ما هي الخطوة القادمة لفريق نيوكاسل يونايتد لكرة القدم؟

هل سيستعيد عصره الذهبي؟

by

إن لم تتسنى لكم فرصة مواكبة آخر أخبار كرة القدم، فقد استحوذ ولي العهد السعودي ورجل الأعمال الإنجليزي جيمي روبن مؤخراً على مجلس إدارة نادي نيوكاسل، وكجزء من هذه الصفقة القياسية سيتم ضخ قدر كبير من الاستثمار في النادي، مما يعني أنّ هناك تغييرات كبيرة قيد التنفيذ. 

وبالرغم من أنّ عملاق الدوري الإنجليزي الممتاز السابق قد مر بمرحلة صعبة استمرت لأكثر من عقد من الزمن، إلا أنّه يسعى جاهداً لتخطي الصعاب وتحقيق مستقبل مبشر وواعد. وهنا تجدر الإشارة إلى أنّ الفريق الذي تميّز بالزي المخطط باللونين الأبيض والأسود قد كافح منذ أوائل العقد الأول من القرن الحادي والعشرين للانتقال إلى ترتيب الدرجة العليا من قائمة فرق الدوري، ولكن بالرغم من إبرام العديد من التعاقدات في الماضي والتي كان من شأنها بث الأمل في النادي، إلا أنّها لم تجني ثمارها بطريقة مستدامة أو قابلة للتطبيق، إذ شارك فريق نيوكاسل في موسمين مذهلين ولم يحقق النجاح المتوقع.

ولكن بعد تغيير المالكين، لم يلبث النادي أن عيّن مديراً جديداً في محاولة لمساعدته للارتقاء إلى آفاق جديدة، كما وقع عقداً مع كيران تريبير (الذي سبق أن وصل بالمنتخب الإنكليزي إلى نصف نهائي كأس العالم) لينتقل من فريق أتليتيكو مدريد الإسباني، ومع ذلك ظل الفريق يعاني من وضع حساس وصعب.

يمتلك الفريق الملقب “بطائر العقعق” ميزانية ضخمة لا تُضاهى، وبالرغم من انتشار الإشعاعات التي تقول بأن الثنائي الفرنسي المهاجمين عثمان ديمبيلي أو كيليان مبابي كانا يفكران بالانضمام إلى الفريق، إلا أنّ التهديد بالهبوط  للدوري الأدنى الذي يخيّم بظلاله على الفريق يسمم سمعة النادي ويحد من خياراته في استقطاب لاعبين مشهورين لينضموا لأولئك الذين أبرم النادي معهم عقوداً سابقة.

يحتل النادي اليوم المركز 19 من قائمة الدوري، وفي حال انتهت المنافسة يوم غد، سيجد الفريق نفسه متراجعاً إلى الدرجة الثانية مما سيجعل من معركته لرد اعتباره بمثابة تهديد حقيقي يكون أكثر صعوبة من ذي قبل.

وهنا تجدر الإشارة إلى أنّ العديد من الأندية الأوروبية الأخرى قد تلقت استثمارات أجنبية هائلة في الماضي، حيث كانت هذه المبالغ والطموحات التي تحملها هي ما يجعل معظم عالم كرة القدم يعتقد بأنّ هذه الفرق التي تحظى بالتمويل هي بمثابة أبطال الغد المرتقبة.

وبالرغم من أنّهم قدموا أداءً جيداً لفترة قصيرة من الزمن، إلا أنّهم سرعان ما أصبحوا في طي النسيان. وفي ظل ضعف الإحصائيات التي أظهرها نيوكاسل حتى الآن، فإننا نعتقد بأنه سيواجه ذات المصير، ولكن هذه المرة لن يكون قادراً حتى على تحقيق نجاح قصير الأمد.

ونظراً لحقيقة انضمام عدد قليل من نجوم كرة القدم إلى الفريق، فقد يحتاج نيوكاسل إلى إعادة التركيز على استقطاب المزيد من اللاعبين المتميّزين، وإقناعهم بالانضمام إلى الفريق ليتمكنوا من الحفاظ على حياة هذا المشروع، خاصة في ظل معدلات التضخم التي يتعين على نيوكاسل التعامل معها. وغني عن القول بأنّ الأندية المحيطة تدرك أن لديها لاعبين مهمين مما دفعها لرفع أسعارها. ومن الواضح أنّها أدركت أنّ التعاقد مع لاعبين أمثال دومينيك سولانكي أو باتريك شيك أو ديفوك أوريغي يحتاج إلى التخطيط باهتمام ودقة.

بالرغم من أن الشهرين الأولين تميّزا ببعض الإشارات الإيجابية، إلا أنّ الموسم ما زال في بدايته، وهم بحاجة ماسة لبذل مزيد من الجهد لتجنب مواجهة أي خيبات أمل أخرى محتملة.

شارك هذا المقال

What’s Next for Newcastle FC?

Are the magpies heading back to their golden age?

by

For those that haven’t paid much attention to football news lately, the Saudi crown and English businessman Jamie Reuben have recently taken over Newcastle FC’s board and are expected to inject a substantial amount of investment into the club. Of course, that means some changes are underway. 

The former Premier League giants have been going through a rough patch that’s lasted over a decade. However, it seems as if those times are coming to an end. Since the early 2000s, the black and white striped team has continually struggled to make it into the upper half of the league’s table. Many signings in the past have blown some mere hope into the club but never really managed to do it in a sustainable or viable way. A couple of one-season-wonders have passed by Newcastle’s locker room and worn their iconic shirt but never with the impact they were expected to make. 

Since the recent change of owners, the club rapidly appointed a new manager to hopefully help them reach their new-set heights. They also inked the signing of World Cup semi-finalist Kieran Trippier hailing from the Spanish Atletico Madrid side as their first top-flight recruit. However, the club is still finding itself stuck in a delicate position. 

The Magpies have a ready-to-use spending budget that other teams can only dream of having. The French duo of forwards Ousmane Dembele or Kylian Mpabbe were once rumoured to make their way over. But the overshadowing threat of being relegated is poisoning and limiting their options to lure any more big names than the one’s already signed over to the north of England.

Pointing their nose at the very steep 19th position of the table, if the year-long competition was to end tomorrow, they’d find themselves set back to the country’s second division which would only make their battle to be re-considered as a real threat even more difficult.

Many other European clubs have received outstanding foreign investments in the past. At the time, the amounts and ambitions mirrored made most of the football world contemplate these fully-funded teams as the potential mastodons of tomorrow. 

Performing quite well for a short period of time, they rapidly sank into oblivion. And with the poor stats Newcastle have been showing so far, everything is leading us to believe that they may end up on that same path, only this time without the short-lived successful spell. 
As only a handful of A-listers are being linked with a transfer to the club right now, Newcastle may need to redirect their focus on more discrete players that can be persuaded almost effortlessly to come make a quick difference for the project to stay alive. Especially given the inflation rates Newcastle is having to deal with. Surrounding clubs know they have important financial assets and are consequentially upping their prices as a result. As of right now, they seem to have understood that assignment as interests in the likes of Dominic Solanke, Patrick Schick or Divock Origi have been formulated so far.

Although the first couple of months have mirrored some positive signs but as much as the end of season seems and feels far away, they urgently need to navigate this storm now to avoid any other potential torments.

Share this article