4 طرق لقضاء العيد بأسلوبٍ صديقٍ للبيئة

لنكون أكثر وعياً في هذه الأيام

by

ستبدأ مع اقتراب عيد الأضحى (9 يوليو) التجمعات العائلية، ولقاء الأعمام الذين لم لا نتذكر أسماءهم، والكميات الهائلة من الطعام الذي تعده أمهات يملأهن الحماس.

صحيح أن هذا العيد يمثل ذكرى تضحية النبي ابراهيم، إلا أنه مع الأسف أصبح معروفاً بتأثيره السلبي على كوكب الأرض، حيث أفادت شركة Averda وهي شركة رائدة في إدارة النفايات في الأسواق الناشئة، أنها جمعت 1,455 طناً من النفايات في عُمان على مدار الأيام الثلاثة لعطلة نهاية الأسبوع الأولى للعيد، وفي المغرب تم جمع حوالي 15,000 طناً من النفايات في نفس الفترة الزمنية بالضبط.

يقول مالك سكر الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Averda: “رغم وعينا بأهمية عيد الأضحى إلا أن حلوله أصبح يشكل تحدياً خطيراً لبعض البلديات خلال فترة الاحتفال، فمع ازدياد كمية نفايات الأضاحي في هذه المناطق بشكل كبير كل سنة، سيعاني نظام البلديات من ضغط حقيقي.”

انطلاقاً من هذا فكرنا هذا العام بإمكانية القيام بالأشياء بشكل مختلف حتى نكون مثالاً أفضل للأجيال القادمة. إليكم أربع نصائح للاحتفال بعيد أضحى صديق للبيئة.

 تسوقوا محلياً

نعلم جميعاً أنكم تفتقدون طعام بلادكم، لكن التأثير البيئي لشحن جميع هذه المنتجات سيجعلكم تتساءلون عما إذا كان الأمر يستحق كل ذلك أم لا – أنا متأكد أنه عليكم التريث أكثر قبل التفكير بالحصول على بعض الحلوى من بلادكم الأصلية.

لا تهدروا الطعام

أصروا على أمهاتكم ألا يبالغوا في الكميات هذا العام، فمن المفترض أن تتناول العائلة وجبة صحية واحدة فقط، بدلاً من وليمة يمكن أن تطعم المدينة بأكملها. لنحاول أن نبسّط الأمور، فليس هناك حاجة لتناول ذات الوجبة لمدة أسبوع.

(في حالة نسيان النصيحة الثانية) وزعوا ما تبقى

إنه اليوم الذي يلي العيد وبعد أن زاد وزنكم خمسة كيلوغرامات تقومون بفتح الثلاجة لتتفاجؤوا بالكمية الهائلة من بقايا عشاء الليلة الماضية. نرجوكم في هذه الحالة أن توزعوا الطعام على العائلة أو الأصدقاء أو المحتاجين رأفةً بنظامكم الغذائي وكوكب الأرض حيث أن هذا العيد يتمحور حول العطاء والتآخي.

قللوا من الهدايا

لا يحتاج أحد أقربائكم إلى مجموعة خامسة من ألعاب Hotwheel. وبدلاً من ذلك، حاولوا أن تجلبوا شيئاً مستداماً وعملياً ومطلوب بالفعل، واحذروا ألا يكون شيئاً مملاً، وفي حال لم تتمكنوا من العثور على أي شيء ذي قيمة، ففكروا بهدايا تصنع يدوياً. ستسمتعون بها وسيحبها أصدقاؤكم أكثر بالتأكيد. تذكروا: إنه يوم روحي وليس موسم للتسوق.

شارك هذا المقال

4 Ways to Have an Eco-Friendly Eid

Giving our Holy day a conscious twist

by

Eid Al-Adha is around the corner (July 9), bringing with it family gatherings, introductions to uncles you’ve never met before, and an inhumanly amount of food prepared by overly-excited mothers eager to celebrate the Islamic holiday with their loved ones. 

The festivity marks the remembering of one of Prophet Ibrahim’s main trials but it is also unfortunately now known for having quite an impact on our blue planet. Averda, a leading end-to-end waste management company in emerging markets, reported having collected 1,455 tons of waste in Oman over the three days over the initial Eid weekend. In Morocco, they gathered around 15,000 tons of waste in the exact same period of time. 

“Eid Al-Adha is an important time of year – yet it also creates a serious challenge for some municipalities during the celebratory period. The amount of sacrificial waste in these areas increases exponentially year on year and can put real pressure on the municipal system,” said Malek Sukkar, CEO of Averda. 

For this reason, this year, we’re thinking of doing things a bit differently and set a better example for future generations. So, here are four tips to have an eco-friendly Eid Al-Adha.

Shop local

We all know you miss food from the bled but the ecological impact of shipping all of these products really makes you wonder whether it’s worth it or not —I’m sure you can wait a wee bit before getting your hands on some treats from the bled

Don’t waste food

Tell yemma to not overdo it this year for once. You know how they are, it’s supposed be a wholesome meal shared between family, not a banquet that could feed the whole city. Keep it simple, there’s really no need to have THAT amount of Tupperwares the day after.

(If advice number two is forgotten) Share What’s Left 

It’s the day after Eid and you’ve put on a solid five kilos. You open the fridge and it’s basically overflowing with leftovers of last night’s dinner. For the sake of your diet and the planet, hand them over to family, friends, or those in need—The holiday is all about giving back after all

Tone Down the  Presents

No, your baby cousin doesn’t need a fifth set of Hotwheel toys. Instead, opt for something that’s sustainable, functional, and actually needed. It doesn’t have to be boring, and if you can’t find anything worthwhile, consider a DIY approach. You’ll have fun and it will be much more appreciated by whoever is on the receiving end.  Remember: it’s a spiritual day not sale season.

Share this article