النساء يقفن في وجه العنف القائم على أساس النوع الاجتماعي في المنطقة

الأمر أسوأ من أي وقت مضى

by

من المغرب إلى مصر يتزايد العنف ضد المرأة في المنطقة وفي جميع أنحاء العالم. بالأمس فقط أعلنت وزيرة شؤون المرأة والأسرة والطفولة وكبار السن التونسية أنه تم الإبلاغ عن 14000 حالة عنف منذ بداية العام، كانت غالبيتها اعتداءات على النساء. وهذا مجرد غيض من فيض.

كما يُعتبر العنف القائم على أساس النوع الاجتماعي في الجزائر أمراً مقلقاً جداً. في عام 2020 تم تسجيل 41 حالة قتل للإناث في الدولة الواقعة في شمال أفريقيا. كما شهد العام السابق تعرّض 75 امرأة للعنف، وقد أخذت الأمور منعطفاً نحو الأسوأ في أكتوبر عندما تم العثور على جثة شابة تبلغ من العمر 19 عاماً بالقرب من الجزائر العاصمة. وقد دفع هذا الحدث المأساوي مجموعة مؤلفة من 21 ممثلة جزائرية إلى إطلاق حملة توعية تكريماً لها، وهي أول مبادرة كبيرة في المنطقة لمناهضة جرائم قتل النساء المتزايدة.

وجاء في بيان الحملة  “نحن الممثلات الجزائريات متحدات ضد ظاهرة العنف ضد المرأة وجرائم قتل النساء”. ثم أضاف البيان “نحن ندعو للتوعية والتعبئة العامة لإنهاء هذا العنف!”

تتزامن الحملة مع أحدث مبادرة للأمم المتحدة بعنوان “ الستة عشر يوماً العالمية لمناهضة العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي“، والتي تم إطلاقها بعد تسجيل زيادة مقلقة في جرائم العنف ضد المرأة منذ بداية الوباء.

أظهرت البيانات الحديثة أن البلاغات عن العنف المنزلي قد ازدادت في جميع أنحاء العالم منذ بداية الوباء. في بعض البلدان تم تحويل الموارد المخصصة لمساعدة ضحايا العنف القائم على أساس النوع الاجتماعي للتصدي لفيروس كورونا.

جاء في تقرير الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة: “ترافقت الأزمة مع تصاعد البلاغات المقدّمة ضد حالات العنف المنزلي في الوقت الذي يتم فيه تحويل الخدمات بما في ذلك سلطة القانون والصحة والملاجئ للتصدي للوباء”.

واحتفاءً بمبادرتهم، عبّرت الأمم المتحدة عن تأييدها للناشطين والناجين من جرائم العنف. ومن بينهم الناشطة ثريا بهجت المقيمة في القاهرة والتي عملت على نطاق واسع لحماية المتظاهرات في مصر اللواتي غالباً ما يتعرضن لاعتداءات جنسية جماعية في ميدان التحرير.

تقول بهجت “في عام 2011 بعد الثورة المصرية التي جرت في ميدان التحرير تعرضت النساء والفتيات لاعتداءات جنسية وحشية من قبل العصابات”. وتتابع قائلة: “نتحدث عن خمسين رجلاً اعتدوا جنسياً على امرأة واحدة”.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by UN Women (@unwomen)

شهدت مصر مؤخراً حركة #MeToo الخاصة بها، بعد أن اكتسبت صفحة على الإنستاغرام بعنوان Assault Police زخماً كبيراً إثر الادعاءات ضد رجل اسمه أحمد بسام زكي والذي حوكم في النهاية بتهمة ارتكاب العديد من قضايا الاعتداء الجنسي.

أدت هذه القضية إلى تغيير في القانون المصري وتوفير مزيد من الحماية لهويات ضحايا الاعتداء الجنسي.

شارك هذا المقال

Women Are Standing Up Against Gender-Based Violence in The Region

It’s more troubling than ever

by

From Morocco to Egypt, violence against women is on the rise in the region, and across the globe. Just yesterday, Tunisia’s Minister of Women, Child and Elderly Affairs announced that 14,000 reports of violence have been made since the beginning of the year, with the majority constituting abuse against women. That’s just the tip of the iceberg. 

In Algeria, gender-based violence is equally troubling. In 2020, 41 femicides have been recorded in the North African country. The year prior saw 75 women succumb to violence. Things took a turn for the worst in October, when the body of a young 19-year-old woman was found near Algiers. The tragic event prompted a group of 21 Algerian actresses to launch an awareness campaign in her honour, the region’s first major initiative to fight against the recent rise of femicides.

“We, Algerian actresses, are united today to say stop to violence against women and feminicides” the campaign statement read. “We call for awareness and general mobilization to end this violence!” 

The campaign coincides with the UN’s latest initiative ’16 Days of Activism against Gender-Based Violence,’ which was launched upon an alarming increase of violence against women has been recorded since the beginning of the pandemic. 

Recent data has shown that calls to domestic violence hotlines have increased all over the world since the beginning of the pandemic. In some countries, resources to combat gender-based violence have been diverted due to COVID-19. 

Accompanying the crisis has been a spike in domestic violence reporting, at exactly the time that services, including rule of law, health and shelters, are being diverted to address the pandemic,” read the UN Secretary-General’s report. 

To mark their initiative, the UN gave voice to various activists and survivors. Among them is Cairo-based activist Soraya Bahgat, who has extensively worked to protect women protestors in Egypt, who are often subject to mob sexual assaults in Tahrir Square. 

“In 2011, after the Egyptian revolution in Tahrir Square, women and girls were being subjected to brutal mob sexual assaults,” she says. “We’re talking about sometimes fifty men sexually assaulting one woman,” she continues. 

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by UN Women (@unwomen)

Egypt recently witnessed its very own #MeToo movement. It came after an Instagram page, entitled Assault Police, gained traction after calling out a man by the name of Ahmed Bassam Zaki, who was ultimately prosecuted for numerous cases of sexual assault. 

The case led to change in Egyptian law, providing increased protections for the identities of sexual assault victims.

Share this article