علينا البدء باتخاذ إجراءات حقيقية لحماية النساء والفتيات العربيات

لترقد روح نيرة أشرف عبد القادر بسلام.

by

أذكر عندما كنت في الرابعة من عمري كيف كان هنالك مجموعة من الفتيان المراهقين والشباب البالغين دائماً ما تجدهم متكئين على جدران المنازل المهجورة والممتدة على جانبي الطرق الترابية في حينا، ينتظرون مرور الفتيات والنساء السائرات وحدهن صدفةً ليوجهوا لهن عباراتهم وإيماءاتهم الفظة والمكروهة.

لقد كنت أخاف من صبي محدد يتراوح عمره بين 12 و 14 عاماً، ورغم كوني طفلة صغيرة إلا أن هذا الصبي كان يتعمد إزعاجي ومضايقتي كلما رآني ألعب لعبة المربعات في الخارج أو أعبر الشارع لجلب ما أرسلتني أمي أو خالاتي لجلبه من دكان الحي. صحيح أنني لم أكن كبيرة بما يكفي لأعرف كيف أربط أنشوطة حذائي إلا أنني كنت واعية بما يكفي لشعوري بالخطر وعدم الراحة تجاه سلوكه وتصرفاته حيث كان يناديني بألقاب غير ملائمة كالـ”قطة” وغيرها والتي كانت تخيفني كطفلة عمرها 4 سنوات.

لقد أعربت عن استيائي لجميع الكبار الذين بإمكانكم أن يستمعوا إلي ويساعدونني، ورغم أنني اشتكيت لكل من والداي وخالاتي وأعمامي وأبناء عمومي الأكبر سناً، إلا أنهم تجاهلوا الأمر جميعاً مؤكدين لي أنه لن يسيء التصرف أو يقوم بإيذائي.

قامت أمي في أحد الأيام بإرسالي أنا وأختي الكبرى التي كانت تبلغ حينها ست سنوات إلى المتجر لشراء الخبز فقد كان من الطبيعي جداً إرسال الأطفال لشراء بعض الحاجيات، وبينما كنا نسير رأيته، وعلى الفور أدركت الخطر المحيط بي وأظن أنه كان يعلم ويشعر بخوفي منه مما يعطيه فرصة أكبر لإخافتي.

ألقيت على الفور كيس البقالة الذي كنت أحمله وركضت بأسرع ما استطاعت قدماي الصغيرتان المرتديتان للصندل أن تأخذاني، لكن ونظراً لاختلاف الحجم والعمر استطاع اللحاق والإمساك بي ليحاول الاعتداء علي بعدها. بدأت بالصراخ بصوتٍ عالٍ وحاولت دفعه بعيداً لكنني كنت عاجزة تماماً.

وبلمح البصر أتت أختي الكبرى وألقت بحجرة كانت قد التقطتها من جانب الطريق لتصيب رأسه مباشرة، ولتكون هذه الضربة كفيلة بأن تلقيه أرضاً كجثة هامدة. كانت هناك فكرة واحدة تدور في أذهاننا أثناء عودتنا للمنزل أننا أقدمنا على قتل شخص ما، لنسرع بحبس أنفسنا داخل إحدى الغرف وانتظار مداهمة الشرطة للمنزل لاعتقالنا بتهمة ارتكاب جريمة قتل من الدرجة الأولى.

في نفس اللحظة تماماً، سمعنا أصوات ضربات قوية تطرق باب منزلنا المعدني الخارجي، ولكن لم يكن الأمر كما اعتقدنا فقد كان طارق الباب هو والدة الصبي الغاضبة التي تطالب بمعرفة ما فعلناه لابنها (ليتضح أننا لم نقتله). تم إخراجنا من مخبئنا واستجوابنا من قبل الكبار، مما دفعنا إلى شرح ما حدث بالتفصيل، ولحسن الحظ، وقفت والدته في صفنا لتلقي كامل غضبها فيما بعد على ابنها.

أجد الآن أنه كان من الممكن تجنب كل ما حدث تماماً كضربنا للصبي والتسبب بتلك الغرزات والقطب، لو أخذ شخص واحد شكواي على محمل الجد. استخدمت “من الممكن” لأنه ربما كان هناك فتاة شجاعة في وقتٍ ما سئمت من مضايقات هذا الصبي ورغبت بالقضاء عليه وقتله فعلياً.

رغم أن قصتي هذه حدثت منذ حوالي 25 عاماً إلا أنه مع الأسف لم يتغير الوضع كثيراً منذ ذلك الحين.

تشابه مصر دولة الجزائر المجاورة لها من حيث سيطرة الجنس الذكوري على المجتمع إضافة لارتفاع معدلات التحرش في الشارع لتحتل المرتبة الأولى في العالم. قد تبدو قصتي في الوقت الحالي بسيطة أو حتى لا تعني شيئاً أمام جريمة القتل الوحشية والمريبة التي طالت الطالبة المصرية نيرة أشرف عبد القادر والتي حدثت في وضح النهار. وهنا نستنتج أننا بحاجة حقاً لاتخاذ إجراءات تستطيع حماية النساء والفتيات أكثر.

عُرف عن نيرة البالغة من العمر 21 عاماً أنها كانت طالبة مميزة في جامعة المنصورة المصرية وكان لا يزال أمامها حياة بأكملها قبل أن تلقى حتفها على يد زميلها أمام أسوار الجامعة في وضح النهار، حيث قام أمام الجميع بطعنها عدة مرات في رقبتها وجذعها وذلك بسبب رفضها له عندما قام بالتقدم إليها.

وتشير التقارير أن عبد القادر سبق وقامت بحظر المشتبه به الملقب بـ”محمد أ” على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي عدة مرات وذلك بسبب مضايقته لها، كما أن أسرتها قامت بإبلاغ الشرطة عن تهديداته، ولكن مع الأسف لم تنجح كل هذه الإجراءات بحماية الضحية في النهاية.

إن أكثر شيء أزعجني حقاً في هذه القصة هو مدى ارتياح المدعى عليه أثناء قيامه بقتل امرأة بريئة في وضح النهار وأمام المتفرجين وهو محاط بكاميرات المراقبة. يبدو الأمر كما لو أن فشل المجتمع المستمر في حماية النساء ومحاسبة المعتدين هو ما شجعه على فعلته لدرجة أنه اعتقد أنه بإمكانه الإفلات من العقاب.

وقد قام مفكر إسلامي في مصر اسمه مبروك عطية بعد وقت قصير من انتشار خبر مقتل عبد القادر بالإشارة أنه لو كان شعر الضحية وجسدها مغطى ما كانت تعرضت للقتل، وبقدر ما يبدو تصريح مثل هذا مرعباً فلا شك أن مبروك عطية لديه الكثير من المؤيدين لأقواله والذين يعتقدون أن مسؤولية المرأة هي حماية نفسها من التعرض للقتل.

رغم أنه تم اعتقال “محمد أ” في مسرح الجريمة إلا أنه لا يمكنني الشعور بأن العدالة قد تحققت، فكيف يمكن تبرير قتل فتاة صغيرة بريئة من قبل زميلها لمجرد أنها رفضت الزواج منه؟!

أسوأ ما في الأمر أنه لو قامت الشرطة باتخاذ تبليغات الأسرة على محمل الجد أكثر، لربما كانت نيرة عبد القادر على قيد الحياة اليوم.

لقد حان الوقت لاتخاذ إجراءات حقيقية لحماية النساء، فقد نتمكن من إنقاذ حياتهن حقاً.

شارك هذا المقال

Why We Need to Start Taking Arab Women Seriously

RIP Naira Ashraf Abdel Qader

by

When I was four-years-old, there was a group of teenage boys and young adult men that could always be found leaning against the brick walls of the unfinished houses that lined the dirt roads of our tiny zenga in rural Algeria, just waiting for unsuspecting and unaccompanied women and young girls to pass by for them to direct their unsolicited crude remarks and gestures at. 

There was one boy in particular, about 12 to 14  years in age, who terrified me. Though I was a child, this boy made it his personal mission to torment me whenever he saw me playing hopscotch outside or dashing across the street to grab whatever it was my mom or aunts sent me to get from the neighborhood hanout that day. And even though I was not even old enough to know how to tie my own shoes, I was still able to process, at my young age, how uncomfortable and scared his behavior— namely cat-calling and inappropriate taunting— made little four-year-old me feel.  

I complained about him. I voiced my distress to all of the adults who would listen. My parents, my aunts, uncles, older cousins. They just brushed it off, assuring me he’s harmless and wouldn’t hurt me. 

One day, my mom sent me and my older sister (who was six at the time) to the corner shop down the road to buy bread (it was very normal to send kids to run errands back in my day), and as we were sauntering down the road, I saw him. As soon as we locked eyes, I knew what was coming. Looking back, he probably knew I was scared of him and got a rush out of frightening me. 

I immediately dropped the plastic grocery bag I was carrying and ran as fast as my little jelly-sandaled feet would take me. Of course, due to size and age difference, he was able to catch up to me pretty quickly and when he did, he began forcing himself on me. No matter how loud I screamed and tried to push him away, I was helpless.

Then in a blink of an eye, my older sister came up from behind him and swung a brick she picked up from the side of the road directly at his head, without missing a beat, bringing his lifeless body to the ground immediately upon impact. We just killed someone, was the only thought running across our minds as we ran back home and locked ourselves inside one of the rooms, just waiting for an armed police force to break our door down and handcuff us for first-degree murder.  

As if right on cue, we heard the sound of angry fists banging against our metal outside door. But it wasn’t the gendarmerie like we initially thought, but the boy’s furious mother demanding to know what we’d done to her son (spoiler alert: we didn’t kill him). We were pulled out of our safe haven and interrogated by the adults, prompting us to explain what had happened. Fortunately his mom was on our side, and whatever wrath she unleashed on him later was between her and the Lord.

Still, if someone had just taken my complaints seriously, just one person, this whole ordeal could have been avoided and that menace probably wouldn’t have needed stitches— I say probably because who’s to say another brave young girl tired of being tormented by him wouldn’t take it upon herself to knock him out cold with a brick.  

My story happened almost 25-years-ago, but it appears that little has changed since then, unfortunately. 

Much like Algeria, neighboring Egypt is just as patriarchal of a society with street-harassment rates that are one of the highest, if not the highest, in the world. Now, my experience pales to the brutal and senseless murder of Egyptian student Naira Ashraf Abdel Qader in broad daylight. In fact, it doesn’t even come close. But the overarching takeaway is more or less the same: We need to take women and girls seriously. 

Abdel Qader was a bright student at Egypt’s Mansoura University. At 21-years-old, she had her whole life ahead of her. Before it was senselessly taken away this week by a classmate, who stabbed her repeatedly in her neck and torso outside the gates of her university in front of a crowd, for rejecting his advances.

The suspect, who has been labeled as “Mohammed A,” had been blocked by Abdel Qader on social media several times for harassing her and her family had reported his threats to the police, who ultimately failed to protect the victim.

Perhaps the most disturbing part of the story for me is how comfortable the accused felt to casually murder an innocent woman in broad daylight, in front of onlookers, and surrounded by security cameras. It’s almost as if he was so emboldened by society’s constant failure to protect women and hold abusers accountable, that he thought he could get away with it. 

In fact, shortly after news spread of Abdel Qader’s murder, Mabrouk Attia, an Islamic scholar in Egypt came out and suggested that if the victim’s hair and body had been covered, she wouldn’t have been killed. As horrifying as that sounds, Attia’s attitude is shared among several, who believe that it is a woman’s responsibility to protect herself from being killed. 

Fortunately, “Mohammed A” was arrested at the scene. However, I can’t help but feel it’s not justice enough. A young innocent girl had her whole life taken away by her classmate just because she refused to marry him. 

The worst part is, if the police had taken the family’s reports seriously, perhaps Abdel Qader would still be alive today. 

It’s time we start taking women seriously. It could literally save their life.

Share this article