فيلم تونسي يتوّج في مهرجان البندقية السينمائي

الأفلام العربية تلقى التكريم الذي تستحقه

by

حصد الفيلم التونسي “الرجل الذي باع جلده” للمخرجة وكاتبة السيناريو التونسية كوثر بن هنية جائزتين في مهرجان البندقية السينمائي الدولي الشهير.

حاز الممثل السوري يحيى مهايني على جائزة Orizzonti لأفضل ممثل عن دوره الرائد في الفيلم إلى جانب الممثلة الأسطورية مونيكا بيلوتشي. كما حاز الفيلم أيضاً على جائزة أديبو كينغ للإدماج وهي إحدى جوائز المهرجان الإضافية التي تمنحها الاتحادات المستقلة.

الآن وفي دورته السابعة والسبعين، يخطو المهرجان هذا العام خطوة كبيرة نحو التمثيل العربي، حيث انضمت المنتجة التونسية درة بوشوشة إلى لجنة التحكيم. كما تضمن المهرجان عدداً من الأفلام الناطقة باللغة العربية التي تتنافس ضمن فئة آفاق، نذكر منها فيلم “زنقة كونتاكت” للمخرج المغربي إسماعيل العراقي، وفيلم “غزة مونامور” للمخرجين الفلسطينيين العرب وطرزان ناصر، والفيلم الجزائري القصير “تحت بشرتها” للمخرجة مريم مسراوة.

Zanka Contact فيلم “زنقة كونتاكت” لإسماعيل العراقي

Gaza Mon Amourفيلم “غزة مونامور” لعرب وطرزان ناصر

إلا أنّ فيلم “الرجل الذي باع جلده” للمخرجة بن هنية قد أثار ضجة كبيرة ضمن المهرجان. يتناول الفيلم قصة مهايني الذي يؤدي شخصية “سام علي” وهو شاب سوري يحلم بعد هروبه من الحرب إلى لبنان بحياة جديدة في بروكسل مع حبيبته. لذا يوافق علي على أن يرسم فنان معاصر وشماً على ظهره يمثل تأشيرة شنغن محولاً نفسه إلى قطعة فنية تُعرض في جميع أنحاء العالم.

قالت بن هنية في مقابلة مع Cineeruopa “الحرية هي الفكرة الأساسية لهذا الفيلم”، ثم أضافت “ما أردت استكشافه هو: ما معنى أن تكون حراً؟ لطالما كانت السياقات الجيوسياسية والاجتماعية والسياسية هي من يحدد حريتنا في التنقل وحريتنا في فعل ما نريد”.

Under Her Skinفيلم “تحت بشرتها” لمريم مسراوة

 
الصورة الرئيسية: فيلم “الرجل الذي باع جلده”  لكوثر بن هنية

شارك هذا المقال

Tunisian Film Wins Big at Venice Film Festival

Arab movies are getting the spotlight they deserve

by

Written and directed by Tunisian director and screenwriter Kaouther Ben Hania, ‘The Man Who Sold His Skin’ just won big at the renowned Venice International Film Festival, scoring not one, but two awards.  

Syrian actor Yahya Mahyani was awarded the Orizzonti Award for Best Actor for his leading role in the film alongside legendary actress Monica Bellucci. The film also scored the Edipo Re award, one of the festival’s collateral prizes awarded by independent associations. 

Now in its 77th edition, the festival has broken major ground in Arab representation this year, with Tunisian producer Dora Bouchoucha having joined the jury. The festival also had a number of Arabic-speaking films competing in the Horizons category, including ‘Zanka Contact’ by Moroccan director Ismael El Iraki, ‘Gaza Mon Amour’, by Palestinian directors Arab and Tarzan Nasser, and Algerian short, ‘Under Her Skin’, by Meriem Mesraoua. 

Zanka Contact Zanka Contact’ by Ismael El Iraki

Gaza Mon AmourGaza Mon Amour’ by Arab and Tarzan Nasser

But it was Ben Hania’s ‘The Man Who Sold His Skin’ that garnered major buzz. The film sees Mahyani play Sam Ali, a young Syrian man who, after escaping the war to Lebanon, dreams of a new life in Brussels to be with the love of his life. To make it happen, an impulsive Ali agrees to be tattooed by a contemporary artist. With a Schengen visa tattooed on his back, Ali becomes a piece of art, transforming himself into a piece of art to be exhibited all over the world. 

“[The] notion of freedom is ultimately the subject of the film,” Ben Hania said in an interview with Cineeruopa. “What I wanted to explore is: What does it mean to be free? Geopolitical and socio-political contexts already determine our freedom of movement and even our freedom to do what we want”.

Under Her SkinUnder Her Skin’ by Meriem Mesraoua

 

Main Image: ‘The Man Who Sold His Skin’ by Kaouther Ben Hania

Share this article