لكل العرب غير السود… نعم أنتم تتمتعون بمزايا تجعل حياتكم أفضل

العنصرية ضد السود هي مشكلة عربية أيضاً

by

إذا كنت شخصاً عربياً وتقرأ هذا المقال، فمن المحتمل جداً أنك واجهت شكلاً من أشكال العنصرية أو كراهية الإسلام. لكن من المهم أن نواصل، كمجتمع، النضال من أجل التمثيل حتى يرى العالم إنسانيتنا ويدرك قيمة حياتنا وتجاربنا وموهبتنا. ولكن من الضروري أن ندرك أننا فشلنا نحن العرب غير السود أيضاً في مكافحة العنصرية.

نعم، العنصرية تؤثر بالفعل على العديد من المجتمعات الأخرى – ولكن من المهم الاعتراف بأن العنصرية الممنهجة تعتبر أسوأ بالنسبة للسود دوماً، أينما كانوا في العالم. ولقد حان الوقت لمواجهتها أخيراً. فالعنصرية ضد السود هي مشكلة تواجهنا في العالم العربي أيضاً، والآن هناك فرصة لإصلاح هذه المشكلة.

على الرغم من نشأتي كعربية في فرنسا، إلا أنني لمست سيطرة العرق الأبيض والسلطة التي تأتي معه. وعلى الرغم من أنني لم أشعر بالراحة لدى سماع تعليقات غريبة مثل “أنت لا تبدين مثل المسلمين الآخرين، إلا أنني أعرف أنني كنت أتمتع بحظوة ومزايا عرقية. 

في جميع أنحاء العالم، هناك قبول عالمي بأن العرق الأسود هو “العرق الآخر”، كما توضح روبين دي أنجيلو في كتابها الأكثر مبيعاً الهشاشة White Fragility. إذ لطالما كان السود الطرف المتلقي للعنصرية المستمرة ضده، ومنطقتنا ليست استثناءً. فتجارة الرقيق في العالم العربي هي حقيقة تاريخية وقد تم تجاهل الحديث عنها لفترة طويلة.

منذ القرن السابع حتى أوائل القرن العشرين، باع المسلمون العرب في شمال إفريقيا ملايين العبيد الأفارقة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط. وفي عام 2017، كشفت وكالة الهجرة التابعة للأمم المتحدة عن بيع مهاجرين من غرب إفريقيا في أسواق الرقيق الليبية. وبينما أكتب هذه المقالة، يواصل نظام الكفالة قمع العمال المهاجرين الأفارقة في لبنان والخليج و وإنكار حقوقهم.

قد لا يكون العرب في منطقتنا على دراية بمفهوم “عنف الشرطة” مثل الناس في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية أو فرنسا، لكن تاريخنا المشترك عن العبودية جعل الكثير من العرب غير السود غير واعين بمشكلة العنصرية ضد السود، وبالبنى التحتية التي ساهمت في انتشار العنصرية الممنهجة.

فالاستمرار في تقديم ظاهرة “الوجه الأسود” كشكل من أشكال “الكوميديا” في الإعلام، يعتبر دليلاً كافياً على أن العنصرية ضد السود متجذرة في الثقافة العربية.

وبوصفنا من العرب البيض، فإن المسؤولية تقع علينا الآن لتصحيح تلك الأخطاء، والبداية مع الاعتراف بأن العرب غير السود يتمتعون بامتيازات عرقية خاصة، وعلينا أن نستخدم تلك الامتيازات لمحاربة العنصرية الممنهجة.

شارك هذا المقال

Dear Non-Black Arabs, Yes – You Are Still Privileged

Anti-black racism is an Arab problem too

by

If you’re Arab and reading this, it’s very likely that you’ve faced racism or Islamophobia. Naturally, it is important that we, as a community, continue to fight for representation so the world sees our humanity and recognizes the value and worth of our lives, experiences and talent. But having said that, it is essential to realise that, in the fight against racism, we non-black Arabs have failed too. 

Before you say it, yes racism does affect many other communities – but it’s important to acknowledge that when it comes to institutional racism, it will always be worse for black people, wherever they are in the world. It’s time we finally face it—anti-black racism is also an Arab issue and now is our chance to fix it.

Despite growing up as an Arab in France, I inevitably had access to whiteness and the power structures that come with it. Although it never felt right to be told odd things like “you don’t look like other Muslims”, the truth is, I still had a racial privilege. 

Across the globe, being black has long-been accepted as the “ultimate racial other”, as Robin DiAngelo explains in her bestselling book White Fragility. Historically, black people have been on the receiving end of incessant anti-black racism, and our region is no exception. The Arab slave trade is a historical reality and addressing it has long been avoided. 

From the 7th century to the early 20th century, Arab Muslims in North Africa sold millions of African slaves to the Middle East. In 2017, the UN migration agency revealed migrants from West Africa were being sold in Libyan slave markets. And as I write this piece, the Kafala labour system continues to oppress and deny the rights of African migrant workers in Lebanon and the Gulf.

Arabs in the region might not be too familiar with the concept of police brutality like people are in the USA or France, but our shared history of slavery has conditioned non-black Arabs to often be blind to their own anti-black rhetorics, and the infrastructures that perpetuate systemic racism.

With frequent representations of black people shown through blackface (a highly problematic staple in Arab comedy that should be denounced and removed immediately), it’s evidence enough that anti-black racism is deeply rooted in Arab culture. 

As white-Arabs, the responsibility is on us now to correct those wrongs. By acknowledging that non-black Arabs have privileges, we need to commit to using those privileges to fight systemic racism.

Share this article