الإيجابية السامة لا مكان لها في عام 2021

الجانب المظلم من "العقلية الإيجابية"

by

لقد مضى أسبوعان على انتهاء عام 2020، ومع ذلك لم نشهد أيّ حدث جيد. ما زلنا نعيش في خضم الوباء، وأمريكا تتعرض لمحاولة انقلاب، ويتم تداول الأقاويل عن انفصال كيم وكاني.

وبالرغم من كل شيء علينا الاسترخاء والتخلي عن مخاوفنا، وإقناع أنفسنا بطريقة ما بأن العام الجديد سيحمل معه تغييراً جذرياً. لا بد وأنّكم قد سمعتم عن مصطلح الإيجابية السامة التي تمنحكم جرعة من التفاؤل بالرغم من الظروف الراهنة.

من المؤكد أنّكم واجهتم شكلاً من أشكال الإيجابية السامة أثناء تصفح حسابكم على الإنستاغرام خلال فترة الإغلاق، من خلال متابعة شخصية مؤثرة تتحدث كيف “أننا جميعاً نعيش نفس الظروف” أثناء ممارستها اليوجا على مدار الساعة، أو صديقاً صنع فطيرة الموز معتقداً بأنّها الطريقة المثلى للخروج من الوباء.

لكي نكون منصفين، بالرغم من الأخبار السيئة التي كنا نسمعها يومياً، إلا أننا حاولنا جميعاً ضبط أنفسنا والبحث عن أسباب تمنحنا التفاؤل، الأمر الذي جعل منا ضحيّة افتراضات إيجابية تتعلق بالمستقبل ولا يمكن تحقيقها.
أوضحت ناتالي داتيلو، أخصائية نفسية في الصحة السريرية بمستشفى Brigham and Women في حديث مع Washington Post: “في حين أن تنمية العقلية الإيجابية تساعد في التعامل مع الضغوط، إلا أنّ الإيجابية السامة تنبع من فكرة أن الطريقة الأفضل أو الوحيدة للتعامل مع الموقف السيئ هي التحلِّي بنظرة إيجابية وعدم التركيز على السلبية” ثم أضافت “وهذا ناتج عن رغبتنا بالتقليل من قيمة التجارب العاطفية السلبية والمبالغة في تقدير التجارب الإيجابية.”

قد يكون اتخاذ القرارات لعام 2021 أمر رائع، ولا بأس في أن تتطلع للحصول على جسم رشيق لإطلالة الصيف الحار، وإضافة مدن جديدة إلى قائمة السفر الخاصة بك.

إلا أنّ وضع أهداف غير واقعية، يستحيل تحقيقها لأسباب مالية أو مادية بسبب (قيود التأشيرة وإجراءات الإغلاق) يمكن أن يسبب خيبة الأمل.

بالنظر إلى الوضع الراهن، لا زلنا نعيش خيبة الأمل، حيث يرى الخبراء بأننا سنظل ملتزمين بإجراءات التباعد الاجتماعي وارتداء الأقنعة لمدة عام آخر على الأقل.

لذلك، إذا كنتم تحرصون على تعويض ما فاتكم في العام الماضي، يجب البحث عن استراتيجية أفضل من الانغماس في التخطيط لإجازتكم الصيفية القادمة. يُعتبر التركيز على الحاضر منقذاً حقيقياً للصحة العقلية.

شارك هذا المقال

Toxic Positivity Has No Place in 2021

The dark side of ‘good vibes’

by

It’s been merely a week since we closed the book on 2020, yet nothing has truly gotten better. We’re still living through a pandemic. America went through a coup attempt, and Kim and Kanye are apparently getting a divorce. 

Yet, we’ve all felt the urge to let our guards down, somehow convinced that with a new year will come drastic, and immediate change. You might have heard of the term toxic positivity, and that might just be the reason why you’ve been feeling exceptionally optimistic, despite the circumstances. 

Let’s break it down first. You’ve definitely come across some form of toxic positivity while scrolling down your IG feed during lockdown. It might have taken the shape of a cringy influencer preaching how ‘we’re all in this together’ whilst doing yoga 24/7, or a friend who obsessively made banana bread thinking baking is the way out of a pandemic. 

To be fair to them, we all tried to tune out and look for reasons to be optimistic despite being bombarded with bad news on a daily basis. And that’s probably why we became victim to constantly making positive assumptions about the future that never actually came to be.

“While cultivating a positive mind-set is a powerful coping mechanism, toxic positivity stems from the idea that the best or only way to cope with a bad situation is to put a positive spin on it and not dwell on the negative,” explained Natalie Dattilo, a clinical health psychologist with Brigham and Women’s Hospital to the Washington Post. “It results from our tendency to undervalue negative emotional experiences and overvalue positive ones.”

So yes, making resolutions for 2021 is great. It’s ok to look forward to achieving your hot girl summer body and eventually checking new countries off your travel bucket-list. 

But setting unrealistic goals, which are either financially or physically impossible (hello visa and lockdown restrictions) can lead to disappointment. 

By looking at the current situation, disappointment is still to come.  According to experts we’ll still be practicing social distancing and wearing masks for at least another year.

So if you’re eager to make up for what you missed out on last year, you might want to look for a better strategy than obsessively planning your summer vacation way ahead of time. Instead, focusing on the present might be a real mental health savior.  

Share this article