تونس تطبّق قانوناً تاريخياً لمناهضة العنصريّة

إنّها مسألة وقت

by

كل الشكر للناشطة التونسية السوداء “سعدية مصباح”، فقد أقرّت تونس رسمياً قانوناً يجرّم العنصرية.

أقرّ البرلمان التونسي في عام 2018 قانوناً ينص على “القضاء على كل أشكال التمييز العنصري” إلا أنّه لم يدخل حيز التنفيذ حتى الآن. خلال هذا الأسبوع صادق مجلس الوزراء في البلاد على مرسوم جديد يقضي بتأسيس “اللجنة الوطنية لمكافحة التمييز العنصري”. ستكون مهمة هذه اللجنة التي تأسست حديثاً تطبيق القانون الصادر في عام 2018.

على الرغم من أنّ تونس هي الدولة العربية الأولى التي ألغت العبودية في عام 1846 إلا أنّ الحاجة لوجود لجنة مناهضة للعنصرية لا تزال ضرورة ملحّة. في ظل غياب البيانات المتعلقة بجرائم الكراهية، صرّحت “منامتي” وهي عبارة عن جمعية مناهضة للعنصرية في تونس عن تلقي اتصالات يومية تبلغ عن حوادث تتعلق بالعنصريّة.

كما قال الناشط الحقوقي والأستاذ في القانون “جوهر بن مبارك” خلال مقابلة مع صحيفة Arab Weekly: “إنّ العنصرية في تونس دفينة، إنّها خفيّة ومن غير الممكن تمييزها لدى معظم التونسيين”.

لطالما كان الانتشار السريع لحوادث العنف العنصرية قضيّة مستمرة في دول شمال إفريقيا، حيث تصدّرت في عام 2016 امرأة تونسية سوداء عناوين الصحف إثر تعرّضها لإساء لفظيّة في مقاطعة في مركز المدينة، وعلى الرغم من إبلاغها عن الجريمة لم تكترث الشرطة لبلاغها واكتفت بقول “إنّه قانون القانون المحدد”. وبعد ذلك وفي نفس العام تم طعن ثلاثة طلاب سود من الكونغو في محطة القطار.

يكشف فيلم وثائقي لقناة الجزيرة بعنوان “سر تونس البغيض” الطرق الخفيّة التي تتجلى بها العنصرية في الدولة الواقعة في شمال إفريقيا، لذا فإنّ وجود لجنة وطنية جديدة لمكافحة التمييز العنصري بات أمراً غايّة في الأهميّة.

شارك هذا المقال

Tunisia Implements Landmark Anti-Racism Law

… it’s about time

by

Largely thanks to Black Tunisian activist Saadia Mosbah, Tunisia has officially criminalized racism.

Tunisian parliament passed the “Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination” act in 2018, but little has been done in terms of implementation until now. This week, the nation’s Council of Ministers approved a new decree that created a “National Commission for the Fight Against Racial Discrimination”. The newly founded commission will spearhead the implementation of the 2018 law. 

Despite Tunisia being the first Arab nation to abolish slavery in 1846, the need for an anti-racism committee has persisted. Whilst data on hate crimes is non-existent, Mnemty, an anti-racism group in Tunisia, reports to receiving daily calls about racist incidents.   

As civil rights activist and law professor Jawhar Ben Mbrak pointed out in an interview with Arab Weekly: “Racism in Tunisia is latent. It is not distinct, not discernible by most Tunisians.”

The proliferation of violent racist incidents has long-been a continued issue in the North African nation. In 2016, a Black Tunisian woman made headlines after being verbally abused in the downtown district. Despite reporting the crime, the woman was turned away by police who cited ‘a law of specific law’. Later that same year, three Black Congolese students were stabbed in a train station. 

An Al-Jazeera documentary, entitled ‘Tunisia’s Dirty Secret’, delineates the subtle ways racism manifests itself in the North African country—and needless to say, the new National Commission for the Fight Against Racial Discrimination is much needed.

Share this article