جيل الشباب مستعد للتخلي عن الأزياء السريعة

وهذا خبر مؤكد.

by

تُعتبر صناعة الموضة خاصة تلك المخصصة للأزياء السريعة من أهم أسباب التلوث البيئي وثاني أكبر ملوث في العالم بعد (الصناعة النفطية)، ناهيكم عن ظروف العمل التي تستغل العمالة في هذه الصناعة.

وغني عن القول، بأنّ الجينز الذي تشترونه بقيمة 30 درهماً لا يستحق كل هذا الضرر الذي يتسبب به للبيئة. ومن الواضح أن جيل الشباب بات أكثر إدراكاً لهذا المفهوم. وعلى هذا الصعيد وجدت دراسة حديثة أجرتها Samsung DX أن 60% من الشباب مستعدون للتخلي عن الموضة السريعة بشكل نهائي.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أنّ نتائج هذه الدراسة مرتبطة بشكل وثيق بآثار الوباء، فقد أفاد التقرير بأنّ 40% من جيل الألفية قد اكتشف خلال عمليات الإغلاق التي جرت خلال العام الماضي بأنّهم يرتدون عدداً محدوداً فقط من ملابسهم، مما جعلهم يفكرون بطريقة جديّة في تغيير عادات شراء الملابس، وغني عن القول أنّه في كل عام يتم إرسال 85% من الملابس إلى مكبات النفايات.

وبالطبع تُعتبر هذه الأخبار رائعة بالنظر إلى أن الموضة هي المسؤولة عن نسبة 4% من النفايات العالمية و10% من كامل انبعاثات الكربون.

وفي هذا الصدد، استطلعت الدراسة رأي 1500 شخص تتراوح أعمارهم بين 16 و 35 عاماً، حيث اكتشفت أيضاً أن 25% ممن شملهم الاستطلاع حاولوا صنع ملابسهم بأنفسهم من أجل تحقيق الاستدامة. ومع ذلك، فإن إحدى أهم النتائج (والتي يمكن أن تكون مثيرة للقلق بشكل كبير) هي أن 30% ممن شملهم الاستطلاع قالوا بأنّهم يجهلون كيفية البدء باتباع الموضة الصديقة للبيئة.

إذا كنتم من بين أولئك الذين ما زالوا يتساءلون من أين نبدأ، فإنّ التسوق من هذه العلامات المحلية الأخلاقية يعد نقطة بداية جيدة.

شارك هذا المقال

Young People Don’t Want to Buy Fast Fashion Anymore

It’s confirmed.

by

There’s no questioning the damage fashion has caused our environment. The industry is the world’s second biggest polluter (that’s after oil), and a lot of it is specific to fast fashion. We’re not even talking about the prevalence of exploitative working conditions in the industry.  

Needless to say, the 30-dirham jeans you’re buying are just not worth it. And it seems, young people understand this. A recent study conducted by Samsung DX just found that 60 percent of young adults are ready to ditch fast fashion altogether. 

And yes, the findings are directly tied to the effects of the pandemic. The report found that due to the lockdowns over the past year, 40 percent of millennials found that they only actually wear a handful of their outfits, which ultimately inspired them to change their wardrobe habits. Afterall, 85 percent of clothes are sent to landfills every year anyway. 

The news is certainly great, considering that fashion is responsible for four percent of global waste and 10 percent of all carbon emissions. 

The study polled 1500 people between the ages of 16 and 35, and even found that 25 percent of those surveyed attempted to make their own clothes for the sake of sustainability. One of the biggest findings, however (perhaps, most troubling too) is that 30 percent of those surveyed said they wouldn’t know how to start their eco-friendly fashion journey. 

If you’re among those still wondering where to begin, shopping these ethical homegrown labels is a good place to start. 

Share this article