً.

تقول إيمان وهي شابة جزائرية تبلغ من العمر 25 عاماً “عندما أذهب إلى الجزائر خلال الصيف أسمع فتيات يطلقن على الشعر المجعد أو الطبيعي بشكل ساخر لقب “لحْرْشْ”.

بالنسبة لعلمي والسعداني تتعدى حركة “لحْرْشْ” مجرد كونها احتفاء بالشعر، لأنّ مصطلح شعر لحْرْشْ هو استرجاع للجذور الأفريقية.

يثير نوع الشعر قضية غاية في العمق والتعقيد، لأنّ أنواع الشعر تُعد سمة من سمات الجمال في مجتمع اليوم، ذاك المجتمع الذي يهيمن عليه للأسف معيار الجمال الأوروبي الذي يفضل الشعر الناعم الأملس على شعر لحْرْشْ.

لا يمكننا إنكار حقيقة أن معايير الجمال لها تأثير عميق على روابطنا الاجتماعية والثقافية، مما يجعل استعادة الشعر الطبيعي شكل قوي من أشكال التعبير عن الذات. إنها ليست مجرد صورة نمطيّة للهوية الأفريقية، بل هي نوع من المطالبة بالحرية، لأنّها تجسّد قوة للتحرر من الاستعمار الذي دام لعقود من الزمن.

وبحسب علمي، فإن الدلالة السلبية لمصطلح “لحْرْشْ” متجذرة بسبب الافتقار لمعنى الهوية المغاربية وعدم الرغبة في اعتناق هوية أفريقية.

من المألوف بالنسبة لشمال أفريقيا رفض أي ارتباط بالهوية الأفريقية، وهذا نتيجة لهيمنة الاستعمار الأوروبي الذي دام لأكثر من قرن والذي نجح في ترك القارة تعاني من انقسام قاري بفوارق دقيقة مشحونة عنصرياً.

عندما استعمر الأوروبيون أفريقيا سعوا جاهدين لتثقيف السكان، وقد تضمنت هذه العملية في شمال أفريقيا إنكاراً تاماً للميزات الأفريقية النموذجية ومن بينها تقبل الشعر المجعّد.

إلا أنّ التاريخ الاستعماري لم يكن وحده المسؤول عن وضع معايير الجمال في شمال أفريقيا، فقد كان للثقافة السائدة في الشرق الأوسط والخليج دوراً أساسياً، حيث أصبح الشعر الأملس والملامح الناعمة والعيون الزرقاء أو الخضراء من أهم سمات الجمال التي لا يمكن لملايين النساء في شمال أفريقيا تحقيقها للتشبه بنجمات البوب ​​اللواتي يعشقنهن مثل هيفاء وهبي أو نانسي عجرم.

لذا نجد المغاربيين بشعرهم المجعد والمتعرج والمموّج تائهين بين هذين العالمين فهم لا يحققون معايير الجمال الغربية، وهم ليسوا عرباً بما يكفي ليحظوا بمعايير الجمال في الشرق الأوسط. ولكن بفضل جهود شخصيات أمثال علمي والسعداني مؤسسي حركة hrash is Beautiful ستتغير تدريجياً هذه الصورة النمطيّة.

يقول زكريا البالغ من العمر 25 عاماً من أصل جزائري “أفريقيّتي مهمة بالنسبة لي، إنّ دمي أفريقي وكذلك شعري وأنا أحبه. إن امتلاك شعر “لحْرْشْ” ميزة قوية كما أنّه رسالة بحد ذاتها”.

شارك هذا المقال

It’s Time to Celebrate Hrash Hair

Towards the acceptance of the kinky, frizzy, and nappy

by

Stigmatisation can take many forms. In North Africa, kinky, frizzy or nappy hair (commonly called ‘hrach’) are often a target. 

Whilst a natural hair movement continues to thrive around the globe, the issue has yet to be tackled in the region, but Yassin Alami made it his mission to celebrate all types of hair among Maghreb communities. 

Cue in ‘Hrach is Beautiful’, a movement born after Alami joined forces with Samia Saadani. The duo realized that the term ‘hrach’ was directly linked to deep-rooted identity and colourism issues and were quick to launch the campaign with the goal of reversing stigmas and transforming the hair type into a source of pride. 

If you’ve spent some time in North Africa, you’ve definitely heard the term ‘hrash’, and it’s hardly—if ever—used in a positive light. 

“When I go to Algeria during the summer, I hear girls call curly or natural hair ‘hrach’ and often make fun of it,” confirms Imane, a young 25-year-old Algerian.

For Alami and Saadani, the ‘hrash’ movement goes beyond a celebration of hair. For them, a reclamation of hrash is a reclamation of African roots.

Afterall, one’s hair type evokes a much deeper and complex matter. Like all features, hair types are a marker of beauty in today’s society—one that’s unfortunately dominated by a European standard that prefers sleek straight hair to hrash. 

It’s undeniably a beauty standard that has a profound impact on our sociocultural associations, making any reclamation of natural hair a powerful form of expression. It is not only a constant portrait of the African identity, but one that screams freedom. It stands for emancipation from decades of colonization. 

According to Alami, negative connotation given to the label ‘hrach’ is rooted in a lack of understanding of the Maghreb identity and the unwillingness to embrace an African identity. 

It’s not uncommon for North Africans to rebuke associations to African identity, a result of over a century of European colonialism that successfully left the continent suffering through a nuanced, racially-charged continental divide.

When Europeans colonized Africa, they worked tirelessly to acculturate populations. In North Africa that process included a total denial of archetypal African features, which of course included nappy hair.

But colonial history wasn’t alone in setting beauty standards in North Africa. Middle Eastern and Gulf pop culture played a major role too. Smooth hair, small features and blue or green eyes became unachievable goals for millions of women in North Africa to resemble to the pop stars they worship. Think Haifa Wehbe or Nancy Ajram. 

It is between these two realms that we find Maghrebis and their curly, frizzy, kinky and nappy hair: not beautiful by westerner standards, not Arab enough for Middle-Easterns. Thanks to efforts like Alami and Saadani’s ‘hrash is Beautiful’ movement, that’s slowly changing. 

My Africanism is important to me. My blood is African so is my hair and I love it. Having ”hrach” hair is so powerful, it’s a message on its own,” says Zakaria, a 25-year-old Algerian.

Share this article