هكذا تدعمون مسلمي الإيغور

استخدموا فلاتر الإنستاغرام هذه لدعمهم

by

فرضت الصين الحجر الصحي الإجباري على عشرات الملايين من مواطنيها لمنع انتشار فيروس كورونا، ولكن الإقامة الجبرية هي واقعٌ أليم يعاني منه مسلمو الإيغور في الصين من شهور، إذ قامت الصين باحتجازهم في معسكرات “إعادة تعليم” منذ مدةٍ طويلة.

فالفيروس ينتشر بسرعةٍ كبيرةٍ في هذه المعسكرات بسبب الأوضاع السيئة التي يعيش فيها هؤلاء الأشخاص وقلة المصادر الطبية، وإن لم يكن هذا سيئاً كفاية، فهناك تقارير تفيد بأن السلطات تفرض عليهم العمل في المصانع. 

وعن هذا الوضع يقول الشاب الأردني الأميركي أمير الخطاطبة 21 عاماً ومؤسس منصة Muslim الإلكترونية التي توفر ملاذاً آمناً للمجتمع المسلم الشاب حول العالم: “جيل زي هو أكثر جيلٍ قادرٍ على قول الحقيقة في وجه السلطة”. ولقد قام هذا الشاب في بداية هذا الشهر بإطلاق فلتر إنستاغرام بالتعاون مع باهمان حياة (الذي أطلق صمم فلتر “حرام وحلال” الشهير) وذلك للتعبير عن دعم مجتمع مسلمي الأيغور ويأمل الخطاطبة بمساعدة متابعيه على إنستاغرام في أن يزيد الوعي بقضية هذا المجتمع. 

وقد أطلق الخطاطبة منصة Muslim في فبراير 2019 وتخظى اليوم بحوالي 100 ألف متابع، والهدف منها هو مواجهة النقص الحاد في تمثيل المجتمع المسلم الشاب بشكلٍ إيجابي وصادق، ويقول: “بعد أن حاولت الانضمام إلى عددٍ من المجتمعات المسلمة على الإنترنت اكتشفت أنني لا أنتمي إلى أي منها بشكلٍ حقيقي وخطر في بالي أن هناك الكثير من المسلمين الشباب مثلي على الإنترنت الذين يشعرون بذات الشعور وبأنهم لا ينتمون إلى مجتمعٍ يمثلهم ويبحثون عن منصةٍ تشبههم.” 

شعار المنصة بسيط وواضح وهو “فلنحدث عن الأمور بكل صراحة”، ويهدف الخطاطبة من خلالها لتوفير مساحة حوارٍ آمنة تدعم المسلمين الشباب بغض النظر عن خلفيتهم أو عرقهم أو توجهاتهم الجنسية.

تقدم المنصة محتوى متنوع يضم ميمز مضحكة وفيديوهات تيك توك محبوبة والعديد من النصائح والأخبار عن المسلمين حول العالم، كما تستكشف المنصة مواضيع مختلفة مثل نسبة تمثيل الجنسين في الحياة السياسية والتقاليد الإسلامية غير المعروفة والعادات اليومية المختلفة. ولكن كلما دعت الحاجة، يستخدم الخطاطبة المنصة لدعم الحراك السياسي والإنساني بأمل أن يُحدث ولو فرقاً صغيراً سواء على شبكة الإنترنت أو خارجها.

في سبتمبر الماضي قامت المنصة بإطلاق رسمٍ لحملتها #CloseTheCamps حقق انتشاراً كبيراً على الإنترنت والهدف منه كان التضامن مع مسلمي الإيغور في الصين. والآن، تحاول المنصة دعم المسلمين المحتجزين في المعسكرات من خلال فلتر جديد.

صحيح أننا نعيش في أوقات حرجة يسودها عدم اليقين، ورغم أن هذا الوضع قد يجعلنا نشعر بالركود والكسل وعدم المبالاة، لكن من الضروري ألا ننسى أولئك الأشخاص الذين يتعذبون بصمتٍ كل يوم. وربما تكون صورة سيلفي بهذا الفلتر أبسط طريقة لدعمهم. 

شارك هذا المقال

This is How You Can Show Your Support to Uighur Muslims

These IG filters are a sign of solidarity

by

The Chinese government has forced ten millions of its population under quarantine to contain the spread of the coronavirus and protect its citizens. Meanwhile, for Uighur Muslims locked up in “re-education” camps, the pain is getting even worse. 

Not only is the virus spreading even faster in camps—due to dire conditions and lacking medical resources—but according to reports, the authorities are now forcing Uighurs to work in factories.

Gen-Z are the most resilient generation to speak truth to power”, says 21-year-old Jordanian-American Ameer Al-Khatahtbeh, founder of Muslim, an online safe space for the young Muslim community worldwide. Having launched an Instagram filter earlier this month in collaboration with Bahman Hayat (who created the viral Haram and Halal filters) in solidarity for the Uighur community, he hopes he can mobilise his online community to raise awareness for Uighurs.

Launched in February 2019 and already harnessing almost 100k followers, Muslim’s primary mission is to challenge the lack of diverse and genuine representation of young Muslims. “After attempting to find and join different Muslim communities to call my own, it occurred to me that there are many Muslims online that share the same feeling of not belonging, and who were seeking a space of their own”, continues Al-Khatahtbeh. 

And his motto is simple and straightforward: “let’s tell it how it is”. Having created a platform “for us, by us”, it is only natural that Al-Khatahtbeh and his online safe space is there to support any Muslim, regardless of their background, race, ethnicity or sexuality.

The platform’s content includes light-hearted memes, viral TikTok videos and any useful breaking news and information about Muslims in the world, exploring topics as diverse as representation and gender politics to Muslims’ lesser known traditions and everyday life customs. But when necessary, Al-Khatahtbeh uses the Instagram platform to help political and humanitarian activism, hoping to make a change both online and off.

Last September, they created a viral illustration for their #CloseTheCamps campaign, standing in solidarity with China’s Uighurs. Now, in a bid to continue raising awareness about the community held in camps, the platform just dropped filters. 

It’s true we live in particularly uncertain and stressful times. Although this might (understandably) bring about a feeling of inertia, it’s important we keep in our hearts those who suffer in silence today and everyday. It’s time for a shameless selfie.

Share this article