لهذا السبب يطلق على الجميع الناس لقب “أخي بوتر”

تعالوا نستكشف سبب الإجحاف بحق المغاربة

في الواقع غالباً ما أقابل بنظرات غريبة ومتفاجئة وأسمع تعليقات متغطرسة حول وطني عندما أقول بأني أنحدر من جذور مغربية، إلا أنّ هناك تعليق قد استوقفني أكثر من باقي التعليقات، وهي نعتي بـ “أخي بوتر” وهو في الواقع ليس بالأمر الطريف أبداً، نظراً لأنّ اللقب مرتبط بشخصية “رون ويزلي” الذي يعتقد الكثيرون بأنّه ينحدر من مدينة ” ورزازات ” في المغرب وليس من منطقته الأصلية في لندن. لكن لماذا ا؟ بسبب الصورة النمطيّة سيئة السمعة المتجذرة حول المملكة المغربية بكونها دولة ذات جذور عميقة في ممارسة أعمال السحر الأسود والشعوذة.

بصراحة، كانت أول مرة أتعرّف فيها على السحر الأسود عندما كنت أقضي عطلة عائلية في مدينة الدار البيضاء، حيث كنت طفلاً صغيراً ألهو مع أبناء عمومتي (كالعادة) حتى جاء أحد كبار السن لإسكاتنا من خلال سرد قصة “عيشة قنديشة” المرعبة للغاية. بالرغم من أنّ سرد قصتها التي تتمحور حول إخافة الأطفال الأشقياء قد يختلف من منطقة إلى أخرى، إلا أنّها في جوهرها هي قصة “ماري الدموية” – لكنها من البلاد، إنّها شخصية أسطورية شعبية في التراث الشعبي المغربي وهي معروفة بجمالها المذهل وتمتلك صفات شبيهة بالجن، كما يُعتقد بأنها تظهر فقط بالقرب من مصادر المياه وتستخدم سحرها القوي لإغواء الرجال، مما يسبب لهم الجنون أو النهاية غير المتوقعة.

إن ما نسميه “بالسحر الأسود” قد يتجسد بأشكال أو طرق عديدة ومختلفة، إلا أنّه بالطبع محرّم في تعاليم الإسلام، سواء من خلال إلقاء تعويذة على شخص ما لجعله يقع في حبك أو جلب سوء الحظ له أو اللعنة هناك الكثير من طرق الشعوذة التي يمكن أن يمارسها من يؤمنون بها.. في الواقع، إنّ ممارسة الشعوذة شائعة بين طبقات المجتمع بدءاً من الأدنى إلى الأعلى، في جميع أنحاء القارة الأفريقية تقريباً، إلا أنّها لسبب ما التصقت عبر الزمن بالمغرب وحده، وبسبب اعتقادنا بالسحر فقد وقعت كامل المنطقة ضحية الاعتقاد بهذه الخدعة..

https://twitter.com/Omarka109/status/1430592776803131400

من وجهة نظري كرجل، من المزعج جداً أن أكون مرتبطاً بافتراءات مهينة عفا عليها الزمان حول السحر والشعوذة؛ وأعتقد أنه من المهم أن نتوقف دقيقة واحدة للاستماع إلى أخواتي المغربيات العالقات بين اتهامهن بالسحر والشعوذة والانحلال الأخلاقي..

ومن الجدير بالذكر بأنّ هذا الاعتقاد الشائع قد طال جميع أنحاء المنطقة وأصبح صورة نمطية راسخة ومتأصلة عن مملكة شمال أفريقيا، وغني عن القول مدى التأثير السلبي والمؤلم لهذا الافتراء، إلا انّه في نفس الوقت يثبت مدى انتقائية مجتمعاتنا عندما يتعلق الأمر بتذكر سمات وخصائص معينة تميّز بلد ما. بالرغم من حقيقة أن أول جامعة تم إنشاؤها في العالم كانت جامعة “القرويين” التي أسستها في مدينة فاس امرأة تدعى فاطمة الفهري، إلا أنّ النساء المغربيات لم يحظين أبداً بلقب المثقفات اللواتي تلقين تعليماً عالياً. هل لاحظتم مدى تأثير هذه الافتراءات؟

عموماً، إن نعتي بأخي بوتر لم يكن أسوأ أمر عانيته وهو بالتأكيد لم يحبط من عزيمتي، بغض النظر عن ذلك، يمكنك تهديد الشخص الذي يتنمر عليك بالسحر وستراه في اليوم التالي ينهار أمامك مخافة انتقامك الشديد. طبعاً نحن نتحدث هنا عن عداوات الطفولة. 

في النهاية، هناك شيء واحد مؤكد هو أن هذه الصورة النمطيّة كان لها أثراً سلبياً كبيراً على الفتيات المغربيات؛ اجتماعياً وثقافياً ونفسياً، لأن هذا الادعاء لا يمت للواقع بصلة – وإذا واصلنا السخرية من الآخرين وتشويه صور بعضنا البعض بهدف إيذاء المجتمعات الأخرى على نحو غير منطقي، فهل علينا أن نقيّم بعضنا البعض على نحو غير منطقي معتمدين على أفكار لا أساس لها من الصحة؟ في حال وصلنا إلى هذه المرحلة، بالتأكيد سيجد كل واحد منا ما يسخر به من الآخر، لكن ماذا أننا نركز فقط على ما يجمعنا بدلاً من التنمر على بعضنا البعض.

 

الرسم لليلى علوي

شارك(ي) هذا المقال

مقالات رائجة

Why Does Everybody Call Me Akhi Potter?

Exploring the prejudice against Moroccans

by

For some reason, when I introduce myself as Moroccan, I’m often met with wide eyes and cocky comments about my homeland and there was one that always really stood out from the rest. You see, growing up being nicknamed Akhi potter wasn’t the funniest. And that was mainly due to the fact that according to many, Ron Weasley might as well have been from Ouarzazate instead of his native borough in London. Why? Because of the very heavy reputation the Kingdom of Morocco carries of being a country with deep roots in black magic and sorcery.

The first time I was ever introduced to black magic, I was on a family holiday in Casablanca. Young Yassine was messing around with his cousins (as per usual) until one of the elders came down to shush us up by recounting the very daunting tale of Aïcha Qandisha. Iterations of her story can vary from one region to another and also depend on how naughty the kids you are trying to scare have been. But in its essence, she is Bloody Mary—but from l’bled. A Mythological figure that is more than well-embedded in Morocco’s folklore and who is known for her awing beauty as well as her Jinn-like characteristics as it is believed that she only appears near water sources and uses her salient charm to seduce men to then either madden them or bring their lives to an unexpected end. 

What we call Shour (Black Magic) can come through all sorts of form or ways but will immediately repudiate you from Islam upon its first use. Cast a spell on someone to make them fall in love with you, bring them misfortune or even curse them, there is only so much witchcraft to use for those that want to believe in it. Practiced by all stratums of society starting from lowest to highest, the issue of sorcery has factually plagued the almost entirety of the African continent but has somehow remained particular to Morocco through time. And by dint of believing in it so much ourselves, the whole region ended up falling for it too.

As much as from my male perspective it is annoying to be brought back to this all the time and being associated with all sorts of wizardry slurs; I think that it is important to take a minute and pass the mic to my Moroccan sisters now stuck between being referred to as bitches or witches to not say both. 

This common belief has been poured all throughout the region and has become a staple stereotype of the North African kingdom. No need to mention how problematic this claim is, but it proves how selective our communities may be when it comes to remembering specific attributes and peculiarities of a country. Despite the fact that the world’s first university, Al Qarawiyyin, having been founded in Fes by a woman called Fatima al-Fihri, Moroccan women were never granted with the title of intellectuals and highly-educated scholars. See where I’m going with this? 

All in all, this is to say that being called Akhi potter itself wasn’t the worst curse and it definitely didn’t kill me. Far from it actually. At least you can threaten your bully to wake up with a third nip the next day and just watch them crumble in front of your insatiable revenge. We’re talking year 8 beef here.  

One thing is for sure though, it has had a major toll on my female equivalents; socially, culturally and psychologically. The claim itself is largely unfounded – so, if we keep on going that way of dissing each-other for the sake of hurting other communities illogically, shall we all start illogically calling each other out based on groundless ideas held as standards? Because if it came to that, I’m sure that each of us could find something to pin on the other so how about we just focus on what brings us together instead. 

 

Illustration credits: Leila Aloui

Share this article