نكشف لكم الأسباب الحقيقية وراء الفساد في كرة القدم الإفريقيّة

للاستعمار دور في ذلك طبعاً

by

لا مجال للجدال في أن أحوال كرة القدم الإفريقية رديئة وسيّئة للغاية من جميع النواحي، حيث شهدت البطولة القارية الأخيرة “كأس الأمم الإفريقية” والتي أقيمت في وقت سابق من هذا العام عدد كبير من الخلافات والفضائح طيلة فترة البطولة الأمر الذي أحبط جميع المعنيين من اللاعبين إلى المدربين والمشجعين وحتى رعاة البطولة، ومعظم هذه النزاعات مرتبطة إلى حدٍّ ما بالفساد والرشوة والمخالفات.

وغالباً ما عانت كرة القدم الإفريقية من المصاعب المذكورة أعلاه، وعلى الرغم من أن طبيعة ومستوى الفساد قد يختلفان من بلد إلى آخر إلا أنّ الأموال المفقودة والمباريات المحددة النتائج مسبقاً والاختلاس الكبير يعطون مؤشرات واضحة عن الفساد الممنهج في المنطقة.

وكانت مباريات التصفيات الأخيرة للتأهل لكأس العالم القادم هي آخر المباريات التي خضعت لنيران النقاد، ومن بين الادعاءات أن الكاميرون قد تدخلت وأعاقت حكام المباريات؛ وبالرّغم من أنّه ليس شيئاً غريباً أن نسمع مثل هذه الادّعاءات بعد مباريات الإقصاء، تبقى هذه الاتهامات مختلفة هذه المرة وتبدو خطيرة للغاية ولكن قد نتمكّن من فهم الأسباب بالنظر إلى الأحداث الأخيرة السابقة لهذه المباريات.

لقد اعترضت تونس في خلال المباريات النّهائية لبطولة كأس الأمم الإفريقية الأخيرة والتي أقيمت قبل بضعة أسابيع على إنهاء الحكام المباراة قبل الوقت المحدد الرسمي وتعرضت مصر للترهيب والضغط من قبل حكام المباراة بينما اشتكت الجزائر من رداءة البنية التحتية للملاعب والتي أثّرت على الأداء في البطولة.

لا يمكن إنكار انتشار الفساد في كل مجالات الترفيه والتّسلية في جميع أنحاء العالم. ومع ذلك، تميل هذه المظاهر لأن تبدو أكثر وضوحاً في القارة الإفريقية منها في أي مكان آخر خاصةً في رياضة كرة القدم، ولكن يبقى السؤال الحقيقي هو لماذا؟

يمكن ربط معظم القضايا التي تحصل داخل القارة بالاستعمار الأوروبي والاستغلال فقد كانت المرّة الأولى التي تتعرف فيها إفريقيا على لعبة كرة القدم في أواخر سبعينيات القرن التاسع عشر في جزر زنجبار التي كانت في ذلك الوقت مستعمرة بريطانية وقد تمّ إدخال هذه اللعبة إلى إفريقيا كتكتيك استعماري لمنح الأفارقة الأصليين متنفساً أثناء انتقالهم إلى المناطق الحضرية و”تحريرهم من تأثير الرقص اللا أخلاقي” بحسب ما قال المبشرون الكاثوليكيون في تلك الفترة، وقد نفهم سبب ترحيب الأفارقة هذا “السلاح الاستعماري” رغم افتقار “لغة البانتو” إلى مرادف لكلمة “كرة”، فالأمر كله يتعلق بالخصائص الأساسية لكرة القدم: إنها لعبة ممتعة بقواعد بسيطة ومعدات صغيرة (كرة وملعب وعلامات هدف) وتجمعات من الناس.

لقد أنشأ الأفارقة أندية كرة القدم الخاصة بهم منذ البداية، محاولين بذلك استخدام المباريات كوسيلة لتجنيد الأشخاص المستعدين لمحاربة الاستعمار. أثار تشكيل أندية كرة القدم من قبل الأفارقة المحليين قلق المستعمرين الأوروبيين، الذين ردوا بفرض تكتيكات تقييدية مثل مطالبة الأفارقة الأصليين باللعب حفاة. قد يكون الفريق الجزائري الحادي عشر وهو نادٍ لكرة القدم تأسس في تونس ومكون من جزائريين تخلوا عن الدوري الفرنسي لكرة القدم للمساعدة في تحقيق استقلال الجزائر المثال الأكثر شهرة لمقاومة كرة القدم الاستعمارية حيث يعتبر المنتخب الجزائري الحادي عشر أهم مثال “للشجاعة والاستقامة وانعدام الأنانية” لشباب الجزائر.

وتنطبق هذه الحالة أيضاً على أوروبا ففي عام 2015 تمّ إيقاف Sepp Blatter لمدة ست سنوات بتهمة الفساد ودفع الأموال مقابل شراء أصوات له حين كان مرشحاً ويخوض الانتخابات لولاية خامسة على التوالي وكان ينافسه في الانتخابات حينها الأمير الأردني علي بن الحسين. وفي عام 2021 وبعد انقضاء فترة الإيقاف تلقى Blatter الملايين كمكافآت من الـ FIFA لسنوات خدمته المشرّفة ليتم حظره لاحقاً مرة أخرى.

ماذا يعني كل ما سبق بالنسبة لكرة القدم الأفريقية في ظل انتشار الفساد بهذا الشكل؟

ما يحصل الآن ليس شيئاً جديداً وقد عانت القارّة منذ عقود من الكثير من المشاكل في بطولات عديدة. ففي عام 1990، صرح Vahid Halilhodzic المدير الفني السابق لساحل العاج أن “كرة القدم الإفريقية تعاني من مشاكل تنظيمية منذ زمنٍ بعيد… حيث يتدخل السياسيون في كل شيء على الإطلاق وخاصة عندما يتعلّق الأمر بكرة القدم، والأسباب واضحة: كرة القدم تحظى بشعبية كبيرة وبعض الشخصيات السياسية المهمشة تستغل كرة القدم لأهداف سياسية… نعلم أنّ لدينا فوضى تنظيمية لكن الفساد يلعب دوره أيضاً.

ستظل الأمور كما هي طالما أن الاتحاد الدولي (FIFA) لديه قواعد صارمة بشأن عدم التدخل لمواجهة الحكومات المحلية، فقد كان الهدف من هذا القانون تجنب مواقف معينة كالحادثة التي تم فيها احتجاز اللاعبين العراقيين وتعذيبهم من قبل نجل صدام حسين في عام 1997 بعد الأداء السيء. ومن جهة أخرى يتم وضع المدراء التنفيذيين للاتحادات الوطنية مسؤولين أمام الفيفا بدلاً من الحكومات المحلية مما يمنحهم في النهاية سلطة غير محدودة.

وتنطبق هذه الحالة أيضاً على أوروبا ففي عام 2015 تمّ إيقاف Sepp Blatter لمدة ست سنوات بتهمة الفساد ودفع الأموال مقابل شراء أصوات له حين كان مرشحاً ويخوض الانتخابات لولاية خامسة على التوالي وكان ينافسه في الانتخابات حينها الأمير الأردني علي بن الحسين. وفي عام 2021 وبعد انقضاء فترة الإيقاف تلقى Blatter الملايين كمكافآت من الـ FIFA لسنوات خدمته المشرّفة ليتم حظره لاحقاً مرة أخرى.

ومنه نرى أنّ مستقبل اللعبة في القارة معرض للخطر بسبب نقص الاستثمار في البنى التحتية الشعبية وكل ذلك ناجم عن قضية الفساد المستمرة. تؤثّر هذه الممارسات على اللعبة بشكل كبير فعلى الرغم من المبالغ المالية الكبيرة التي تخصص للّعبة الإفريقية لا يتم استثمار هذه الأموال بشكل مناسب مما يؤثر أيضاً على الجودة العامة للّعبة ومستويات اللاعبين.

على الرغم من أن حافلة التغيير تسير ببطء إلا أن الجهود المبذولة تبقى ضئيلة ونادراً ما تكون ذات نتائج كافية، ولكن أصوات الانتقاد أصبحت أعلى وأكثر جرأة، فمنذ وقت ليس ببعيد أُدين رئيس CAF السابق أحمد أحمد بعد خرقه للعديد من قواعد أخلاقيات الـ FIFA ومن بينها تقديم الهدايا السخية واختلاس الأموال خلال فترة ترأسه للمؤسسة مما أدى لمنعه مدة خمس سنوات من المشاركة في أي نشاط متعلق بكرة القدم إضافة لغرامة كبيرة تبلغ حوالي 220 ألف دولار.

لا شكّ أن هنالك الكثير من العمل الذي يتعين القيام به وبالرغم من أننا نمشي بخطواتٍ نحو الأفضل إلا أنها في الحقيقة لا تزال غير كافية أبداً. دعونا نأخد وقتنا بالتفكير ونذكّر أنفسنا بأنه حتى لو كانت هذه الأحداث أكثر وضوحاً بالفعل في إفريقيا، فإن هذا لا يعني أنها لا تحدث في أي مكان آخر، فرغم أنّه يتم تسليط الضوء على أفريقيا مؤخراً، نعلم أن كرة القدم الأوروبية فيها تلاعب بنفس القدر أيضاً.

 

 

شارك هذا المقال

Unpacking the Real Reason African Football is So Corrupt

Of course, colonialism has to do with it.

by

When it comes to African football, it’s often claimed to be in a bad state by all units of measurement. The last continental championship, AFCON, which ran earlier on this year, saw a constant stream of controversies and scandals flood through the whole competition frustrating all actors involved from players to coaches, fans and even sponsors. Most of these disputes– to some extent– can be traced back to some sort of residue of corruption, bribery, and malfeasance.

The above descriptors are practically synonymous with African football as a whole. Although the character and degree of such fraudulent dynamics may vary from one country to another, missing funds, match fixing and large-scale levels of embezzlement are some of the region’s main indicators of systemic wrongdoings. 

The recent qualifying games leading to the next World Cup edition are the latest fixtures to be under the fire of critics. Claims include that Cameroon might have interfered and hampered with match officials; and although these kinds of affirmations are anything but unusual to hear after knockout stage games, this time around, the accusations read under a different light and seem quite serious. Considering the recent events prior to these games, we can definitely understand why. 

In the last AFCON alone, which took place a handful of weeks before the deciding matches, Tunisia suffered from referees ending a game before the official allocated time, Egypt from intimidation and pressure from match officials while Algeria complained about the poor quality of infrastructures and stadiums consistently throughout the tournament.

Corruption is undeniably present in all spheres of entertainment around the world. However, they tend to seem so much more explicit on the African continent than elsewhere. Especially when it comes to the world’s most popular sport. But the real question is why?


Like most issues within the continent, they can be traced back to European colonialism and exploitation. The game was first introduced to Africa in the late 1870s via the islands of Zanzibar, which were at the time a British colony. It was introduced to Africa as a colonial tactic to offer native Africans an outlet for activities as they moved into urban areas, and to “free them from the influence of immoral dance,” as a Catholic missionary put it. It’s easy to understand why Africans welcomed a colonial weapon despite the Bantu language lacking an indigenous name for ball. It’s all about football’s fundamental characteristics: it’s a fun game with simple rules, little equipment (ball, field, and goal markers), and social gatherings.

Africans then created their own football clubs from the start, using the safe haven of matches to recruit people prepared to fight colonialism. The formation of football clubs by local Africans alarmed European colonialists, who retaliated by imposing restrictive tactics such as requiring native Africans to play barefoot. The Algerian XI, a football club formed in Tunisia made up of Algerians who gave up their French football leagues to assist the Algerian independence cause, is perhaps the most renowned example of football’s colonial resistance. The Algerian XI set an example of “courage, rectitude, and unselfishness” for Algeria’s youth.

What does this mean for African football, given the pervasiveness and structure of corruption?

It’s nothing new and in fact has plagued through the continent’s successive competitions for decades. In 1990, former Ivory Coast manager, Vahid Halilhodzic, stated that  ‘African   football   suffers   from   chronic   organizational problems… There, politicians are interfering in absolutely everything, especially football.  The reasons are obvious:  football is very popular, particularly on the national level, and some marginal political characters are using football to collect political points… Basically, what we have is organisational chaos, but corruption also plays its part.

The issues remain as the international mother body, FIFA, has a strict non-interference rule to avoid national governments from interfering with football matters. This law was, amongst other things, to avoid situations like when Iraqi players were held captive and tortured following a poor performance by Saddam Hussein’s son in 1997. However, the other side of the coin makes executives of national federations accountable to FIFA rather than their local governments which eventually grants them with something close to limitless power.

The case is also true in Europe, in 2015 Sepp Blatter received a ban of six years for corruption and paying for votes in which Blatter was again the incumbent candidate, running for a fifth consecutive term. Jordanian Prince Ali bin Hussein was his opponent in the election. In 2021 the ban expired, Blatter received millions in bonus payments from FIFA for years of honorable service, where he was subsequently banned again. 

The game’s future on the continent is consequently being jeopardized due to a lack of investment in grassroot infrastructures caused by the incessant issue of corruption. These practices are steadily choking the game and despite the large sums of money that pour into the African game, not much of it ends up being used appropriately while also affecting the overall quality and levels of players.

The tide is slowly changing though. Although efforts are too little and rarely consequential enough, actions are finally materializing and sentences are being pronounced. Not so long ago, now former CAF president Ahmad Ahmad was found guilty of breaching several of FIFA’s code of ethics which included generous gifting and misappropriating funds during his time at the helm of the institution. This resulted in a five-year-long ban from partaking in any football-related activity on top of a hefty fine of approximately $220 000.

It goes without saying that more needs to be done and although it seems like we’re moving in somewhat of a better direction, it really still isn’t enough. Let’s also take the time to reflect and remind ourselves that even if these happenings are indeed more explicit in Africa, this doesn’t mean that it doesn’t happen elsewhere. Africa might take the dim spotlight, but European football is just as rigged to not say more.

Share this article